Crunchmaster: one USDA record, and no trial of this cracker anywhere
We found no trial of this product. The brand name returns nothing in the research corpus, so everything below describes either crackers as a class or the single USDA entry filed under this name. The closest trial fed 11 healthy adults of mean age 23.5 three cracker formulations, each matched at 50 g of available carbohydrate, and the flour decided the result. Crackers made with 30 percent sunflower seed flour came in at a glycemic index of 53, the 30 percent whole wheat version at 77, and the conventional flour version at 90. Only the sunflower one flattened the glucose peak. That was one meal in eleven young healthy people, and none of the three was this cracker. The compendium of glycemic index testing, over 4000 items, says the same thing from the other direction: savory snacks exist in high, medium and low versions, and cereal products vary widely even when the label says whole grain, which the authors put down to how the product is manufactured. Nobody has published a glycemic index for this one. The USDA record itself, a single SR Legacy entry with no second sample to compare it against, gives 0.508 mg copper, 149 mg magnesium and 16.3 mcg selenium per 3.5 oz (100 g), which is 56, 35 and 30 percent of the Daily Value. Read the denominator carefully. In the United States dietary survey a cracker from this category weighs about 3 g and a small single serving bag about 45 g, so 100 g is more than two bags.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crunchmaster, Multi-Grain Crisps, Snack Crackers, Gluten-Free | 456 | 10.9 g | 15.9 g | 67.2 g | 7.5 g |
These are the USDA entries that are crunchmaster, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
How much is actually in it
- The single USDA record for this cracker gives 0.508 mg copper, 149 mg magnesium and 16.3 mcg selenium per 3.5 oz (100 g), which is 56, 35 and 30 percent of the Daily Value. — USDA FoodData Central entry Crunchmaster, Multi-Grain Crisps, Snack Crackers, Gluten-Free, FDC 167591, SR Legacy (n = 1 USDA record) Evidence E sourceCopper 0.508 mg (56 percent DV), magnesium 149 mg (35 percent DV), selenium 16.3 mcg (30 percent DV) per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- A test cracker portion standardized to 50 g of available carbohydrate delivered a glycemic load of 6 to 12 across the three formulations tested. — 11 healthy adults, randomized crossover, three cracker formulations each standardized to 50 g available carbohydrate (n = 11) Evidence B sourceGlycemic load per serving 6 for sunflower seed flour crackers, 11 for whole wheat, 12 for conventional flour
- A single cracker weighs about 3 g and a small single serving bag about 45 g in the United States dietary survey. — WWEIA category Crackers, excludes saltines, survey food Crackers, NFS, FNDDS code 54001000 (n = 8 measures) Evidence E source1 cracker 3 g, 1 miniature or bite size 1 g, 1 small or medium single serving bag 45 g, 1 large single serving bag 85 g, 1 cup NFS 50 g, quantity not specified 18 g
What cooking and storage change
- In an acute crossover trial, crackers with 30 percent sunflower seed flour scored a glycemic index of 53, against 77 for 30 percent whole wheat and 90 for conventional flour crackers. — 11 healthy adults, mean age 23.5 years, randomized crossover, cracker meals each providing 50 g available carbohydrate (n = 11) Evidence B sourceGlycemic index 53 for sunflower seed flour crackers, 77 for 30 percent whole wheat flour, 90 for conventional flour; only the sunflower version lowered postprandial glucose peaks
- Rinsing and parboiling rice cut its arsenic, lead and cadmium, with arsenic falling by 0.04 mg per kg across fifteen studies. — fifteen studies of rice cooked by different methods, pooled (n = 15 studies) Evidence D sourceArsenic WMD -0.04 mg/kg (95 percent CI -0.05 to -0.03), lead -0.01 mg/kg, cadmium -0.01 mg/kg; rank order rinsed above parboiling above Kateh above high-pressure, microwave and steaming
What it does to your health
- A daily cracker snack of about 67.5 g for 70 days raised satiety but did not shrink waist circumference in 25 people with overweight. — 25 adults with overweight and abdominal adiposity, double-blind randomized trial, one cracker serving of about 2.4 oz (67.5 g) daily for 70 days (n = 25) Evidence B sourcePrimary endpoint not met, no reduction in waist circumference; no change in cholesterol, triglycerides, body composition or insulin resistance; satiety increased and hunger fell in both groups
- Savory snack products come in high, medium and low glycemic index versions, and cereal products vary widely even when they are whole grain. — international glycemic index tables 2021, over 4000 food items, about 2100 measured by the ISO method (n = over 4000 items) Evidence C sourceCereals and cereal products show wide variation in glycemic index attributed to manufacturing methods; breads, breakfast cereals, rice and savory snack products exist in high, medium and low versions
Safety, limits and interactions
- Across 27806 food samples, 11 percent carried more than 20 mg gluten per kg and 0.51 percent exceeded 200 mg per kg, the level at which the authors calculate that a normal 3.5 to 11 oz (100 to 300 g) portion could pass the 10 mg a day threshold. — 59 studies from 28 countries, 1993 to 2024, 27806 food samples mostly analyzed by sandwich ELISA R5 (n = 27806 samples) Evidence D source3100 samples (11 percent) above 20 mg/kg, 359 (1.3 percent) above 80 mg/kg, 142 (0.51 percent) above 200 mg/kg; regular portions of 3.5 to 11 oz (100 to 300 g) of foods above 200 mg/kg could exceed the 10 mg per day safety threshold
What people believe that the data does not support
- About 9.5 percent of products labeled gluten-free were found to hold more than 20 mg gluten per kg, against 28 percent of foods that are naturally gluten-free. — 40 studies measuring gluten in gluten-free foods with validated methods, low, middle and high income countries (n = 40 studies) Evidence D sourceOverall contamination above 20 mg/kg 15.12 percent (95 percent CI 9.56 to 21.70); naturally gluten-free foods 28.32 percent, labeled gluten-free products 9.52 percent, food service meals 4.66 percent
- In the United States the words gluten-free on a label are a legal threshold: any unavoidable gluten must stay below 20 parts per million. — United States food labeling, 21 CFR 101.91, current eCFR text Evidence E sourceBelow 20 ppm gluten, that is below 20 mg gluten per kg of food; a food that claims gluten-free and fails this is deemed misbranded
Who this works differently for
- Among 7959 celiac patients a gluten-free diet raised mean body mass index by 1.14 kg per square meter, yet only 9 percent crossed into the overweight or obese band. — 7959 patients with celiac disease and 20524 healthy controls, 45 observational studies, before and during a gluten-free diet (n = 7959) Evidence C sourceMean BMI difference 1.14 kg/m2 (95 percent CI 0.68 to 1.60), I2 82.8 percent; 9 percent moved up into overweight or obese, 20 percent moved down a category
What is still unknown
- The only trial to measure cracker glycemic index, finding a spread from 53 to 90 in 11 adults, ends by calling flour substitution in snacks an open question. — 11 healthy adults, randomized crossover trial of three cracker formulations (n = 11) Evidence B sourceAuthors call for further investigation of flour substitutions in healthy snack options; no trial has tested this brand
The bottom line
Gluten-free on a United States label is a legal number, not a marketing word. Any unavoidable gluten in a food carrying the claim must stay below 20 ppm, meaning below 20 mg per kg of food, and a product that claims it and fails is misbranded. Testing shows it is not always met. A meta-analysis of 40 sampling studies put 9.52 percent of labeled gluten-free products above 20 mg/kg, against 28.32 percent of foods that are naturally gluten-free and never tested, with overall contamination at 15.12 percent (95 percent CI 9.56 to 21.70). A scoping review of 27806 samples from 28 countries found 11 percent above 20 mg/kg and 0.51 percent above 200 mg/kg, and it is that top fraction that matters, because those authors calculate a normal 3.5 to 11 oz (100 to 300 g) portion of such a food would pass the 10 mg a day threshold. These are measurements of food on shelves, not outcomes in patients, and none of the samples was this brand. The one trial of crackers and body fat found no effect. In a double-blind trial, 25 adults with overweight and abdominal fat ate about 2.4 oz (67.5 g) of crackers daily for 70 days, and the primary endpoint failed: waist circumference did not fall, and neither did cholesterol, triglycerides, body composition or insulin resistance. Satiety rose and hunger dropped in both arms, which makes it the habit of eating a measured snack rather than the recipe. Those crackers were made with fatty-acid-enriched egg, not this product. If you have celiac disease, the diet as a whole tends to move weight upward. Across 45 observational studies in 7959 patients, mean body mass index rose by 1.14 kg/m2 (95 percent CI 0.68 to 1.60) on a gluten-free diet, with high heterogeneity and moderate to high risk of bias, though only 9 percent crossed into the overweight or obese band and 20 percent moved down a category. One more caution belongs to the rice used as raw material, and it applies to crackers made from rice. Rice carries arsenic, lead and cadmium, and pooled across fifteen studies rinsing and parboiling lowered arsenic by 0.04 mg/kg (95 percent CI 0.03 to 0.05). That step happens in a kitchen with raw rice, and a finished cracker gives you no chance to perform it. We found no study of arsenic in rice crackers eaten by infants or young children, so this page cannot say how the risk differs for them. We have no ingredient list for this product on this page, only its USDA composition record.
More from the same food group (baked products)
- Doughnuts: what the studies actually tested
- Egg bread and egg allergy: what the baked egg trials show
- English muffins: what the label decides and the grain research cannot
- Croutons: toasted bread with a lot of salt
- Croissants: the ones in the studies were not the ones in the bakery
- Crackers: the salt is in the box you pick
Sources
- crmr-daily-r1-01 · food composition dataset
Crunchmaster, Multi-Grain Crisps, Snack Crackers, Gluten-Free (FDC 167591, SR Legacy): copper 0.508 mg, magnesium 149 mg, selenium 16.3 mcg per 100 g
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 167591 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-03 · randomized crossover RCT
In a randomized controlled, crossover design, 11 healthy participants (mean age 23.5 ± 1 years; 7 women; BMI 23 ± 1 kg/m2), consumed cracker meals (CC, WWC, and SFC) each providing 50 g of available carbohydrates, and a 50 g glucose reference in separate sessions.
Eur J Clin Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-11 · food portion dataset
Crackers, NFS (WWEIA category Crackers, excludes saltines; FNDDS code 54001000; fdc_id 2708132): 1 cracker 3 g, 1 miniature/bite size 1 g, 1 small or medium single serving bag 45 g, 1 large single serving bag 85 g, 1 sleeve 115 g, 1 cup NFS 50 g, quantity not specified 18 g
USDA FNDDS, survey food Crackers, NFS, FNDDS code 54001000, fdc_id 2708132 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-02 · randomized crossover RCT
The SFC crackers provided low GI and GL values (GI: 53 on the glucose scale, GL: 6 per serving), whereas the WWC and CC crackers provided high GI (GI: 77 and 90 on the glucose scale, respectively) and medium GL values (11 and 12 per serving, respectively).
Eur J Clin Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-08 · meta-analysis of food measurements
Our results showed a significant decrease in the content of arsenic, lead, and cadmium following the cooking rice (WMD= -0.04 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.05, -0.03, P = 0.000), (WMD = -0.01 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.01, -0.01, P = 0.000), and (WMD = -0.01 mg/kg, 95% CI: -0.01, -0.00, P = 0.000), respectively.
Int J Environ Health Res, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-04 · randomized controlled trial
Test and control crackers were well tolerated and increased satiety while reducing hunger and intention to eat in the future. There was no change in circulating cholesterol or triglyceride levels. ... However, the primary endpoint was not met as there was no reduction in waist circumference.
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-10 · systematic review, food compendium
Cereals and cereal products, however, including whole-grain or whole-meal versions, showed wide variation in GI values, presumably arising from variations in manufacturing methods. Breads, breakfast cereals, rice, savory snack products, and regional foods were available in high-, medium-, and low-GI versions.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-06 · scoping review
The analysis identified 27,806 food samples, predominantly analyzed by sandwich ELISA R5. Of these, 3100 (11 %) had a gluten content exceeding 20 mg/kg, 359 samples (1.3 %) contained >80 mg/kg, and 142 samples (0.51 %) > 200 mg/kg.
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-05 · meta-analysis of food contamination surveys
The results show that in the gluten-free foods analysed, the overall prevalence of gluten contamination was estimated at 15.12% (95% CI: 9.56%-21.70%), with more than 20 mg/kg of gluten. Naturally gluten-free foods were significantly more contaminated than labelled gluten-free products and than meals in food services (28.32%; 9.52%; 4.66% respectively; p < 0.001).
Br J Nutr, 2022 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-07 · regulation
Any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food bearing the claim in its labeling is below 20 ppm gluten (i.e., below 20 mg gluten per kg of food).
21 CFR 101.91, Gluten-free labeling of food · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-09 · meta-analysis of observational studies
During a GFD, the mean BMI increased significantly (mean difference = 1.14 kg/m2 [95%CI, 0.68-1.60 kg/m2]; I2 = 82.8%; P < 0.001), but only 9% of patients (95%CI, 7%-12%; I2 = 80.0%) changed from the underweight/normal BMI category to the overweight/obese category, while 20% (95%CI, 11%-29%; I2 = 85.8%) moved into a lower BMI category.
Nutr Rev, 2023 · checked 2026-09-25 - crmr-daily-r1-12 · randomized crossover RCT
These findings suggest potential benefits for body weight management and glycemic control, warranting further investigation of the role of flour substitutions in healthy snack options.
Eur J Clin Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-25 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.