Collard greens and kale: plenty of vitamin K, and the pot decides the rest
In a 12-week double-blind trial in 30 adults with type 2 diabetes, three bars a day of freeze-dried kale lowered HbA1c by 1.37 units while it rose by 1.36 on placebo bars (p = 0.04). The paper never names those units, 13 of 43 starters dropped out, and the bars held the equivalent of about 12 oz (341 g) of fresh kale a day. A cup of raw kale in the US dietary survey weighs 0.88 oz (25 g), so that dose is a great deal of salad. What these two greens deliver without argument is vitamin K1. Raw kale averages 390 mcg per 3.5 oz (100 g) across three USDA samples, and the UK table gives curly kale 623 mcg, a gap put down to variety, season and lab method. That is why NIH advises people on warfarin and similar anticoagulants to keep vitamin K from food steady, since sudden changes alter the drug's effect. Little of it gets in. Seven volunteers who ate 14 oz (400 g) of labeled kale with oil absorbed about 4.7% of its K1, from one meal and with no comparison group. Collards turn up in far fewer studies. In eight USDA samples raw collards match kale on calcium and vitamin C and hold about 2.7 times its folate, 168 against 62 mcg per 3.5 oz (100 g).
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for collard greens | kale itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Raw kale in the USDA Foundation samples carries about 390 mcg of vitamin K1 per 3.5 oz (100 g), with little spread between samples, while its iron varies more than fourfold. — USDA Foundation Foods samples of Kale, raw Evidence E sourcePhylloquinone 390 mcg/100 g (369-422, 3 samples, spread 14%); vitamin C 93.4 mg (84.4-104, 5 samples); calcium 254 mg (203-281, 5 samples); iron 1.6 mg (0.77-3.61, 5 samples, spread 178%)
- Raw collards match kale on calcium and vitamin C in USDA samples but carry roughly 2.7 times the folate per 3.5 oz (100 g). — USDA Foundation Foods samples of Collards, raw (8 samples) against Kale, raw Evidence E sourceCollards calcium 276.4 mg (170-340), vitamin C 89.4 mg (64-111), folate 168 mcg (118-305), potassium 409.8 mg, 8 samples each; kale folate 62 mcg (53-72, 3 samples)
- The UK composition table gives raw curly kale 623 mcg of vitamin K1 and 110 mg of vitamin C per 3.5 oz (100 g), higher than the USDA means, but only half the USDA calcium. — CoFID 2021 food code 13-234, Curly kale, raw Evidence E sourceVitamin K1 623 mcg, vitamin C 110 mg, calcium 130 mg, iron 1.70 mg, potassium 450 mg, energy 33 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- In the US dietary survey one cup of raw kale weighs 0.88 oz (25 g) and one cup of cooked kale 130 g, so a cooked cup holds about five times more leaf. — FNDDS food codes 72119190 (Kale, raw) and 72119211 (Kale, fresh, cooked, no added fat) Evidence E source1 cup raw 25 g, 1 leaf 10 g, salad guideline amount 50 g; 1 cup cooked 130 g, quantity not specified 65 g
What your body absorbs
- In seven adults fed labeled kale with oil, only about 4.7% of its vitamin K1 was absorbed. — Seven healthy volunteers, single 14 oz (400 g) serving of kale with 30 g vegetable oil (n = 7) Evidence C sourceMean bioavailability of phylloquinone 4.7% (n 6); plasma peak 6-10 h, mean peak 2.1 nmol/l
- Vitamin K1 from 3.5 oz (100 g) of labeled collard greens eaten with a fatty breakfast peaked in blood after 6 to 9 hours and was back to baseline within 24 hours. — 5 men aged 26 to 71, single 100 g bolus of deuterium-labeled collard greens with 24 g fat (n = 5) Evidence C sourcePlasma total phylloquinone peak 10.51 +/- 4.38 to 8.30 +/- 4.64 nmol/L at 6-9 h; baseline 1.26 nmol/L by 24 h
- In a randomized crossover isotope trial in 16 women, adding 1.26 g of oxalic acid to a kale meal did not change iron absorption (10.7% vs 11.5%). — Sixteen apparently healthy women, 18-45 years, <132 lb (60 kg); thirteen completed both studies (n = 16) Evidence B sourceGeometric mean iron absorption 10.7% (kale) vs 11.5% (kale plus 1.26 g OA), P=0.86; spinach meal 24% lower than kale, P>0.16
What cooking and storage change
- Boiling curly kale in unsalted water cuts its vitamin C in the UK table from 110 mg to 25 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g), a loss of about three quarters. — CoFID 2021 codes 13-234 (raw) and 13-649 (boiled in unsalted water) Evidence E sourceVitamin C 110 to 25 mg/100 g; folate 120 to 97 mcg; potassium 450 to 229 mg
- By the USDA retention table for leafy greens, boiling in water that is then drained keeps 55% of vitamin C, while stir frying keeps 85%. — USDA retention factors for the group Vegetables and Vegetable Products, greens methods Evidence E sourceVitamin C retained 55% (Retn_Code 3005, boiled water cover drained), 60% (3004, little water drained), 60% (3019, cooked from frozen), 70% (3006, cooking water used), 85% (3015, stir fry)
- Frozen kale boiled and drained keeps its vitamin K1 in USDA samples (418 mcg per 3.5 oz (100 g)) but holds only 17.8 mg of vitamin C against 93.4 mg raw. — USDA Foundation Foods samples of Kale, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt, against Kale, raw Evidence E sourceVitamin C 17.8 mg (10.0-24.4, 3 samples) vs 93.4 mg raw; phylloquinone 418 mcg (368-477, 3 samples) vs 390 mcg raw; potassium 144 mg vs 348 mg
- In a crossover trial in 22 adults eating Ethiopian kale for five days, the cooked leaves cut induced DNA damage in blood cells by about a third while the raw leaves did not reach significance. — Twenty-two healthy subjects, B. carinata preparation from raw or cooked leaves for five days (n = 22) Evidence B sourceCooked: DNA damage -35% (+S9) and -33% (-S9), p <= 0.01; raw: -21%, p = 0.08; PGE2 lower only after raw
What it does to your health
- In a 12-week randomized trial in 30 people with type 2 diabetes, bars giving the equivalent of about 12 oz (341 g) of fresh kale a day lowered HbA1c, insulin resistance and body weight against placebo. — Thirty T2D patients, 12 weeks, three bars/day each with 26.25 g freeze-dried kale (n = 30) Evidence B sourceSignificant reduction in HbA1c, insulin resistance, body weight and calorie intake vs control; no difference in fat mass or 240 min OGTT glucose AUC
- In the same kale bar trial HbA1c fell by 1.37 units in the kale group and rose by 1.36 in the placebo group over 12 weeks (p = 0.04). — Type 2 diabetes patients completing 12 weeks of kale bar or placebo bar (n = 30) Evidence B sourceHbA1c change -1.368 +/- 0.8591 (kale) vs +1.364 +/- 0.7894 (control), p = 0.04; HOMA-IR -0.95 +/- 0.34 vs 0.15 +/- 0.28, p < 0.03
- In a 4-week randomized pilot in 20 people with dry macular degeneration, a kale extract giving 10 mg lutein and 3 mg zeaxanthin a day raised macular pigment, which fell again after 4 weeks off. — Twenty patients with non-exudative AMD, 10-wk study (2-wk run-in, 4-wk intervention, 4-wk washout) (n = 20) Evidence B sourcePlasma xanthophylls and MPOD increased significantly after 4 wk; improvements did not persist over 4 wk of washout
- In a randomized trial in 29 women aged 40 to 56, a curly kale carotenoid extract taken daily raised skin carotenoids and a dermal collagen index at 5 and 10 months. — 29 healthy female volunteers between 40 and 56 years of age (n = 29) Evidence B sourceSignificantly increased cutaneous carotenoids and collagen I/elastin aging index at 5 and 10 months
- In 179,062 UK Biobank adults followed for 10.5 years, the highest vitamin K1 intakes were linked to 16% lower COPD rates, an amount the authors equate to about one serving of kale. — 179,062 UK Biobank participants without COPD or asthma, 10.5-y follow-up (n = 179062) Evidence C sourceHR Q5 vs Q1 0.84 (95% CI 0.75, 0.94) for COPD; plateau above about 250 mcg/d
Safety, limits and interactions
- California health officials traced raised urine thallium in a mother and three young children to regular eating of commercial kale chips. — A mother and her three young children in one household (n = 4) Evidence D sourceUrine thallium peak 5.6 mcg/g creatinine (adult reference <=0.4) and 10.5 mcg/g creatinine in children (reference <=0.8)
- The kale chips in that household case contained about 2 mg of thallium per kg, and the family ate up to three 0.99 oz (28 g) servings a day at peak. — Household of a mother and three children eating one brand of kale chips from 2021-2022 (n = 4) Evidence D sourceThallium in kale chips 1.98 and 2.15 mg/kg by ICP-MS; peak intake 1-3 servings of 28 g daily
- Across 35 vegetable species pooled in a meta-analysis, kale showed the highest thallium bioconcentration factor from soil (0.133). — Published measurements of thallium in 35 vegetable species and their soils Evidence C sourceTl bioconcentration factor kale 0.133, taro 0.060; soil Tl thresholds for kale 0.24-4.89 mg/kg
- A 54-year-old man with diabetes and chronic kidney disease developed oxalate nephropathy and became dialysis dependent after regular spinach and kale smoothies. — A 54-year-old male with type 2 diabetes mellitus and chronic kidney disease (n = 1) Evidence D sourceBiopsy-confirmed calcium oxalate deposits; did not recover renal function, dialysis-dependent
- NIH advises people on warfarin and similar anticoagulants to keep vitamin K intake from food steady, since sudden changes alter the drug's effect. — People taking warfarin and similar anticoagulants Evidence E sourcePosition statement, no effect size
What people believe that the data does not support
- In an 8-week randomized trial in 78 premenopausal women, dried Brussels sprouts and kale capsules did not shift the urinary estrogen ratio linked to breast cancer risk. — 78 healthy premenopausal women (38-50 y), eight weeks (n = 78) Evidence B sourceNo treatment effect (P=0.9) or treatment-by-time interaction (P=0.6)
- The EU register holds no authorized health claim for kale, and a zeaxanthin eye health claim of the kind made for kale was not authorized. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot 2026-09-21 Evidence E source0 authorized, 2 non-authorized entries matching kale; POL-HC-8214 Zeaxanthin Non-authorized
- In an online survey of 1200 Saudi adults, only 23% had ever eaten kale and 17.8% of eaters reported side effects such as constipation. — 1200 Arab adults, cross-sectional online survey (n = 1200) Evidence C source276 (23%) had consumed kale; 64.5% reported favorable outcomes, 17.8% side effects; mean knowledge score 3.5-3.7 of 10
What is still unknown
- The kale chip case authors note that little is known about low-dose or chronic thallium exposure from food, especially in children, and that thallium in food is not regulated. — Review of regulatory and research findings in a case report Evidence D sourceKnowledge gap, no effect size
The bottom line
Boiling is where the vitamin C goes. The UK table lists curly kale at 110 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g) raw and 25 mg after boiling in unsalted water, and the two figures come from separate rows, so they describe different samples. USDA retention factors, set for the greens group as a whole with no kale or collard figure of its own, keep 55% of vitamin C when leaves are boiled and drained and 85% when they are stir fried. Frozen kale boiled and drained kept its K1 in USDA samples at 418 mcg per 3.5 oz (100 g), while vitamin C fell to 17.8 mg against 93.4 mg raw, in different batches. A cooked cup weighs 4.6 oz (130 g), about five times the leaf in a raw cup. The idea that oxalate in greens blocks their iron was tested with kale. In a randomized crossover isotope study in 16 women, 13 of whom finished, adding 1.26 g of oxalic acid to a kale meal gave 11.5% iron absorption against 10.7% without it (P = 0.86). That is one test meal in a small group, and the difference did not reach significance. In five men eating 3.5 oz (100 g) of labeled collards with 24 g of fat, blood K1 peaked 6 to 9 hours later and was back to baseline within a day. Most of the other trials used extracts. A kale extract giving 10 mg of lutein and 3 mg of zeaxanthin a day raised macular pigment over 4 weeks in 20 people with dry macular degeneration, and the gain was gone 4 weeks after they stopped. In 29 women aged 40 to 56, capsules of a curly kale carotenoid extract raised skin carotenoids and a collagen index at 5 and 10 months, and the abstract gives no size. Eight weeks of dried Brussels sprout and kale capsules showed no treatment effect on a urinary estrogen ratio in 78 premenopausal women (P = 0.9). That ratio is a marker, and the trial counted no cancers. The EU register holds no authorized health claim for kale, and a zeaxanthin eye claim of that kind was refused. A crossover trial in 22 adults used Ethiopian kale, a different Brassica species, for five days. Cooked leaves cut induced DNA damage in their blood cells by about a third, while raw leaves did not reach significance (p = 0.08). In 179,062 UK Biobank adults followed for 10.5 years, the top fifth of vitamin K1 intake was linked to 16% lower COPD rates (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.75 to 0.94). That is an association with K1 from every food, and kale appears only as the authors' example of a serving. If you take warfarin or a similar anticoagulant, NIH advises keeping vitamin K from food steady, because sudden changes alter the drug's effect, and raw kale holds 390 to 623 mcg of K1 per 3.5 oz (100 g). Kale drew thallium from soil more readily than any of 35 vegetables in a pooled analysis (bioconcentration factor 0.133), measured mostly on contaminated plots in China. California health officials traced raised urine thallium in one household, a mother and three young children, to a single brand of kale chips holding about 2 mg of thallium per kg, eaten at up to three 0.99 oz (28 g) servings a day. The children peaked at 10.5 mcg per g creatinine against a reference of 0.8 or less. The case authors write that little is known about chronic low-dose thallium from food, especially in children, and that thallium in food is not regulated. A 54-year-old man with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease became dialysis dependent from oxalate nephropathy after regular spinach and kale smoothies, a single case. With kidney disease, daily green smoothies are worth raising with whoever treats you.
Each food on its own
- Collard greens: a vitamin K load that warfarin users should keep steady — everything on this food
- Kale: 325 percent on the label, 4.7 percent in the blood — everything on this food
Sources
- ckv-r2-01 · USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, dataset
Kale, raw: Vitamin K (phylloquinone) 390.0 UG, range 369.0-422.0 (median 378.0), 3 samples, spread 14%; Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 93.4 MG, range 84.4-104.0, 5 samples; Calcium, Ca 254.0 MG, range 203.0-281.0, 5 samples; Iron, Fe 1.6 MG, range 0.77-3.61 (median 1.14), 5 samples, spread 178%
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30, Kale, raw · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-02 · USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, dataset
Collards, raw: Calcium, Ca 276.4 MG, range 170.0-340.0 (median 293.0), 8 samples; Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 89.4 MG, range 64.0-111.0, 8 samples; Folate, total 168.0 UG, range 118.0-305.0, 8 samples; Potassium, K 409.8 MG, 8 samples. Kale, raw: Folate, total 62.0 UG, range 53.0-72.0, 3 samples
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30, Collards, raw and Kale, raw · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-03 · CoFID 2021, dataset
Curly kale, raw (CoFID 13-234): Vitamin K1 623.00 ug; Vitamin C 110 mg; Calcium 130 mg; Iron 1.70 mg; Potassium 450 mg; Energy 33 kcal
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, OGL v3.0, code 13-234 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-07 · USDA FNDDS, dataset
Kale, raw (FNDDS 72119190, fdc_id 2709599): 1 cup 25 g; 1 leaf 10 g; Guideline amount in salad 50 g. Kale, fresh, cooked, no added fat (FNDDS 72119211, fdc_id 2709600): 1 cup 130 g; Quantity not specified 65 g
USDA FNDDS, FDC 2709599 and 2709600 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-08 · Controlled clinical trial, isotope tracer
Seven healthy volunteers ingested a single 400 g serving of kale with 30 g vegetable oil. The kale provided 156 nmol of phylloquinone... Modelling results demonstrated a mean (n 6) bioavailability of phylloquinone from kale to be 4.7%.
Br J Nutr, 2010 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-09 · Clinical trial, isotope tracer
A single bolus of 100 g (396 +/- 28 microg phylloquinone) deuterium-labeled collard greens was fed with a breakfast containing 24 g fat to 5 men (26 to 71 years)... Plasma total phylloquinone concentrations peaked at 6 to 9 hours (10.51 +/- 4.38 to 8.30 +/- 4.64 nmol/L) and returned to baseline by 24 hours (1.26 +/- 0.38 nmol/L).
Metabolism, 2004 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-10 · Randomized crossover trial
Sixteen apparently healthy women (18-45 years, <60 kg body weight)... After normalization for the spinach reference meal absorption, geometric mean iron absorption from wheat bread rolls with kale (10.7%) did not differ significantly from wheat rolls with kale plus 1.26 g OA added as potassium oxalate (11.5%, P=0.86).
Eur J Clin Nutr, 2008 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-04 · CoFID 2021, dataset
Curly kale, raw (13-234): Vitamin C 110 mg; Folate 120 ug; Potassium 450 mg. Curly kale, boiled in unsalted water (13-649): Vitamin C 25 mg; Folate 97 ug; Potassium 229 mg
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, OGL v3.0, codes 13-234 and 13-649 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-05 · USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:3005 VEG,GREENS,BOILED,WATER COVER DRAIN: vitamin_c_mg 55% retained; USDA-RETN-R6:3004 VEG,GREENS,BOILD,LITTLE WATER DRAIN: 60%; USDA-RETN-R6:3019 VEG,GREENS,COOKED FROM FROZEN,DRAIN: 60%; USDA-RETN-R6:3006 VEG,GREENS,BOILED,WATER USED: 70%; USDA-RETN-R6:3015 VEG,GREENS,STIR FRY: 85%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Codes 3004, 3005, 3006, 3015, 3019 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-06 · USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, dataset
Kale, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt: Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 17.8 MG, range 10.0-24.4, 3 samples; Vitamin K (phylloquinone) 418.0 UG, range 368.0-477.0, 3 samples; Potassium, K 144.0 MG, 6 samples
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30, Kale, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-15 · Randomized crossover trial
Twenty-two healthy subjects consumed a B. carinata preparation from raw (allyl isothiocyanate-containing) or cooked (no allyl isothiocyanate) leaves for five days in a randomized crossover design... Cooked B. carinata significantly reduced DNA damage induced by AFB1 as compared to baseline levels (+S9 mix: 35%, -S9 mix: 33%, p ≤ 0.01, respectively). Raw B. carinata only reduced DNA damage by S9-activated AFB1 by 21% (p = 0.08).
Nutrients, 2018 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-11 · Randomized controlled trial
Thirty T2D patients were randomly assigned to either a placebo bar (control) or a kale bar (intervention). Participants in the intervention group were instructed to consume three bars/day, each containing 26.25 g of freeze-dried kale (corresponding to approx. 341 g fresh kale/day)... A significant reduction in HbA1c, insulin resistance, body weight, and calorie intake was observed in the intervention group compared to control.
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-12 · Randomized controlled trial
A decrease of −1.368 ± 0.8591 was noted in the HbA1c of the intervention group from the start to end of this study compared to control, where HbA1c was shown to increase by 1.364 ± 0.7894. The decrease in HbA1c in the group treated with the kale bars was significant compared to control (p = 0.04, Figure 4).
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-13 · Randomized controlled trial
Twenty patients with non-exudative AMD were recruited for a 10-wk study period (2-wk run-in, 4-wk intervention, 4-wk washout)... The verum product provides 10 mg lutein and 3 mg zeaxanthin per day. RESULTS: The concentrations of the xanthophylls in plasma and the MPOD increased significantly in the kale group after 4 wk of intervention... Nevertheless, the improvements did not persist over 4 wk of washout.
Nutrition, 2013 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-16 · Randomized controlled trial
the skin of 29 healthy female volunteers between 40 and 56 years of age. The volunteers received a supplement in the form of a carotenoid-rich natural curly kale extract containing 1650 µg of carotenoids in total (three capsules of 550 µg), once a day... The results showed significantly increased values for the cutaneous carotenoids and the collagen I/elastin aging index of dermis 5 and 10 months after the beginning of the study.
Nutrients, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-17 · Prospective cohort
We analyzed data from 179,062 UK Biobank participants without COPD or asthma... Over 10.5-y follow-up, higher vitamin K1 intakes were associated with lower COPD rates, with inverse associations reaching a plateau above ∼250 μg/d [HRquintile (Q)5 compared with Q1: 0.84; 95% confidence interval (CI): 0.75, 0.94]... As vitamin K1 is abundant in green leafy vegetables (e.g., ∼1 serving of kale, ∼1½-2 cups)
Am J Clin Nutr, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-18 · Case report
The California Department of Public Health was alerted to a household cluster of elevated urine thallium levels noted among a mother (peak 5.6 µg/g creatinine; adult reference: ≤0.4 µg/g creatinine) and her three young children (peak 10.5 µg/g creatinine; child reference: ≤0.8 µg/g creatinine).
Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-19 · Case report
Consumption was intermittent and variable, with peak consumption estimated as approximately 1–3 28 g servings daily for several days in a row... Whereas the XRF did not detect thallium above the device detection limit of 5 mg/kg, ICP-MS analysis measured thallium in the kale chips at 1.98 mg/kg and 2.15 mg/kg.
Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-20 · Meta-analysis, environmental
Taro and kale had significantly higher capability to accumulate soil Tl among the 35 species studied, with Tl bioconcentration factor values of 0.060 and 0.133, respectively.
Sci Total Environ, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-21 · Case report
This case report describes a 54-year-old male with type 2 diabetes mellitus and chronic kidney disease... Further investigation into dietary history revealed that the patient regularly consumed high-oxalate foods, such as spinach and kale smoothies, under the impression they were beneficial for his diabetes. Despite the initiation of hemodialysis, the patient did not recover renal function and remains dialysis-dependent.
Cureus, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-22 · NIH ODS fact sheet
Vitamin K can have a serious and potentially dangerous interaction with anticoagulants such as warfarin (Coumadin) as well as phenprocoumon, acenocoumarol, and tioclomarol, which are commonly used in some European countries [7,8]. These drugs antagonize the activity of vitamin K, leading to the depletion of vitamin K-dependent clotting factors. People taking warfarin and similar anticoagulants need to maintain a consistent intake of vitamin K from food and supplements because sudden changes in vitamin K intakes can increase or decrease the anticoagulant effect [45].
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Vitamin K Fact Sheet for Health Professionals · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-14 · Randomized controlled trial
This randomized, parallel arm, placebo-controlled, partly blinded study included 78 healthy premenopausal women (38-50 y) with screening urinary 2:16 ≤3.0... identified no treatment effect (P=0.9) or treatment-by-time interaction (P=0.6)... In conclusion, neither cruciferous supplements nor an added vegetable serving altered urinary 2:16 in premenopausal women with eight weeks treatment.
Int J Vitam Nutr Res, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-23 · EU claims register
POL-HC-8214 Zeaxanthin An optimal intake of zeaxanthin contributes to eye health supports normal vision absorbs blue light and scavenges reactive oxygen species in the eye (lens, retina) and, therefore, helps to maintain a healthy retina stabilizes membranes and, therefore, contributes to make retinal membranes more resistant against damage by light (together with Lutein) is actively accumulated in the healthy macula. The highest concentration of carotenoids found in the human body. A sufficient supply therefore contributes to maintaining the integrity and health of this part of the retina which is most essential for optimal visual performance. Das Carotinoid Zeaxanthin kommt in hoher Konzentration im menschlichen Auge vor. Dort schützt es dieses vor oxidativen Schädigungen durch Radikale. Zeaxanthin ist ein Beitrag zum Schutz der Augengesundheit. Zeaxanthin ist ein Radikalfänger. wird (zusammen mit Lutein) aktiv in der gesunden Makula angereichert, die die höchste Konzentration an Carotinoiden im menschlichen Körper aufweist. Eine ausreichende Versorgung hilft, diesen Teil der Retina, der für ein optimales Sehvermögen sehr wichtig Zeaxanthin ist ein wichtiges antioxidativ zellschützender vitaminähnlicher Lebensmittelinhaltsstoff für den Menschen mit besonderer Bedeutung für den Lichtschutz. Als vergleichsweise schwaches Antioxidans kann Zeaxanthin durch die stärkeren antioxidativen Nährstoffe bzw. körpereigenen Antioxidantien – z. B. die Thiole Glutathion, Cystein und Liponsäure - teilweise gegen Oxidation geschützt werden. Umgekehrt gibt es Hinweise, dass eine hohe Zufuhr von Carotinoiden wie Zeaxanthin auch einen positiven Einfluss auf den Status bei den anderen körpereigenen Antioxidantien hat. Hohe Mengen an Zeaxanthin sollten aus theoretischen Erwägungen wegen der erforderlichen Regeneration durch die körpereigenen antioxidativen Schutzsysteme zusammen mit anderen antioxidativen Nährstoffen supplementiert werden. Das gilt insbesondere für Personen mit erfahrungsgemäß schlechtem antioxidativem Status (z. B. Raucher, Diabetiker). Zeaxanthin ist ein effizienter Fänger von freien Radikalen. Nach der antioxidativen Rangordnung der Carotinoide wird Zeaxanthin im Auge erst nach Vitamin E, ß-Carorin, Lycopin und Lutein verbraucht.–Zeaxanthin ist für das Auge wahrscheinlich die letzte Sicherung gegen oxidative Schäden. Die natürlich besonders hohe Konzentration von Zeaxanthin in der Netzhautmitte (dem Ort des schärfsten Sehens) spricht für eine besonders wichtige Schutzfunktion beim Schutz der Sehfähigkeit. (zusammen mit Lutein) hilft es, das Sehvermögen bei trüben Lichtverhältnissen zu verbessern (together with Lutein) helps to improve visual performance at dim lighting conditions absorbiert blaues Licht und fängt reaktive Sauerstoffmoleküle im Auge (Linse, Netzhaut) ab und trägt so zum Erhalt einer gesunden Netzhaut bei Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-8214, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-24 · Cross-sectional survey
A total of 1200 respondents completed the survey... Only 276 (23%) of the participants had previously consumed kale, with 64.5% reporting favorable health outcomes, the most common of which was weight reduction, and only 17.8% reporting side effects, such as constipation and gastrointestinal irritation.
Nutrients, 2022 · checked 2026-09-29 - ckv-r2-25 · Case report
Despite its potential for high toxicity, thallium is understudied and not regulated in food... Limited information is available about low-dose or chronic exposures, particularly among children, although emerging evidence shows that there might be risks associated at lower levels than previously thought.
Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.