BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Croutons: toasted bread with a lot of salt

Croutons are toasted bread, and the best trial on what toasting does to blood sugar was run on bread slices, not on croutons. In 10 healthy adults, toasted homemade white bread gave a 2 hour glucose response of 193 mmol min/l against 259 for the same bread fresh, about a quarter lower. Freezing, thawing and then toasting brought it down to 157. A second small trial points the other way. In 17 adults with type 2 diabetes, only potato dumplings came out significantly lower than white bread over 180 minutes, and no difference was reported for 2.1 oz (60 g) of hard toasted bread. Only 8 or 9 of those 17 people ate the toasted bread at all. So the toasting effect held in one group of 10 healthy people, was not seen in a handful of people with diabetes, and neither study put a crouton on the plate. What a crouton reliably brings is salt. A cup, about 40 g, carries around 186 calories and 533 mg sodium in USDA survey data, figures worked out from the per 3.5 oz (100 g) values rather than weighed as a portion.

Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →

The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

USDA entrykcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Croutons, plain40711.9 g6.6 g73.5 g5.1 g
Croutons, seasoned46510.8 g18.3 g63.5 g5 g

These are the USDA entries that are croutons, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.

As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

As eatenkcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Croutons46510.8 g18.3 g63.5 g5 g

USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): croutons as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.

How much is actually in it

What a real portion looks like

What your body absorbs

What cooking and storage change

What it does to your health

Safety, limits and interactions

What people believe that the data does not support

Who this works differently for

The bottom line

A fast food packet of croutons weighs 12 g and gives about 56 calories and 160 mg sodium, again scaled from 100 g. Per 100 g, plain croutons list 37.5 ug selenium, 209 ug folate and 0.623 mg thiamin, and seasoned ones slightly less. These are single USDA records with no spread across samples, and the folate and thiamin come from enriched flour. In lab digestion, hard toasted bread held no more resistant starch than white bread. Browning is the part you control. The FDA advises toasting bread to light brown, since very brown areas hold the most acrylamide, and it gives no size for the difference. Pooled food surveys put acrylamide at a mean of about 136 micrograms per kg in wheat foods such as bread, with croutons never measured on their own. Among 36,994 European adults, at least half of dietary acrylamide came from two groups, bread with crisp bread and rusks, and coffee. Croutons were not split out of that bread group. We found no data on croutons for pregnancy, children, kidney disease or drug interactions, so the cautions here are the sodium and the acrylamide above. One old trial used croutons only as a carrier. In 31 adults with raised cholesterol, croutons or cookies carrying 25 g of soybean fiber a day for 8 weeks went with a fall in total cholesterol of 11% in one order of the crossover and 5% in the other. Randomization was not stated, and the fiber did the work. Ordinary croutons contain no such thing.

More from the same food group (baked products)

Sources

  1. crt-daily-r1-09 · food composition dataset
    Croutons, plain (FDC 172751, SR Legacy): selenium 37.5 ug, folate 209 ug, thiamin 0.623 mg per 100 g; across 2 records (plain, seasoned): selenium 28.8-37.5 ug, folate 151-209 ug, thiamin 0.506-0.623 mg
    USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 172751 (Croutons, plain) · checked 2026-09-28
  2. crt-daily-r1-10 · reference dataset
    Croutons, FNDDS 51185000: 1 cup 40 g | 1 fast food package 12 g | 4 cubes 1 g | Quantity not specified 5 g || Energy 465 kcal per 100 g | Sodium 1333 mg per 100 g
    USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, Croutons, food code 51185000, fdc_id 2707697 · checked 2026-09-28
  3. crt-daily-r1-03 · in vitro digestion
    The percentage of starch hydrolysed after 5 h in vitro hydrolysis with alpha-amylase was about 30 % lower for potato dumplings than for the other foods. However, no differences in the resistant starch content, the rate of diffusion of simple sugars added to a dialysis tube containing the food, and the viscosity of digesta were observed among the test foods.
    Br J Nutr, 2001 · checked 2026-09-28
  4. crt-daily-r1-06 · agency guidance
    Toasting bread to a light brown color, rather than a dark brown color, lowers the amount of acrylamide (see Picture B). Very brown areas should be avoided, since they contain the most acrylamide.
    US FDA, Acrylamide and Diet, Food Storage, and Food Preparation, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28
  5. crt-daily-r1-07 · systematic review of occurrence data
    Of the 1479 results, 28 were included for a meta-analysis. Most studies (69.7%) evaluated acrylamide in bread, cookies, and pasta, while PAHs (26.2%) were determined mainly in wheat grains and pasta. HMF was the least determined contaminant (4.1%), with only four studies on cookies included in the meta-analysis. The highest concentration was for acrylamide (136.29 µg·kg-1) followed by HMF (70.59 µg·kg-1) and PAHs (0.11 µg·kg-1).
    Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-28
  6. crt-daily-r1-04 · randomized crossover trial
    Eight healthy men, aged 21-28 (mean 24.5) years were given two meals (cooked vegetables 250 g, cheese 35 g, croutons 50 g and olive oil 25 g, total energy 2573 kJ, with water 300 ml) differing only in physical state: SM and HM. ... Furthermore, the overall gastric emptying time was significantly slowed (255 (SEM 11) min after HM v. 214 (SEM 12) min after SM; P < 0.05)
    Br J Nutr, 1998 · checked 2026-09-28
  7. crt-daily-r1-05 · controlled crossover trial
    Free-living volunteers with mild to moderate hypercholesteremia added 25 gm soybean polysaccharide or starch placebo in crouton or cookie form to their normal, daily diets. A total of 31 persons completed the blind, crossover design, 8-week, experimental protocol. Subjects ingesting soybean polysaccharide prior to placebo showed an 11% decrease (from 252 to 224 mg/dl) in total plasma cholesterol; those who followed placebo with fiber showed a 5% decrease (from 241 to 230 mg/dl).
    J Am Diet Assoc, 1985 · checked 2026-09-28
  8. crt-daily-r1-08 · cross-sectional
    In this cross-sectional analysis, 36 994 men and women, aged 35-74 years completed a single, standardized 24-hour dietary recall using EPIC-Soft. ... At least 50 % of AA intake across centers came from two food groups "bread, crisp bread, rusks" and "coffee."
    Eur J Nutr, 2013 · checked 2026-09-28
  9. crt-daily-r1-01 · randomized crossover trial
    compared to the fresh homemade bread (IAUC 259 mmol min/l), IAUC was significantly lower when the bread was frozen and defrosted (179 mmol min/l, P<0.05), toasted (193 mmol min/l, P<0.01) and toasted following freezing and defrosting (157 mmol min/l, P<0.01)
    Burton P, Lightowler HJ. The impact of freezing and toasting on the glycaemic response of white bread. Eur J Clin Nutr, 2008 · checked 2026-09-28
  10. crt-daily-r1-02 · randomized crossover trial
    an equivalent amount of carbohydrate provided by one (n 8) or two (n 9) of three other different test foods (g): pizza 85, potato dumplings 165, hard toasted bread 60. Foods had a similar nutrient composition. Plasma glucose response, measured for 180 min, was significantly lower after the potato dumplings than after white bread at 90 (P < 0.05), 120 (P < 0.01), and 150 (P < 0.05) min.
    Br J Nutr, 2001 · checked 2026-09-28

Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-28 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.