Oatmeal or rice: 15 trials on the oats, one on the pair
Pooling 15 randomized trials in 673 adults, eating oats lowered fasting insulin by 6.29 pmol/l and cut the two hour glucose area under the curve by 30.23 min by mmol/l, while fasting glucose and HbA1c did not shift. That literature was searched to October 2013, and it tested oats against control diets rather than oats against rice. The pair itself has one study. Sixty-two untreated people with high cholesterol in China swapped 80 g a day of oatmeal or 80 g a day of refined white rice into their staple for 45 days, 56 finished, and the paper reports a gene by diet interaction on LDL instead of the average difference between the two groups. No reference dataset holds the pairing at all. What follows is each grain measured on its own, which makes the comparison ours to assemble rather than theirs to hand over.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for oatmeal | rice itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Cooking water rewrites the mineral profile of rice in both directions: barium rose by 241 ng per g and strontium by 679, while caesium, selenium, molybdenum and nickel fell. — 106 matched triplets of raw rice, cooked rice and urine from a longitudinal arsenic study in Araihazar, Bangladesh (n = 106) Evidence C sourceBarium plus 241 ng/g and strontium plus 679 ng/g after cooking; caesium minus 12, selenium minus 19, molybdenum minus 202 and nickel minus 125 ng/g
- To carry the US heart claim, rolled oats must hold at least 4 percent beta-glucan soluble fiber and 10 percent total dietary fiber on a dry weight basis. White rice has no such threshold because it has no claim. — US labeling rule for rolled oats, also known as oatmeal Evidence E sourceMinimum 4 percent beta-glucan soluble fiber and minimum 10 percent total dietary fiber, dry weight basis
What a real portion looks like
- A cup of cooked white rice with no added fat weighs 5.6 oz (158 g) in the US dietary survey, while cooked oatmeal has no survey portion at all. — US survey food portions, FNDDS code 56205008 Evidence E source1 cup cooked = 158 g; quantity not specified = 118 g; no FNDDS entry for cooked oatmeal among 5432 survey foods
What your body absorbs
- Pooling 15 randomized trials in 673 people, eating oats lowered fasting insulin by 6.29 pmol/l and cut the glucose area under the curve over two hours by 30.23 units. — 673 adults in 15 randomized controlled trials, search to October 2013 (n = 673) Evidence A sourceFasting insulin minus 6.29 pmol/l (95 percent CI minus 12.32 to minus 0.27, p = 0.04); glucose AUC 0 to 120 min minus 30.23 min by mmol/l (95 percent CI minus 43.65 to minus 16.81, p below 0.0001); fasting glucose and HbA1c not significantly changed
- Across 15 studies the two grains split by mechanism: oat beta-glucan consistently improved post meal glucose, insulin area under the curve and LDL, while rice bran moved lipids but gave mixed glycemic results. — adults in 15 included studies, sample sizes 10 to 154, durations 3 days to 12 weeks, search to June 2025 (n = 15 studies) Evidence C sourceOat beta-glucan improved postprandial glucose, insulin AUC and LDL-C with modest effects on waist circumference and blood pressure; rice bran improved lipids with mixed glycemic effects
What cooking and storage change
- How the oats are heated decides whether they beat rice: low temperature roasted oat paste gave lower postprandial glucose than rice, while oats roasted at 160 C matched rice on glucose and were worse on insulin. — 21 healthy young women, randomized crossover, oat pastes from flour roasted at 90 to 110 C or at 160 C, refined rice as reference (n = 21) Evidence B sourceHigh temperature roasted oats showed impaired insulin sensitivity by HOMA-PP and adverse second meal effects, with acrylamide at 507.4 micrograms per kg and less slowly digestible starch
- Cooking lowers the toxic metals in rice: across 15 studies arsenic fell by 0.04 mg per kg, lead by 0.01 and cadmium by 0.01, with rinsing and parboiling ahead of pressure cooking, microwaving and steaming. — 15 studies of rice cooking methods pooled (n = 15 studies) Evidence C sourceArsenic WMD minus 0.04 mg/kg (95 percent CI minus 0.05 to minus 0.03); lead minus 0.01 mg/kg; cadmium minus 0.01 mg/kg; rank order rinsed above parboiling above Kateh above high-pressure, microwave and steaming
What it does to your health
- In the only head to head trial, 80 g a day of oatmeal replaced 80 g a day of refined white rice for 45 days in 62 untreated people with high cholesterol, and the LDL drop depended on the rs3808607 genotype. — 62 medication-naive hypercholesterolemic Chinese adults, 56 completed, 45 days, oatmeal arm 31 and white rice arm 31 (n = 56) Evidence B sourceGenotype by diet interaction on LDL cholesterol p = 0.04; rs3808607-TT homozygotes responded more than G allele carriers p = 0.02
Safety, limits and interactions
- The FDA action level for inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereal is 100 micrograms per kilogram, which is 100 parts per billion. — infant rice cereals sold in the United States Evidence E sourceAction level 100 micrograms per kg, set 5 August 2020
- Rice based baby foods are the worst offenders for arsenic: 30 percent of rice mixes exceeded the international maximum level, against a median of 0.048 mg per kg. — 580 baby foods and 251 infant formulas from 75 studies worldwide (n = 580 baby foods) Evidence C sourceArsenic median in rice mixes 0.048 mg/kg with 30 percent of items above the maximum level; lead median highest in rice mixes and fish mixes at 0.008 mg/kg each with over 20 percent above the lead limit
What people believe that the data does not support
- Europe lets oats say they lower cholesterol and lets rice say nothing at all: oat beta-glucan holds an authorized claim, while all eight rice claims were refused or withdrawn. — EU health claim register, snapshot 2026-09-21 Evidence E sourceOat beta-glucan authorized; beta-glucans 5 authorized and 9 non-authorized; rice 0 authorized, 7 non-authorized and 1 revoked
Who this works differently for
- Fortified rice raised hemoglobin in women of childbearing age by 3.24 g per liter, but the effect on anemia prevalence stayed within noise. — women aged 10 to 49 years in studies of fortified rice, wheat flour, maize flour and oil, from 2284 search results Evidence C sourceHemoglobin plus 3.24 g/L (95 percent credibility interval 0.9 to 5.98) with 99.1 percent probability of being above zero; anemia prevalence minus 1.38 percentage points with credibility interval from minus 106.6 to 99.2
What is still unknown
- Nothing compares these two grains as a pair: one 45 day trial in 62 people is the entire head to head evidence, and no reference dataset knows the pairing at all. — US and UK reference datasets and the local PubMed corpus, searched as a pair and by each component Evidence E sourceZero records for the pair in USDA composition, CoFID, FNDDS, Retention Factors Release 6, ODS, Daily Values, WHO and both claim registers; one head to head randomized trial in the corpus
The bottom line
The two grains separate by mechanism. A review of 15 studies in adults, samples from 10 to 154 people, durations from 3 days to 12 weeks and a search to June 2025, found oat beta-glucan consistently improving post meal glucose, insulin area under the curve and LDL cholesterol, while rice bran improved lipids and gave mixed glycemic results. It pooled no numbers and it mixed randomized with observational work, so it gives a direction and not a size. Heat matters more than the packet suggests. In a randomized crossover in 21 healthy young women, oat paste made from flour roasted at 90 to 110 C produced lower post meal glucose than refined rice, while paste from flour roasted at 160 C matched rice on glucose and was worse on insulin, with acrylamide at 507.4 micrograms per kg and less slowly digestible starch. That was one feeding of a smooth paste in twenty-one young women, not a bowl of porridge eaten for a month. How you cook rice changes what you swallow. Across 15 measurement studies, cooking lowered arsenic by 0.04 mg per kg, with a confidence interval of 0.03 to 0.05, lead by 0.01 and cadmium by 0.01, and the order ran from rinsing and parboiling down to pressure cooking, microwaving and steaming. The absolute drops are small because the starting amounts are small, and the useful part is that method matters at all. Water also adds what it carries. In 106 matched sets of raw rice, cooked rice and urine from an arsenic study in Araihazar, Bangladesh, barium rose by 241 ng per g after cooking and strontium by 679, while caesium, selenium, molybdenum and nickel fell, which means the analysis of the raw bag does not describe the plate. That was one high background region, so the direction travels and the numbers do not. No comparable synthesis exists for oats. For portions the survey covers one grain and not the other: a cup of cooked white rice with no added fat weighs 5.6 oz (158 g), and cooked oatmeal has no portion among the 5432 US survey foods. The caution here is arsenic, and it attaches to rice and to babies. FDA set an action level of 100 micrograms per kilogram, which is 100 parts per billion, for inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereals on 5 August 2020, and that level covers those cereals only. There is no such level for rice in general and none for oats. A scoping review of 580 baby foods and 251 infant formulas drawn from 75 studies worldwide put the median arsenic in rice mixes at 0.048 mg per kg, with 30 percent of those items above the international maximum level, and rice mixes also carried the highest median lead at 0.008 mg per kg with over 20 percent above the lead limit. Those are measurements of products on shelves and not outcomes measured in children. Nothing in this set covers pregnancy, medicines, oat allergy or celiac disease, so this page says nothing about them. Regulators treat the two differently, and that is a fact about paperwork before it is a fact about food. Rolled oats qualify for the US heart claim only if they hold at least 4 percent beta-glucan soluble fiber and at least 10 percent total dietary fiber on a dry weight basis. White rice has no threshold to meet, because it has no claim. In the EU register oat beta-glucan holds an authorized claim for lowering blood cholesterol, while of the eight rice claims seven were refused and one revoked. Those rice claims were for black rice, rice bran, red yeast rice and germinated brown rice, not for the white rice most people cook. Fortified rice is a third product again. In women aged 10 to 49 it raised hemoglobin by 3.24 g per liter, credibility interval 0.9 to 5.98. The same analysis put anemia prevalence 1.38 percentage points lower, with a credibility interval from minus 106.6 to 99.2, which is a way of writing that nobody knows. Pick oats if you want the grain with the trials behind it. On the question of what happens to a person who eats one instead of the other for years, we found no study.
Each food on its own
- Oatmeal: three grams, and no way to count them — everything on this food
- Rice: the arsenic question, and the water you pour away — everything on this food
Questions answered from the trials
Sources
- oari-r4-05 · biomonitoring study
Barium and strontium significantly increased after cooking (mean differences of 241 ng/g and 679 ng/g, respectively), while cesium, selenium, molybdenum, and nickel significantly decreased (mean differences of -12 ng/g, -19 ng/g, -202 ng/g, and -125 ng/g, respectively). ... Overall, we find that elemental concentrations in raw rice may not reliably reflect dietary exposure, as cooking can introduce external inputs and remove endogenous elements.
Ecotoxicol Environ Saf, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-10 · regulation
( 2 ) Rolled oats. Rolled oats, also known as oatmeal, produced from 100 percent dehulled, clean oat groats by steaming, cutting, rolling, and flaking, and provides at least 4 percent (dwb) of β-glucan soluble fiber and a total dietary fiber content of at least 10 percent.
21 CFR 101.81(c)(2), Health claims: Soluble fiber from certain foods and risk of coronary heart disease (CHD) · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-12 · portion dataset
Rice, white, cooked, no added fat | FNDDS 56205008 | 1 cup, cooked (10043) 158 g | Quantity not specified (90000) 118 g
USDA FNDDS, Rice, white, cooked, no added fat, FNDDS code 56205008 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-02 · meta-analysis of RCTs
Compared with controls, oat intake significantly reduced the concentrations of fasting insulin by - 6·29 (95 % CI - 12·32, - 0·27) pmol/l (P= 0·04) and the values of glucose AUC (GAUC; 0-120 min) by - 30·23 (95 % CI - 43·65, - 16·81) min × mmol/l (P< 0·0001).
Br J Nutr, 2014 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-09 · systematic review
Oat β-glucan consistently improved postprandial glucose, insulin AUC, and LDL-C, with modest effects on waist circumference and blood pressure. Rice bran improved blood lipids consistently, while glycaemic effects were mixed.
J Nutr Sci, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-03 · randomized crossover trial
Results showed that low-temperature roasted oats (L0 and L40) elicited significantly lower postprandial glucose responses than high-temperature roasted oats (H30) and R did, while H30 induced comparable glycemic but higher insulinemic responses than R did. Notably, H30 exhibited impaired insulin sensitivity (higher HOMA-PP) and adverse second-meal effects, likely due to acrylamide formation (507.4 μg/kg) and reduced slowly digestible starch (SDS).
Food Res Int, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-04 · meta-analysis of measurement studies
Our results showed a significant decrease in the content of arsenic, lead, and cadmium following the cooking rice (WMD= -0.04 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.05, -0.03, P = 0.000), (WMD = -0.01 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.01, -0.01, P = 0.000), and (WMD = -0.01 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.01, -0.00, P = 0.000), respectively. Furthermore, based on the subgroup analysis the overall rank order of cooking methods in the rice was rinsed > parboiling > Kateh > high-pressure, microwave, and steaming.
Int J Environ Health Res, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-01 · randomized controlled trial
Data in this study were extracted from a parallel, controlled trial, in which 62 medication-naive hypercholesterolemic patients provided with staple food substitute of either 80 g/d oatmeal (n=31) or 80 g/d refined white rice (n=31) for 45 days. ... rs3808607-TT homozygotes exhibited significantly higher responsiveness to oatmeal (reduction in LDL cholesterol) than G allele carriers (GG/GT) (p=0.02).
Asia Pac J Clin Nutr, 2020 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-06 · agency action level
FDA is establishing an action level for inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereals of 100 μg/kg or 100 ppb.
US Food and Drug Administration, Supporting Document for Action Level for Inorganic Arsenic in Rice Cereals for Infants · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-07 · scoping review
For As, the highest median was found in mixed fish (0.165 mg/kg) and rice mixes (0.048 mg/kg), with 89% and 30% of items exceeding the As ML, respectively. ... Exceedances of the ML were particularly notable in rice products for infants >6 months and infant formulas for babies ≤12 months of age.
Nutr Rev, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-11 · claim register entry
POL-HC-6248 Oat beta-glucan Oat beta-glucan has been shown to lower/reduce blood cholesterol. High cholesterol is a risk factor in the development of coronary heart disease -/- Authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6248, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-08 · network meta-analysis
In women who consumed fortified rice, hemoglobin mean change was 3.24 g/L (95% credibility interval (CrI) 0.9, 5.98), higher than for women in the control, with a 99.1% probability that the true mean difference was > 0. ... After rice fortification, anemia prevalence in women was 1.38 percentage points (95% CrI -106.6, 99.2) lower than for control women, with a 51.2% probability that the true mean difference was < 0.
Matern Child Nutr, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - oari-r4-13 · dataset and corpus search, null result
retention_search.py oatmeal | rice: no method, and this product is not known even to FDC. cofid_search.py oatmeal: nothing. fndds_search.py oatmeal | rice: FTS5 syntax error near |. euclaims_search.py oatmeal: nothing.
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, USDA Agricultural Research Service · checked 2026-09-25
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-25 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.