BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Potato and rice: which starch fills you up

Rice is several foods as far as blood sugar goes. A systematic review of glycemic tests found the glycemic index of rice varieties ranged from 48 to 93, without pooling the studies. In two single-meal comparisons potato came out ahead on fullness. In 14 adults, 12 oz (337 g) of potato felt more filling than 5 oz (142 g) of rice carrying the same 45 g of carbohydrate, with hunger scores of 263 against 374 mm.min on a subjective scale. In a crossover trial in 26 healthy adults, meals served with baked fries or instant mashed potato led people to eat 13 to 16 percent less total energy than meals with rice. Both were single test meals, and we could not confirm whether the potato industry funded the larger one. In healthy adults, replacing a third of the rice carbohydrate with firm cooked potato lowered the blood sugar peak after a meal. Soft cooked potato made blood sugar swing more, and that abstract gives neither the number of people nor the size of the effect.

Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →

We have no USDA entry for potato | rice itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.

How much is actually in it

What a real portion looks like

What cooking and storage change

What it does to your health

Safety, limits and interactions

What people believe that the data does not support

Who this works differently for

The bottom line

Per 100 g boiled, the UK food tables give potato 74 calories, 17.5 g carbohydrate, 365 mg potassium and 9 mg vitamin C. White basmati rice has 117 calories, 26.5 g carbohydrate, 15 mg potassium and no vitamin C. A medium boiled potato weighs 6 oz (170 g) in US survey tables, and a cup of cooked white rice weighs 5.6 oz (158 g). Raw peeled potatoes differ by variety, averaging 10.9 mg vitamin C per 3.5 oz (100 g) in russets against 21.3 mg in red and 23.3 mg in gold. By USDA group retention factors from 1975, boiling potatoes in their skin keeps 75 percent of the vitamin C and 90 percent of the potassium. For the long term there are only observational data. Across US cohorts and a meta-analysis of 13 cohorts, baked, boiled or mashed potatoes were not linked to type 2 diabetes (HR 1.01, 95% CI 0.98 to 1.05). Swapping them for white rice in the statistical model was linked to higher risk, with no size in the abstract. Across seven cohorts of 110,063 adults, five or more servings of potato a week were not linked to cardiovascular disease (HR 0.96, 0.89 to 1.04) or high blood pressure (HR 1.04, 0.99 to 1.08) compared with none. The highest white rice intake was linked to a 55 percent higher risk of type 2 diabetes in Asian populations (RR 1.55, 1.20 to 2.01). In Western populations the link was not significant (RR 1.12, 0.94 to 1.33). Who should be careful. In pregnancy, pooled observational studies covering 29,288 pregnancies link each daily 2.8 oz (80 g) serving of unfried potato to a 26 percent higher risk of gestational diabetes (RR 1.26, 1.07 to 1.48), mostly in Western populations. Potatoes contain glycoalkaloids, and EFSA puts the lowest dose with acute effects at 1 mg per kg of body weight a day, with green and sprouted potatoes carrying more. One case report describes an 11-year-old boy treated in pediatric intensive care for suspected poisoning after eating raw potato, diagnosed from his history alone. For babies, the US FDA has set an action level of 100 parts per billion of inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereals. Laboratory data on cooked rice rank rinsing as the most effective way to reduce arsenic, ahead of parboiling. We have no cards on allergy or medicines for either food. The EU refused a satiety and weight control claim for potato protein isolate, an extract and not potato as you eat it.

Each food on its own

Sources

  1. ptrc-daily-r8-01 · reference dataset
    CoFID 13-490 Potatoes, old, boiled in unsalted water, flesh only: Energy 74 kcal · Carbohydrate 17.5 g · Protein 1.8 g · AOAC fibre 1.6 g · Potassium 365 mg · Vitamin C 9 mg · Water 78.9 g; CoFID 11-858 Rice, white, basmati, boiled in unsalted water: Energy 117 kcal · Carbohydrate 26.5 g · Protein 2.8 g · AOAC fibre 0.6 g · Potassium 15 mg · Vitamin C 0 mg · Water 69.5 g
    CoFID 2021 (Public Health England), codes 13-490 and 11-858 · checked 2026-10-02
  2. ptrc-daily-r8-02 · reference dataset
    FDC Foundation Potatoes, red, without skin, raw: Vitamin C 21.29 MG, range 14.2-29.6, 8 samples · Potassium 472.0 MG, range 427.0-516.0; Potatoes, gold, without skin, raw: Vitamin C 23.3 MG, range 16.6-30.3 · Potassium 445.8 MG, range 342.0-539.0; Potatoes, russet, without skin, raw: Vitamin C 10.9 MG, range 7.44-19.8 · Potassium 450.1 MG, range 407.0-530.0
    USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-10-02
  3. ptrc-daily-r8-03 · reference dataset
    FNDDS 2709385 Potato, boiled, NFS: 1 small 130 g · 1 medium 170 g · 1 large 300 g · 1 cup 160 g · Quantity not specified 170 g; FNDDS 2708408 Rice, white, cooked, no added fat: 1 cup, cooked 158 g · Quantity not specified 118 g
    USDA FNDDS (FoodData Central), fdc_id 2709385 and 2708408 · checked 2026-10-02
  4. ptrc-daily-r8-07 · clinical trial
    The quantities of staple providing 45 g carbohydrate were: Rice, 142 g; pasta, 138 g and potato 337 g. Participants (n = 14) consumed each of the mixed meals in random order on separate days. ... In an area-under-the-curve comparison, participants felt less hungry (mean (SD)) following potato 263 (230) than following rice 374 (237) or pasta 444 (254) mm∙min
    Nutrients, 2018 · checked 2026-10-02
  5. ptrc-daily-r8-04 · reference dataset
    USDA-RETN-R6:3307 POTATOES,BOILED IN SKIN: vitamin C 75% · thiamin 80% · potassium 90% · folate 90%; USDA-RETN-R6:432 RICE,WHITE/BROWN,COOKED,WATER USED: folate 70% · thiamin 80% · iron 95%
    USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6 (2007), codes 3307 and 432 · checked 2026-10-02
  6. ptrc-daily-r8-06 · RCT
    HP and SP replaced one-third of rice carbohydrates. ... HP + R significantly reduced postprandial glucose iAUC, peak glucose and glycemic excursion. SP + R increased glycemic variability despite reduced iAUCglucose.
    Nutrients, 2026 · checked 2026-10-02
  7. ptrc-daily-r8-12 · systematic review
    Based on a glucose reference value of 100, the observed glycaemic index values for rice varieties ranged from 48 to 93, while the insulinaemic index ranged from 39 to 95.
    Br J Nutr, 2015 · checked 2026-10-02
  8. ptrc-daily-r8-13 · meta-analysis of lab studies
    Furthermore, based on the subgroup analysis the overall rank order of cooking methods in the rice was rinsed > parboiling > Kateh > high-pressure, microwave, and steaming.
    Int J Environ Health Res, 2024 · checked 2026-10-02
  9. ptrc-daily-r8-05 · RCT
    In a randomized, single-blinded, crossover design, 26 (13 males and 13 females) healthy adults (age: 18-45 y; body mass index [kg/m2]: 18.5-29.9) consumed isocaloric fixed amounts of either meatballs or vegetarian-substitute balls with ad libitum access to either baked French fries (BFF), instant mashed potatoes (IMPs), or rice (control). ... Participants consumed 23-25% less treatment meal energy (kcal), 32-34% less CHO energy (kcal), and 13-16% less total energy (kcal) after the BFF and IMP than rice meals (P < 0.0001).
    J Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-10-02
  10. ptrc-daily-r8-08 · cohort meta-analysis
    Intake of combined baked, boiled, or mashed potatoes was not significantly associated with T2D risk (pooled hazard ratio 1.01, 95% CI 0.98 to 1.05). ... In contrast, replacing total potatoes or baked, boiled, or mashed potatoes with white rice was associated with an increased risk of T2D.
    BMJ, 2025 · checked 2026-10-02
  11. ptrc-daily-r8-10 · cohort meta-analysis
    In the primary analysis, total potato intake was not associated with the risk of either CVD or HTN: multivariable adjusted HR (95% CI) comparing 5+ servings/week to no potato intake: 0.96 (0.89-1.04) for CVD and 1.04 (0.99-1.08) for HTN.
    Nutrients, 2025 · checked 2026-10-02
  12. ptrc-daily-r8-14 · agency opinion
    For these effects, the CONTAM Panel identified a lowest-observed-adverse-effect level of 1 mg total potato GAs/kg body weight (bw) per day as a reference point for the risk characterisation following acute exposure.
    EFSA CONTAM Panel, Risk assessment of glycoalkaloids in feed and food, EFSA Journal 2020;18(8):6222 · checked 2026-10-02
  13. ptrc-daily-r8-17 · EU claim register
    POL-HC-7796 Potato protein isolate Increases the sense of satiety Elicit satiety Reduces appetite Supports weight control Non-authorised
    EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-7796, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-10-02
  14. ptrc-daily-r8-09 · meta-analysis of cohorts
    In the dose-response meta-analysis, a significantly increased GDM risk was revealed for each daily serving (80 g) intakes of total potato (RR: 1.22; 95% CI: 1.06, 1.42; P for trend = 0.007) and unfried potato (RR: 1.26; 95% CI: 1.07, 1.48; P for trend = 0.006).
    Clin Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-10-02
  15. ptrc-daily-r8-11 · meta-analysis of cohorts
    The pooled relative risk was 1.55 (95% confidence interval 1.20 to 2.01) comparing the highest with the lowest category of white rice intake in Asian populations, whereas the corresponding relative risk was 1.12 (0.94 to 1.33) in Western populations (P for interaction=0.038).
    BMJ, 2012 · checked 2026-10-02
  16. ptrc-daily-r8-15 · case report
    We came across a suspected case of poisoning by raw potato ingestion in an 11 years old Saudi boy who suffered cardiovascular complications, and was managed conservatively in pediatric ICU.
    J Family Med Prim Care, 2022 · checked 2026-10-02
  17. ptrc-daily-r8-16 · agency guidance
    The guidance identifies an action level of 100 micrograms per kilogram (µg/kg) or 100 parts per billion (ppb) which protects public health by reducing infants' dietary exposure to inorganic arsenic and is achievable by industry.
    US FDA, Final guidance on action level for inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereals, 2020 · checked 2026-10-02

Review. Reviewed on 2026-10-02 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.