Keebler cookies: what the evidence says about the category
No study has tested Keebler products themselves, so the useful evidence is about the kind of food they are. In an inpatient crossover trial of 20 adults at the NIH, an ultra-processed diet led people to eat 508 calories a day more (SE 106) and gain 2 lb (0.9 kg) in two weeks, against a 2 lb (0.9 kg) loss on an unprocessed diet. The trial tested a whole diet rather than cookies, and it was short and small. The USDA record for Keebler Chocolate Graham Selects lists 71.8 g of carbohydrate and 16.6 g of fat, 3.15 g of it saturated, per 3.5 oz (100 g), a single reference value that may predate a recipe change. A real portion is light. USDA survey coding weighs one Keebler Deluxe Graham at 10 g, which is a different product from the Graham Selects record.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for keebler itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- The USDA reference record for Keebler Chocolate Graham Selects lists 71.8 g carbohydrate and 16.6 g fat, 3.15 g of it saturated, per 3.5 oz (100 g). — USDA SR Legacy record, Keebler Chocolate Graham SELECTS; one reference value, no sample spread Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: carbohydrate 71.8 g (26% DV), fat 16.6 g (21% DV), saturated fat 3.15 g (16% DV)
What a real portion looks like
- USDA dietary survey coding weighs one Keebler Deluxe Graham at 10 g, against 25 g for a generic chocolate-covered graham cracker. — FNDDS food code 54102020, graham crackers chocolate covered, WWEIA cookies and brownies Evidence E source1 Keebler Deluxe Graham 10 g; 1 cracker 25 g; 1 100-calorie package 21 g; quantity not specified 18 g
What your body absorbs
- In a randomized crossover test in 11 adults, a cracker from conventional flour had a glycemic index of 90, while swapping 30% of flour for sunflower seed flour brought it to 53. — 11 healthy adults, mean age 23.5, each cracker portion with 50 g available carbohydrate (n = 11) Evidence B sourceGI: conventional flour 90, 30% whole wheat 77, 30% sunflower seed flour 53 (glucose scale)
What cooking and storage change
- Laboratory testing of 80 commercial biscuits in Spain found acrylamide from baking averaged 343 micrograms per kg. — 80 commercial biscuits sold in Spain, 2019, LC-ESI-MS/MS (n = 80) Evidence D sourceMean 343 ug/kg (range <20 to 2144); 45% decline since 2007 in wheat-based biscuits
- A meta-analysis of 28 studies found acrylamide was the main processing contaminant in wheat foods such as cookies, at an average 136 micrograms per kg. — 28 studies of processing contaminants in wheat-based foods (bread, cookies, pasta) Evidence D sourceAcrylamide 136.29 ug/kg, HMF 70.59 ug/kg, PAHs 0.11 ug/kg
What it does to your health
- In an inpatient randomized crossover trial of 20 adults, an ultra-processed diet led people to eat 508 calories a day more and gain 2 lb (0.9 kg) in two weeks. — 20 weight-stable adults, mean age 31, mean BMI 27, NIH Clinical Center, 2 weeks per diet (n = 20) Evidence B sourceEnergy intake +508 calories/day (SE 106); weight +2 lb (0.9 kg) (SE 0.3) on ultra-processed vs -2 lb (-0.9 kg) on unprocessed
- A BMJ umbrella review of 73 meta-analyses, mostly observational, advises keeping free or added sugars below 25 g a day. — 73 meta-analyses covering 83 health outcomes in people without acute or chronic disease Evidence C sourceHarmful associations for 45 outcomes; moderate quality for added sugars and ectopic fat; recommendation below 25 g/day
What people believe that the data does not support
- Since June 18, 2018, US manufacturers may not add partially hydrogenated oils, the main source of artificial trans fat, to foods such as cookies and crackers. — US food supply, FDA final determination on partially hydrogenated oils Evidence E sourcePHOs no longer allowed as added ingredient after 18 June 2018 (some uses extended to 1 January 2020)
The bottom line
White-flour crackers digest fast. In a crossover test of 11 young adults, a cracker made with conventional flour had a glycemic index of 90, and replacing 30% of the flour with sunflower seed flour brought it to 53. Those were experimental crackers made for the study, not Keebler products. Baking creates acrylamide. Lab testing of 80 commercial biscuits sold in Spain found an average of 343 micrograms per kg, ranging from under 20 to 2144. A meta-analysis of 28 studies of wheat foods put the average at 136 micrograms per kg. Both measured the food, and neither measured any effect on people. A BMJ umbrella review of 73 mostly observational meta-analyses advises keeping free or added sugars below 25 g a day, about six teaspoons. That limit is the authors' recommendation. Our card gives no sugar figure for any Keebler product. Since June 18, 2018, US manufacturers may not add partially hydrogenated oils, the main source of artificial trans fat, to foods such as cookies and crackers. That is a rule, not a measurement of any Keebler product. We have no evidence card on allergy, pregnancy, children or drug interactions for Keebler products, so this page cannot tell you who should be more careful. For allergens, the ingredient list on each pack is the source this page does not have.
More from the same food group (baked products)
- Molasses cookies: an iron number from one old record
- Muffin: a 130 g cake that trials mostly use as a delivery vehicle
- Muffins: a 488 calories portion, and the flour moves the glucose rise
- Italian bread: an ordinary refined loaf, judged by the slice
- Irish soda bread: two different loaves under one name
- Heinz: what the research says about ketchup, beans, juice and vinegar
Sources
- keeb-r2-01 · USDA FoodData Central, dataset
Keebler, Keebler Chocolate Graham SELECTS (FDC 173255, SR Legacy, Baked Products): carbohydrate 71.8 g per 100 g = 26% DV; total fat 16.6 g = 21% DV; saturated fat 3.15 g = 16% DV; Foundation samples 0, CoFID match none
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 173255 (Keebler, Keebler Chocolate Graham SELECTS) · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-02 · USDA FNDDS, dataset
FNDDS 54102020 Graham crackers, chocolate covered (FDC 2708135, WWEIA Cookies and brownies): 1 cracker 25 g; 1 Keebler Deluxe Graham 10 g; 1 100 calorie package 21 g; Quantity not specified 18 g
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS), food code 54102020, FDC 2708135 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-04 · RCT
The SFC crackers provided low GI and GL values (GI: 53 on the glucose scale, GL: 6 per serving), whereas the WWC and CC crackers provided high GI (GI: 77 and 90 on the glucose scale, respectively) and medium GL values (11 and 12 per serving, respectively).
Eur J Clin Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-05 · market survey
The mean acrylamide content was 343 μg kg-1 (from <20 to 2144 μg kg-1).
Food Funct, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-06 · meta-analysis of occurrence data
The highest concentration was for acrylamide (136.29 µg·kg-1) followed by HMF (70.59 µg·kg-1) and PAHs (0.11 µg·kg-1).
Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-03 · RCT
Energy intake was greater during the ultra-processed diet (508 ± 106 kcal/day; p = 0.0001), with increased consumption of carbohydrate (280 ± 54 kcal/day; p < 0.0001) and fat (230 ± 53 kcal/day; p = 0.0004), but not protein (-2 ± 12 kcal/day; p = 0.85).
Cell Metab, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-07 · umbrella review
Reducing the consumption of free sugars or added sugars to below 25 g/day (approximately 6 teaspoons/day) and limiting the consumption of sugar sweetened beverages to less than one serving/week (approximately 200-355 mL/week) are recommended to reduce the adverse effect of sugars on health.
BMJ, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - keeb-r2-08 · agency determination
June 18, 2018, remains the date after which manufacturers cannot add PHOs to foods.
US FDA, Final Determination Regarding Partially Hydrogenated Oils (Removing Trans Fat) · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.