French toast sticks: the egg in the batter is the real question
For a child with egg allergy, the egg in the batter is what matters. In a study of children aged 6 months to 15 years tested with double-blind placebo-controlled challenges, 16 of 77 who tolerated baked egg still reacted to lightly cooked egg. French toast itself was not tested, and lightly cooked egg is the closest form, so a child who is fine with muffins may still react here. For everyone else this is a sweet breakfast bread. The US survey counts one stick as 45 g and about 125 calories, and a usual serving as 90 g and about 250 calories, worked out from a single record. Sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) depends on the version: 535 mg in standard sticks, which is about 241 mg in one 45 g stick, 471 mg in fast-food sticks and 245 mg in the school version.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| French toast sticks | 278 | 7.52 g | 9.18 g | 40.6 g | 1.3 g |
| French toast sticks, fast food / restaurant | 400 | 7.06 g | 20.9 g | 48.5 g | 1.6 g |
| French toast sticks, school | 162 | 9.15 g | 3.8 g | 22.6 g | 2.9 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): french toast sticks as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Sodium differs twofold by version: 535 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g) in standard French toast sticks, 471 mg in fast-food sticks and 245 mg in the school version. — — Evidence E sourceSodium per 3.5 oz (100 g): standard 535 mg (240.8 mg per 45 g stick), fast food 471 mg, school 245 mg (61.2 mg per 25 g stick)
What a real portion looks like
- US survey data put one French toast stick at 45 g and about 125 calories, with a usual serving of 3.2 oz (90 g) at about 250 calories. — — Evidence E source278 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g); 1 stick 45 g 125.1 calories; quantity not specified 90 g 250.2 calories
What cooking and storage change
- Among 77 children who tolerated baked egg in double-blind challenges, 16 still reacted to lightly cooked egg. — Children aged 6 months to 15 years assessed for egg allergy in the BAT2 study (n = 150 challenged to baked egg; 77 to lightly cooked egg) Evidence C source60 of 150 (40%) reacted to baked egg; 16 of 77 baked-egg-tolerant children (about 21%) reacted to lightly cooked egg
- In a small randomized trial in 27 high-risk infants, all who ate baked egg daily for 6 months then tolerated boiled egg, versus 47.4% of those who avoided egg. — Infants under 6 months with cow's milk allergy and/or atopic dermatitis, no prior egg (n = 27) Evidence B sourceBoiled egg tolerated by all in the daily baked-egg arm versus 47.4% on egg-free diet (P = 0.012), after 6 months
Safety, limits and interactions
- A survey of 153 US restaurants found 54% pooled raw shell eggs ahead of service, holding them a median of 6 hours for pancakes and French toast, a known Salmonella risk. — 153 restaurants in seven US states that prepare eggs at all hours (n = 153 restaurants) Evidence C source54% (83 of 153) pooled raw eggs; median holding time 6 h for pancakes and French toast
What is still unknown
- A meta-analysis of 29 studies of baked egg ladders and baked egg immunotherapy in allergic children found tolerance in 49% to 69% but rated the evidence very low certainty. — Children with IgE-mediated egg or milk allergy on dietary advancement therapy (n = 29 studies) Evidence C sourceTolerance 69% egg ladder, 49% baked egg OIT; reactions 20-21%; very low certainty, cannot conclude tolerance is accelerated
- A systematic review found only three egg studies on whether eating baked egg speeds allergy resolution, all weak and uncontrolled, so the question stays open. — Children aged 0-18 with hen's egg or cow's milk allergy (n = 3 egg studies) Evidence C sourceLittle evidence either way; severe reactions to baked products reported
The bottom line
Whether eating baked egg helps a child outgrow egg allergy is still open. In a small randomized trial in 27 high-risk infants under 6 months, those who ate baked egg daily for 6 months tolerated boiled egg afterward, against 47.4% of those kept on an egg-free diet (P = 0.012). The trial was not blinded and was about introducing egg, not this dish. Larger syntheses are weaker. A meta-analysis of 29 studies found tolerance in 69% of children on step-by-step egg ladders and 49% on baked egg immunotherapy. Most of those studies had no control group, and the authors rated the evidence very low certainty. A 2017 systematic review found only three egg studies on the question, too few and too weak to answer it either way. Who should be careful. Children with egg allergy come first, for the reason above, and any plan to add egg foods belongs with their allergy clinic. Restaurant French toast raises a kitchen question. A 2004 survey of 153 US restaurants found 54% pooled raw shell eggs ahead of service, and held them a median of 6 hours for pancakes and French toast. That survey recorded practices, not cases of illness, and it does not cover frozen factory-made sticks. We have no card on pregnancy or medicines for this food.
More from the same food group (pancakes, waffles, french toast)
Sources
- ftst-daily-r2-07 · reference dataset
FNDDS French toast sticks (fdc 2708338): Sodium 535 mg per 100 g, 1 stick 45 g 240.8 mg; French toast sticks, fast food / restaurant (fdc 2708339): Sodium 471 mg per 100 g; French toast sticks, school (fdc 2708340): Sodium 245 mg per 100 g, 1 stick 25 g 61.2 mg
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, fdc 2708338, 2708339, 2708340 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-06 · reference dataset
FNDDS French toast sticks (fdc 2708338): Energy 278 kcal per 100 g; 1 stick 45 g 125.1 kcal; Quantity not specified 90 g 250.2 kcal
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, French toast sticks, fdc 2708338 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-01 · double-blind placebo-controlled food challenge study
A total of 150 children underwent DBPCFC to BE, 60 (40%) reacted to and 85 (57%) tolerated BE and 5 (3%) had inconclusive oral food challenges (OFC). Seventy-seven children tolerant to BE had DBPCFC to LCE and 16 reacted.
Allergy, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-02 · randomized controlled trial
Those who ate baked egg daily for 6 months tolerated boiled eggs and only 47.4% of patients who followed an egg-free diet tolerated boiled eggs (P-value 0.012).
Allergol Immunopathol (Madr), 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-03 · cross-sectional survey
Fifty-four percent (83 of 153) of restaurants pooled raw shell eggs not intended for immediate service. These pooled eggs were held a median of 4 h for scrambled eggs, 5.5 h for omelets, and 6 h for pancakes and French toast.
J Food Prot, 2004 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-04 · systematic review and meta-analysis
Tolerance occurred in 69% of EL, 58% of ML, 49% of BE-OIT, and 29% of BM-OIT patients.
J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ftst-daily-r2-05 · systematic review
There is little evidence to address the hypothesis that the ingestion of baked hen's egg or cow's milk results in more patients outgrowing their hen's egg or cow's milk allergy respectively.
Clin Exp Allergy, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.