Raisin cookies: a cookie first, a raisin a distant second
An oatmeal raisin cookie looks like the virtuous choice on the plate, and the research mostly treats it as a cookie. The raisins have a thin record of their own. A meta-analysis of 118 randomized trials found a trivial endurance benefit from polyphenol-rich foods (SMD 0.17) and no significant effect for raisins, tested as raisins and never inside a cookie. The health halo was tested directly. In a randomized trial with 352 adults, identical oatmeal raisin cookies were rated healthier when labeled healthy, yet people ate the same amount whatever the label said, in a single laboratory tasting session. By composition this is a sweet baked good. USDA gives soft oatmeal raisin cookies 69.6 g of carbohydrate and 4.78 g of saturated fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), from one commercial recipe with no second independent source, and a medium cookie weighs 1.1 oz (30 g) in US survey portions.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cookies, raisin, soft-type | 401 | 4.1 g | 13.6 g | 68 g | 1.2 g |
These are the USDA entries that are raisin cookies, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cookie, raisin | 401 | 4.1 g | 13.6 g | 68 g | 1.2 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): raisin cookies as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- USDA data give soft oatmeal raisin cookies 69.6 g carbohydrate and 4.78 g saturated fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), with thiamin ranging 0.19 to 0.41 mg across six samples. — USDA FoodData Central record 333008, Cookies, oatmeal, soft, with raisins (n = 6 samples) Evidence E sourceCarbohydrate 69.6 g, saturated fat 4.78 g, thiamin 0.295 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- USDA survey portions put one medium oatmeal raisin cookie at 30 g and a large one at 45 g. — US dietary survey portion weights, FNDDS food code 53233010 Evidence E sourceSmall 20 g, medium 30 g, large 45 g, quantity not specified 60 g
What your body absorbs
- In crossover studies in women, calcium absorption from wheat cookies averaged 0.652 whether underbaked or overbaked, significantly less than 0.703 from leavened bread. — healthy adult women, wheat intrinsically labeled with 45Ca Evidence C sourceFractional calcium absorption 0.652 from cookies versus 0.703 from bread (P less than 0.01), browning had no effect
What cooking and storage change
- A meta-analysis of 28 studies on wheat foods found acrylamide the most concentrated processing contaminant (136.29 mcg/kg), with cookies among the most studied foods. — 28 food analysis studies of bread, cookies, pasta and wheat grains (n = 28 studies) Evidence C sourceAcrylamide 136.29 mcg/kg, HMF 70.59 mcg/kg, PAHs 0.11 mcg/kg pooled
- The FDA lists cookies among the grain foods that are larger sources of acrylamide in the diet. — US consumers, FDA consumer page on acrylamide Evidence E sourceCookies named with breakfast cereal and toast as larger grain sources of acrylamide
What it does to your health
- Observational data from 17 cohorts found no link between refined grain intake, including indulgent foods such as cookies, and cardiovascular disease (HR 1.08, 95% CI 0.99 to 1.18). — 17 prospective cohort studies with more than 875,000 participants (n = >875000) Evidence C sourceHR 1.08 (95% CI 0.99-1.18) for CVD, 9 cohorts, I2 70%
- Observational data link each extra 100 g a day of raisins or grapes with a 20% lower risk of hypertension (RR 0.80, 95% CI 0.69 to 0.94), with high heterogeneity. — prospective cohorts of generally healthy adults, 4 study analyses for the raisins or grapes subtype Evidence C sourceRR 0.80 (95% CI 0.69-0.94) per 100 g/day, I2 83.9%
What people believe that the data does not support
- In a randomized trial with 352 adults, the same oatmeal-raisin cookies were rated healthier when labeled healthy, yet the label did not change how many cookies people ate. — 164 men and 188 women tasting and rating oatmeal-raisin cookies during ad libitum snacks (n = 352) Evidence B sourcePerceived healthiness changed with the claim, measured ad libitum intake did not differ by condition
- A meta-analysis of 118 studies found trivial endurance gains from polyphenol-rich foods overall (SMD 0.17), with no significant effect for raisins. — 118 randomized controlled trials of foods containing nitrate, polyphenols, L-arginine or L-citrulline (n = 118 studies) Evidence A sourcePolyphenol-rich foods SMD 0.17 (p<0.001), raisins no significant effect
Who this works differently for
- When oatmeal-raisin cookies carried canola oil, mean total cholesterol fell from 222 to 213 mg/dl over 6 weeks, while coconut oil cookies raised it to 233 mg/dl. — adults with total cholesterol between 200 and 280 mg/dl, crossover periods of 6 weeks each, second study in patients taking lovastatin Evidence B source222 to 213 mg/dl with canola oil and 222 to 233 mg/dl with coconut oil (p = 0.0038), in lovastatin users both fats lowered cholesterol (p = 0.2342)
- In a randomized trial of 80 adults over 70, those eating 1.8 oz (50 g) of raisins a day for 6 months scored 3.27 points higher on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment than a group given no supplement. — 80 healthy adults over 70 years of age, 6 months (n = 80) Evidence B sourceMOCA +3.27 points (95% CI 1.59 to 4.96) favoring the raisin group
The bottom line
What happens to your heart and blood pressure comes from whole food categories. Observational data from 17 cohorts with more than 875,000 people found no clear link between refined grain foods, cookies included, and cardiovascular disease (HR 1.08, 95% CI 0.99 to 1.18), and the authors flag likely residual confounding. Observational data also link each extra 100 g a day of raisins or grapes with a 20 percent lower risk of hypertension (RR 0.80, 95% CI 0.69 to 0.94). That rests on four analyses with very high heterogeneity, and 3.5 oz (100 g) of raisins is far more than a few cookies hold. In a randomized trial in 80 healthy adults over 70, 1.8 oz (50 g) of raisins a day for six months left Montreal Cognitive Assessment scores 3.27 points higher (95% CI 1.59 to 4.96) than in a group given no supplement. It is one open study with no placebo. The fat in the recipe can matter more than the fruit. In adults with total cholesterol of 200 to 280 mg/dl, oatmeal raisin cookies served only as the vehicle for a fat supplement. Over six-week crossover periods the canola oil version took mean total cholesterol from 222 to 213 mg/dl, and the coconut oil version raised it to 233 (p = 0.0038). In a crossover study in healthy women, the fraction of calcium absorbed from wheat cookies averaged 0.652 against 0.703 from leavened bread (P less than 0.01), and browning made no difference. Those cookies had no raisins, and the truncated abstract does not say how many women took part. The safety cards concern baking. A meta-analysis of 28 food analysis studies put acrylamide at 136.29 mcg/kg pooled across bread, cookies, pasta and wheat grains, the highest of the processing contaminants measured, with no separate figure for raisin cookies. The FDA names cookies, alongside breakfast cereal and toast, among the grain foods that are larger sources of acrylamide in the diet, without giving amounts. In people taking lovastatin, the second fat study found that both the canola and the coconut oil cookies lowered cholesterol, a result its authors called unexpected and in need of confirmation. We found no card on allergy, children or pregnancy for raisin cookies.
Related foods
More from the same food group (baked products)
- Reduced-calorie bread: a fifth fewer calories and four times the fiber
- Bread rolls: what the studies actually tested
- Rye bread: what it actually moves
- Raisin bread: the raisins were tested, the loaf never was
- Pumpkin pie: a sugary dessert that also carries vitamin A
- Pumpernickel bread: a dense rye loaf with a mixed blood sugar record
Sources
- rck-r3-11 · USDA FoodData Central, dataset
Cookies, oatmeal, soft, with raisins (FDC 333008, foundation, Baked Products): carbohydrate 69.6 g per 100 g = 25% DV; thiamin 0.295 mg = 25% DV, Foundation samples 0.19-0.41 n=6; saturated fat 4.78 g = 24% DV; CoFID match none
USDA FoodData Central, FDC 333008, Foundation · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-10 · FNDDS, dataset
Cookie, oatmeal, with raisins (FNDDS 53233010, fdc_id 2707946, Cookies and brownies): 1 small 20 g; 1 medium 30 g; 1 large 45 g; Quantity not specified 60 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 53233010 (FDC 2707946) · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-07 · clinical trial
In a third study, the effect of phytate hydrolysis through yeast fermentation and of Maillard browning on calcium absorption was investigated using leavened bread and underbaked and overbaked cookies, each made with intrinsically labeled wheat flour. Calcium absorption from cookies was not affected by the extent of browning and averaged 0.652 +/- 0.087. However, calcium absorption from bread in these same women averaged 0.703 +/- 0.108. This was significantly more than from the cookies (P less than 0.01).
J Nutr, 1991 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-08 · meta-analysis of food analyses
Most studies (69.7%) evaluated acrylamide in bread, cookies, and pasta, while PAHs (26.2%) were determined mainly in wheat grains and pasta. ... The highest concentration was for acrylamide (136.29 µg·kg-1) followed by HMF (70.59 µg·kg-1) and PAHs (0.11 µg·kg-1).
Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-09 · agency guidance
Some foods are larger sources of acrylamide in the diet, including certain potato products (especially French fries and potato chips), coffee, and foods made of grains (such as breakfast cereal, cookies, and toast).
US FDA, Acrylamide and Diet, Food Storage, and Food Preparation, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-03 · meta-analysis of cohorts
refined grain intake was not associated with risk of CVD (HR = 1.08, 95% CI, 0.99-1.18, I2 = 70%; 9 cohorts) ... as well as for meta-analyses of studies that included both staple and indulgent grain foods (e.g., cakes, cookies, doughnuts, brownies, muffins, pastries).
Trends Cardiovasc Med, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-04 · meta-analysis of cohorts
inverse associations were observed in the dose–response meta-analyses for “apples or pears”, blueberries, and “raisins or grapes”, and positive associations were observed for cantaloupe. ... 0.80 (95% CI 0.69–0.94, I2 = 83.9%, Pheterogeneity<0.0001) for “raisins or grapes”
Eur J Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-01 · RCT
Despite the fact that the cookies were the same in all conditions, they were perceived as being healthier in the "healthy" condition than in the "diet" and "hedonic" conditions. ... Although measured ad libitum cookie intake did not differ as a function of experimental condition
Appetite, 2012 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-05 · meta-analysis of RCTs
Trivial but significant benefits were demonstrated for consumption of nitrate and polyphenol-rich foods (SMD=0.15 and 0.17, respectively, p<0.001) ... while no significant effects were evident for New Zealand blackcurrant, cocoa, ginseng, green tea or raisins.
J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-02 · RCT
Fat supplements with either coconut or canola oil were delivered to patients in oatmeal-raisin cookies. ... In the validation study, patients' mean prerandomization total cholesterol level of 222 mg/dl was reduced to 213 mg/dl with canola oil and increased to 233 mg/dl with coconut oil cookies (p = 0.0038).
Pharmacotherapy, 1995 · checked 2026-09-28 - rck-r3-06 · RCT
This is a parallel randomized controlled clinical trial, in which 80 subjects over 70 years of age participated. For 6 months, the intervention group (IG; n = 40) consumed 50 g of raisins per day added to their usual diet, whereas the control group (CG; n = 40) received no supplement. ... Cognitive performance assessed with the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MOCA) test shows a difference of 3.27 points (95% CI 1.59 to 4.96), p ≤ 0.001, favorable to the IG, after the intervention.
Nutrients, 2023 · checked 2026-09-28
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-28 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.