Smoked salmon: modest trials, a real Listeria question
The best trial on smoked salmon is small. In 38 young Polish women with overweight, 7.1 oz (200 g) of smoked farmed salmon a week for 8 weeks moved LDL cholesterol down by 8.2 mg/dL while it rose by 9.5 mg/dL in the control group (p=0.011). The LDL levels the two groups ended with did not differ significantly, and neither did total cholesterol, HDL or triglycerides. A second trial in 120 young women tested 25 g a day through autumn, about 5 mcg of vitamin D. After 8 weeks the fall in blood vitamin D was not significantly smaller than in controls, while a homogenized salmon sausage with the same vitamin D did slow it. Smoked salmon is eaten without cooking, and retail surveys keep finding Listeria in it. The rate was 10.6 percent of samples across 12 years in Italy, the highest of any food tested there, 7.9 percent in Catalonia, and 21.6 percent of 171 pre-packed samples in Singapore, where one brand was persistently contaminated. These surveys counted bacteria in packs and did not measure illness. The FDA advises pregnant women not to eat refrigerated smoked seafood such as lox or nova-style salmon unless it is cooked into a dish.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salmon, chinook, smoked | 117 | 18.3 g | 4.32 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Fish, salmon, chinook, smoked, (lox), regular | 117 | 18.3 g | 4.32 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Fish, salmon, king, chinook, smoked, brined (Alaska Native) | 430 | 39.9 g | 30 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Fish, salmon, red, (sockeye), canned, smoked (Alaska Native) | 206 | 35.2 g | 7.26 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Salmon, red (sockeye), filets with skin, smoked (Alaska Native) | 345 | 60.6 g | 11.4 g | 0 g | 0 g |
These are the USDA entries that are smoked salmon, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fish, salmon, smoked | 117 | 18.3 g | 4.32 g | 0 g | 0 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): smoked salmon as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- UK composition data give cold-smoked salmon 1184 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) versus 848 mg for hot-smoked, with similar omega-3 (2.18 vs 2.28 g) and vitamin D (8.9 vs 11.0 ug). — per 3.5 oz (100 g) edible portion, UK samples Evidence E sourceSodium 1184 vs 848 mg; n-3 PUFA 2.18 vs 2.28 g; vitamin D 8.9 vs 11.0 ug; energy 184 vs 186 calories
What a real portion looks like
- USDA survey coding uses 85 g as the default smoked salmon portion when the amount is not specified, and 135 g for one cup. — FNDDS food code 26137190, Fish, salmon, smoked Evidence E sourceQuantity not specified = 85 g; 1 cup = 135 g
What your body absorbs
- In an 8-week RCT, 25 g/day of smoked salmon (about 5 ug vitamin D) did not change the autumn fall in serum 25(OH)D versus control in young women, while homogenized salmon sausage slowed it (-4.3 vs -15.0 nmol/L). — 120 non-obese women aged 20-25 years, Poland, autumn (n = 120) Evidence B source25(OH)D change: salmon sausage -4.3 vs control -15.0 nmol/L (p<0.05); smoked salmon vs control not significant after 8 weeks
- In an 8-week trial that also had a 400 g/week smoked salmon arm, the abstract reports only that cooked salmon raised serum EPA and DHA more than cod liver oil despite a lower EPA plus DHA intake (1.2 vs 3.0 g/day). — 71 volunteers in five groups; 400 g smoked salmon per week (n = 14) (n = 71) Evidence C sourceCooked salmon: EPA +129%, DHA +45%; cod liver oil: +106% and +25%
What cooking and storage change
- A retail survey in Singapore found Listeria monocytogenes in 21.6% of pre-packed smoked salmon, with higher counts at salad bars than in supermarket packs. — 171 pre-packed smoked salmon samples from supermarkets, Singapore (n = 171) Evidence C source37 of 171 (21.6%) positive for L. monocytogenes
What it does to your health
- In an 8-week RCT in young women with overweight, 7.1 oz (200 g) of smoked farmed salmon per week lowered LDL by 8.2 mg/dL on average while it rose by 9.5 mg/dL in controls, with no difference in other lipids. — 38 pair-matched women aged 18-30 years with BMI of 25.0 or more, Poland (n = 38) Evidence B sourceLDL change -8.2 +/- 20.7 vs +9.5 +/- 20.0 mg/dL (p=0.011); TC, HDL, TAG not different
Safety, limits and interactions
- In ready-to-eat foods sampled in Catalonia, Listeria monocytogenes was found in 7.9% and Salmonella in 1.2% of smoked salmon samples. — ready-to-eat fish, meat, dairy products and dishes from retail and industry, Catalonia, Spain (n = 1226) Evidence C sourceL. monocytogenes 7.9%; Salmonella 1.2% of smoked salmon samples
- Over a 12-year Italian survey, smoked salmon had the highest Listeria monocytogenes prevalence of the foods tested at 10.6%, against 2.1% overall. — 5,788 food samples marketed in Italy, 1993-2004 (n = 5788) Evidence C sourceSmoked salmon 10.6%; all foods 2.1%
- Surveillance of 932 human listeriosis isolates in Sweden over 1958-2010 suggests an association with vacuum-packed gravad and cold-smoked salmon. — 932 isolates from patients with invasive listeriosis, Sweden, 1958-2010 (n = 932) Evidence C sourceAssociation suggested from serovar and PFGE typing; no risk estimate
- A case report describes food botulism in a 25-year-old after eating airtight-sealed smoked salmon 3 days past its use-by date. — one 25-year-old patient, Germany (n = 1) Evidence D sourceSymptoms began 12 h after eating; single case
What people believe that the data does not support
- The EU authorizes the claim that EPA and DHA contribute to normal heart function, which applies to omega-3 rich fish like salmon, though no claim names smoked salmon itself. — EU labeling rule Evidence E sourceAuthorized claim; no effect size
- The EU refused permission to claim that DHA improves memory function, a benefit often attached to oily fish. — EU labeling rule Evidence E sourceNon-authorized claim
Who this works differently for
- Smoked salmon from one Dutch processing site caused the largest salmonellosis outbreak recorded in the Netherlands in 2012, with 1,149 confirmed cases and four deaths among people aged 76-91. — laboratory-confirmed Salmonella Thompson cases, Netherlands, August-December 2012 (n = 1149) Evidence C source1,149 confirmed cases; 4 deaths in elderly; estimated 23,000 acute gastroenteritis cases
- Observational data link smoked salmon with listeriosis in adults aged 60 and over in England: cases reported eating it more often than a matched market research panel. — listeriosis cases aged 60 years or more in England, 2005-2008, vs market research panel Evidence C sourceCases more likely to report smoked salmon; odds ratio not given in abstract
- The FDA advises pregnant women not to eat refrigerated smoked seafood such as lox or nova-style salmon unless it is in a cooked dish. — pregnant women; FDA also lists older adults and people with weakened immunity as high risk Evidence E sourceAgency advice; no effect size
- In a coastal British Columbia diet survey, Aboriginal reserve residents ate more smoked salmon than other residents. — 242 adults aged 25-64: mill employees, reserve residents and other residents (n = 242) Evidence C sourceHigher smoked salmon intake on reserve; no quantity given
What is still unknown
- Trial authors suggest that vitamin D measured in smoked salmon may not all be bioavailable because the fish is not homogenized before eating, but no study has tested this. — hypothesis from the VISA 2 trial discussion; not tested in humans Evidence D sourceUntested hypothesis; no effect size
The bottom line
Cold-smoked and hot-smoked salmon differ mostly in salt. UK composition data give cold-smoked 1184 mg of sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) and hot-smoked 848 mg, with similar omega-3 (2.18 against 2.28 g) and vitamin D (8.9 against 11.0 mcg). US survey coding uses 85 g as a default portion. The EU lets foods rich in EPA and DHA say they contribute to normal heart function, a claim that names the fatty acids and never smoked salmon itself. It refused the claim that DHA improves memory. Trial authors suspect that some vitamin D in smoked salmon is not absorbed because the fish is eaten in whole slices, and they say themselves that nobody has tested it. Beyond pregnancy, the FDA lists older adults and people with weakened immunity as high risk for Listeria. In England, people aged 60 and over with listeriosis reported eating smoked salmon more often than a comparison panel, and the abstract gives no odds ratio. Swedish typing of 932 patient isolates suggests a link with vacuum-packed gravad and cold-smoked salmon, without a risk estimate. In 2012 smoked salmon from a single Dutch processing site caused 1,149 confirmed Salmonella cases, and four people aged 76 to 91 died. That outbreak traces to one plant and says little about smoked salmon in general. One German case of botulism followed an airtight pack eaten 3 days past its use-by date.
More from the same food group (finfish and shellfish products)
- Snail: lean meat with a parasite problem
- Squid: more cholesterol than other shellfish, and blood lipids that did not move
- Sunfish: a lean panfish that nobody has studied on its own
- Shrimp: one trial from 1996 still answers the only question people ask
- Shark: little research on the meat, a lot on its mercury
- Seatrout: a lean fish with a mercury limit
Guides that discuss this food
Sources
- smsa-daily-r5-13 · food composition table
Salmon, smoked (cold-smoked) (CoFID 2021, code 16-412): Energy 184 kcal; Sodium 1184 mg; n-3 poly 2.18 g; Vitamin D 8.9 ug per 100 g. Salmon, smoked (hot-smoked) (CoFID 2021, code 16-413): Energy 186 kcal; Sodium 848 mg; n-3 poly 2.28 g; Vitamin D 11.0 ug per 100 g
CoFID 2021 (Public Health England), codes 16-412 and 16-413, OGL v3.0 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-14 · portion dataset
Fish, salmon, smoked (FNDDS code 26137190, fdc_id 2706292): 1 cup = 135 g; Quantity not specified = 85 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 26137190 (FDC 2706292) · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-01 · randomized controlled trial
Participants were randomly assigned to one of three groups: smoked salmon (25 g/day), salmon sausage (100 g/day), or a control group. Both intervention products provided approximately 5 µg of vitamin D daily. ... While all groups experienced a decrease in 25(OH)D serum concentrations, the decrease was significantly smaller in the salmon sausage group compared to the control group (-4.3 vs. -15.0 nmol/L, p < 0.05), and no significant difference was observed between the smoked salmon and control group after 8 weeks (p > 0.05).
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-04 · controlled clinical trial
Three groups were given 400 g smoked salmon (n = 14), cooked salmon (n = 15), or cooked cod (n = 13) per week for 8 wk. ... The serum content of EPA and DHA before and after intervention revealed a higher rise in EPA and DHA in the cooked salmon group (129% rise in EPA and 45% rise in DHA) as compared with CLO (106 and 25%, respectively) despite an intake of EPA and DHA in the CLO group of 3.0 g/d compared with 1.2 g/d in the cooked salmon group.
Lipids, 2006 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-05 · prevalence survey
Further investigation showed that 21.6% (37/171) of the pre-packed smoked salmon sold in supermarkets contained L. monocytogenes. Significantly higher prevalence of L. monocytogenes and higher Standard Plate Count were detected in smoked salmon at salad bars compared to pre-packed smoked salmon in supermarkets, which suggested multiplication of the organism as the products move down the supply chain.
BMC Microbiol, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-03 · randomized controlled trial
Participants were randomly assigned to the intervention (200 g of smoked salmon weekly) or the control group. ... No statistically significant differences were observed in the TC, HDL, non-HDL, LDL, or TAG concentrations or in the various atherogenic indices between the intervention and the control group after the 8-week-long intervention. However, differences in the change of the LDL concentration were noted, with a decrease of 8.2 ± 20.7 mg/dL in the intervention group compared to an increase of 9.5 ± 20.0 mg/dL in the control group (p = 0.011)
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-06 · prevalence survey
L. monocytogenes was isolated from 20% of frozen Atlantic bonito small pies, 7.9% of smoked salmon samples, 11.1% of the pork luncheon meat samples ... Salmonella was isolated from 1.2% of smoked salmon samples
J Food Prot, 2008 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-07 · prevalence survey
Of 5,788 analyzed samples, 121 (2.1%) were contaminated with L. monocytogenes. The highest prevalence was found in smoked salmon (10.6%) and in poultry meat samples (8.5%) and the lowest in red meat (0.3%).
J Food Prot, 2007 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-10 · surveillance study
Therefore, based on current serovars and PFGE types, an association between human cases of listeriosis and the consumption of vacuum-packed gravad and cold-smoked salmon is suggested.
Epidemiol Infect, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-11 · case report
We can reporting a 25-year-old patient with food botulism presenting with an anticholinergic syndrome with mydriasis, accommodation difficulties, dryness of mouth, reduced sweating, constipation and reduced heart rate variance and only discrete involvement of striate muscles with ptosis, diplopia and generalised fatigue, all of which developed 12 h after the consumption of airtight sealed smoked salmon. The salmon was consumed 3 days after the 'use by' date had expired.
Nervenarzt, 2005 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-15 · regulatory decision
POL-HC-6368 Eicosapentaenoic acid and docosahexaenoic acid (EPA/DHA) EPA and DHA contribute to the normal function of the heart Authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6368, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-16 · regulatory decision
POL-HC-8495 DHA DHA contributes to improved memory function -/- Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-8495, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-08 · outbreak case-control study
In total 1,149 cases were laboratory-confirmed between August and December 2012 of which four elderly (76–91 years) were reported to have died due to the infection. The cause of the outbreak was smoked salmon processed at a single site.
Euro Surveill, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-09 · case-control study
Cases were more likely than panel members to report the consumption of cooked meats (beef and ham/pork, but not poultry), cooked fish (specifically smoked salmon) and shellfish (prawns), dairy products (most noticeably milk but also certain cheeses), and mixed salads.
Foodborne Pathog Dis, 2010 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-12 · agency guidance
Do not eat refrigerated smoked seafood - unless it's in a cooked dish, such as a casserole.
US FDA, Food Safety for Moms-to-Be At-a-Glance, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-17 · diet survey
RESULTS: Reserve residents ate less seafood, but more fish roe, eulachon grease, smoked salmon, clams and sea urchins
Can J Public Health, 1998 · checked 2026-09-29 - smsa-daily-r5-02 · hypothesis (trial discussion)
the much better results from consuming salmon sausage compared to smoked salmon could be explained by the fact that the assessed vitamin D content in smoked salmon may not reflect the amount of vitamin D that is bioavailable for humans, as the product is not homogenized before eating. ... However, no studies concerning the effect of product homogenization on vitamin D bioavailability have been conducted so far; therefore, it is only a hypothesis.
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.