BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Oatmeal glycemic index and glycemic load

Oatmeal has a medium glycemic index of 57 (the median of 7 lab tests, range 50 to 76) in the 2021 International Tables, where pure glucose is 100. A serving of 1 cup (8.3 oz, 234 g) has 24.1 g of carbs minus fiber, which gives a glycemic load of about 14.

Glycemic load by portion

PortionCarbsFiberCarbs minus fiberGlycemic load
1 cup (8.3 oz, 234 g)28.1 g4 g24.1 g14
0.75 cup (6.2 oz, 175 g)21 g3 g18 g10

Glycemic load = GI 57 × carbs minus fiber ÷ 100. Carbs from USDA FoodData Central, Cereals, oats, regular and quick, unenriched, cooked with water (includes boiling and microwaving), without salt. USDA's entry is oats cooked with water, the way oatmeal is made at home.

Every standardized test

Food as testedGICategoryCountry
Porridge oats (Freedom Foods, Australia)50lowAustralia
Porridge oats, traditional (Lowan Whole Foods, Australia)51lowAustralia
Porridge oats55lowChina
Porridge, Traditional Rolled Oats (Woolworths Select brand, Australia)57mediumAustralia
Porridge (Hubbards, New Zealand)58mediumNew Zealand
Porridge, Scottish, made with water63mediumUK
Oat porridge made from 0.5-0.6 mm thick rolled oat flakes, cooked for 10 min (Elovena, Raisio...76highFinland

The tables' own average for this food: 58 (mean of eight foods).

Glucose = 100. Low 55 or less, medium 56 to 69, high 70 or more (category cut-offs from the International Tables). Only tests that followed the ISO 26642:2010 method: at least 10 healthy adults, a portion with 25 or 50 g of available carbs (Supplemental Table 1).

What changes the number

The same food tested in different forms, from the tests above and the other standardized tests of oatmeal in the tables.

Form in the testTestsMedian GIRange
Microwaved163—
Boiled176—
Form not stated55550 to 58

Variety, ripeness, cooking time and the lab all move the result, which is why one food can span a wide range.

Compared with similar foods

FoodGIPortionCarbs minus fiberGlycemic load
Steel cut oats521 cup (8.3 oz, 234 g)24.1 g13
Oatmeal571 cup (8.3 oz, 234 g)24.1 g14
Instant oatmeal821 cup, cooked (8.3 oz, 234 g)23.3 g19

Same group in the International Tables (Breakfast cereals), each at its usual US portion. A low GI with a big portion can give a higher glycemic load than a high GI with a small one.

Older and smaller studies

12 more tests of oatmeal are listed in the tables' second list (49 to 81, median 63). They deviate from the ISO method: fewer than 10 people, people with diabetes, a different reference food or sampling time, or wide variation. They are not part of the number at the top.

Show the 12 tests
Food as testedGICountryWho was tested
Porridge, made from rolled oats cooked for 20 min49Canadahealthy, 6 people
Oat porridge made from roasted thick (1.0 mm) dehulled oat flakes51Swedenhealthy, 10 people
Oat porridge made from steamed thick (1.0 mm) dehulled oat flakes54Swedenhealthy, 10 people
Oat porridge made from raw thick (1.0 mm) dehulled oat flakes55Swedenhealthy, 10 people
Porridge, oat62Germanydiabetes
Porridge (Value, UK)63UKhealthy, 8 people
Porridge, organic63UKhealthy, 8 people
Porridge, oatmeal64Germanytype 2 diabetes
Oat porridge made from roasted thin (0.5 mm) dehulled oat flakes70Swedenhealthy, 10 people
Porridge, oat70Canadatype 2 diabetes, 6 people
Porridge, oat76USAtype 2 diabetes, 8 people
Oat porridge made from roasted and steamed thin (0.5 mm) dehulled oat flakes81Swedenhealthy, 10 people

Supplemental Table 2 of the International Tables. NS means the study did not specify.

How much the glycemic index tells you

Researchers and health bodies do not agree on how much weight to give the glycemic index of single foods.

What studies found about oatmeal and blood sugar

Some studies above score foods against white bread, not glucose, as 100, so their numbers are not on the same scale as the ones at the top of this page. Levels: A is a meta-analysis of trials, B a randomized trial, C an observational study, D lab or animal work, E an expert position. How we grade evidence.

Keep exploring

Sources

  • Atkinson FS, Brand-Miller JC, Foster-Powell K, Buyken AE, Goletzke J. International tables of glycemic index and glycemic load values 2021: a systematic review. Am J Clin Nutr 2021;114(5):1625-1632, Supplemental Table 1 and Supplemental Table 2, PMID 34258626, doi:10.1093/ajcn/nqab233 (accessed 2026-10-12)
  • USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (2018): Cereals, oats, regular and quick, unenriched, cooked with water (includes boiling and microwaving), without salt, FDC ID 173905
  • USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (2018): Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, plain, prepared with water (boiling water added or microwaved), FDC ID 171662
  • Evidence cards: each study above links to its source. Card review dates are listed in our methodology.

Sources checked 2026-10-12. Bioma Learn provides information, not medical advice.