Coconut milk: the carton you pick matters more than the trials
The firmest number anywhere near coconut milk is about coconut oil. A meta-analysis of 16 trials found coconut oil raised LDL cholesterol by 10.47 mg/dL (95% CI 3.01 to 17.94) compared with non-tropical vegetable oils, and the trials disagreed with each other a lot. Coconut milk itself was not tested there. The only randomized trial of the milk used a powder, 30 g a day for 8 weeks in 190 healthy adults in Colombo. Mean LDL in the milk group went from 133.9 to 126.0 while the control stayed near 130, and the difference between groups over time was not significant. That trial was unblinded, and the milk group started with the highest LDL. What changes most is the product. Canned coconut milk has 197 calories and 21 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), most of it saturated, and a sweetened coconut milk drink has 31 calories and about 2 g.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coconut milk, raw | 230 | 2.29 g | 23.8 g | 5.54 g | 2.2 g |
| Beverages, coconut milk, sweetened, fortified with calcium, vitamins A, B12, D2 | 31 | 0.21 g | 2.08 g | 2.92 g | 0 g |
| Nuts, coconut milk, canned (liquid expressed from grated meat and water) | 197 | 2.02 g | 21.3 g | 2.81 g | — g |
| Nuts, coconut milk, frozen (liquid expressed from grated meat and water) | 202 | 1.61 g | 20.8 g | 5.58 g | — g |
These are the USDA entries that are coconut milk, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coconut milk | 31 | 0.21 g | 2.08 g | 2.92 g | 0 g |
| Coconut milk, used in cooking | 230 | 2.29 g | 23.8 g | 5.54 g | 2.2 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): coconut milk as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Canned coconut milk carries about 21 g of fat and 197 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g), most of it saturated, while a sweetened coconut milk beverage has about 2 g of fat and 31 calories. — USDA SR Legacy records for coconut milk: raw FDC 170172, canned FDC 170173, sweetened fortified beverage FDC 174116 Evidence E sourceRaw 23.84 g fat, 21.14 g saturated fat, 230 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g); canned 21.33 g fat, 18.915 g saturated, 197 calories; beverage 2.08 g fat, 2.083 g saturated, 31 calories, calcium 188 mg (fortified)
- UK retail coconut milk has 16.9 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g) and the reduced-fat kind 7.7 g, and the UK table's plain 'coconut milk' entry at 0.3 g fat is the thin liquid from inside the nut. — CoFID 2021 codes 14-889 (coconut milk, retail), 14-890 (reduced fat, retail), 14-820 (coconut milk) Evidence E sourceRetail 16.9 g fat, 14.64 g saturated, 169 calories; reduced fat 7.7 g fat, 6.35 g saturated, 79 calories; code 14-820 0.3 g fat, 4.9 g sugars, 22 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- US dietary records count a cup of coconut milk drink as 244 g, while coconut milk used in cooking is logged by the fluid ounce at 30 g. — FNDDS portion weights for Coconut milk (FNDDS 11370000, FDC 2705413) and Coconut milk, used in cooking (FNDDS 42401010, FDC 2707568) Evidence E source1 cup = 244 g; 1 fl oz = 30 g; cooking milk: quantity not specified = 30 g
- In rural Sri Lanka coconut milk supplied 12% of all reported energy in adults, second only to grains. — 1283 adults in rural agricultural districts of Sri Lanka, telephone 24-h recalls, 2020-2021 (n = 1283) Evidence C source12% of energy from coconut milk; grains 56%; mean intake 1922 calories a day
What your body absorbs
- Eaten with a carotenoid-rich salad, olive oil gave 55.2% more total carotenoid absorption than coconut oil in a crossover trial of 16 people. — 16 subjects eating an identical salad with 0.99 oz (28 g) of olive or coconut oil, emulsified or not, in random order (n = 16) Evidence B sourcePositive iAUC over 1-10 h of total carotenoids 55.2% higher with olive oil than coconut oil; emulsified fat 40.0% higher than non-emulsified
What cooking and storage change
- In Manila, households that boiled food in coconut milk had higher odds of breast cancer in women, OR 2.2 (95% CI 1.3 to 3.8). — 480 women evaluated at the Philippine General Hospital for a breast problem, 240 cases and 240 controls (n = 480) Evidence C sourceOR 2.2 (95% CI 1.3-3.8) for boiling food in coconut milk; OR 2.9 (1.6-5.5) for this method at age 12
- Simmering keeps the minerals in coconut milk dishes, while about 15 to 20% of thiamin, folate and vitamin C is lost by the USDA factors for boiled nut products. — USDA retention factors for the group Nut and Seed Products, the USDA group of coconut milk, boiled with drippings Evidence E sourceCalcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium 100% retained; thiamin 85%; folate 80%; vitamin C 80%
What it does to your health
- In an 8-week Sri Lankan trial, 30 g a day of coconut milk powder moved mean LDL from 133.9 to 126.0 while the control stayed near 130, but the group difference over time for LDL was not significant. — Healthy volunteers aged 25-60 in Colombo, randomized to coconut milk powder 30 g, desiccated coconut, coconut oil or control; final sample 190 (n = 190) Evidence B sourceCoconut milk arm LDL 133.9 at baseline to 126.0 at week 8; control 129.7 to 130.07; group by time interaction for LDL not significant
- In the same 8-week trial, HDL in the coconut milk powder arm rose from 41.6 to 44.6 against 41.6 to 43.5 in the control, a small gap in a significant group by time pattern. — Healthy volunteers aged 25-60 in Colombo, coconut milk powder 30 g a day for 8 weeks versus control; final sample 190 (n = 190) Evidence B sourceHDL +3.0 in coconut milk arm versus +1.9 in control over 8 weeks; group by time interaction significant across four arms
- A Sri Lankan rice porridge made with coconut milk measured a glycemic index of 31, which is in the low range. — Volunteers tested with traditional Sri Lankan porridges of rice, leaf extracts and coconut milk against a glucose control Evidence B sourceGI 31 ± 5 for coconut milk porridge; peak blood glucose reduced by 25% or more versus glucose
- A Thai case-control study linked eating coconut milk curry 1 to 3 times a week with higher odds of breast cancer, OR 5.23, in 61 cases and 183 controls. — 244 Thai women: 61 newly diagnosed breast cancer patients and 183 matched healthy controls (n = 244) Evidence C sourceOR 5.23 for curry 1-3 times a week, OR 5.6 for 4-6 times a week, OR 2.6 for coconut milk desserts 4-6 times a week (p < 0.01); no confidence intervals in abstract
- For coconut fat eaten as oil, a meta-analysis of 16 trials found LDL cholesterol 10.47 mg/dL higher than with non-tropical vegetable oils. — Clinical trials of at least 2 weeks comparing coconut oil with other fats, N=16 (n = 16 trials) Evidence A sourceLDL +10.47 mg/dL (95% CI 3.01 to 17.94); HDL +4.00 mg/dL (2.26 to 5.73)
Safety, limits and interactions
- In 1991 three cholera cases in Maryland were traced to frozen coconut milk imported from Asia, and the product was recalled. — 3 cases of cholera in Maryland, August 1991 (n = 3) Evidence D source3 cases, product recalled, no further cases
- FDA's January 2025 allergen guidance lists 12 tree nuts as major food allergens, and coconut is not on that list. — Food labels sold in the United States Evidence E sourceCoconut removed from the tree nuts that must be declared as a major allergen; it still appears in the ingredient list
What people believe that the data does not support
- In UK supermarkets, coconut milk drinks had less calcium, iodine, potassium and sugar than dairy milk, so the 'plant milk is healthier' idea does not hold nutrient for nutrient. — 99 dairy and non-dairy milks and cheeses from Alpro and 6 leading UK grocers, 2021 (n = 99) Evidence C sourceCoconut and soya milks lower in carbohydrates, sugars, calcium, iodine and potassium than dairy (p < 0.01)
Who this works differently for
- In 10 people with type 2 diabetes, rice cooked in coconut milk gave the same blood glucose area as plain rice, 238 in both cases. — 10 subjects with type 2 diabetes in Malaysia, portions with 25 g available carbohydrate, glucose measured for 180 min (n = 10) Evidence C sourceIncremental AUC 238 ± 39 for coconut milk rice versus 238 ± 35 for plain rice (mmol x min/l)
- In middle-aged Tanzanians, coconut milk intake was a determinant of blood pressure in women (p < 0.001), and not among the determinants named for men. — Men and women aged 47-57 from urban, rural and pastoral centers in Tanzania Evidence C sourceCoconut milk consumption a significant BP determinant in women (p < 0.001); no effect size in abstract
What is still unknown
- The only study that asked directly about coconut milk and breast cancer was 244 women, and its authors call for a larger study before any advice. — 244 Thai women in a case-control study (n = 244) Evidence C sourceNo prospective cohort or trial on coconut milk and cancer found in the corpus or web pass
The bottom line
Read the label for which kind you are holding. UK retail coconut milk has 16.9 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g) and the reduced-fat kind 7.7 g. US diet records log the drink by the cup, 244 g, and cooking milk by the fluid ounce, 30 g. In rural Sri Lanka, where it is a daily cooking base, coconut milk supplied 12% of the energy 1283 adults reported, second only to grains. On blood sugar the data are small. A rice porridge made with coconut milk measured a glycemic index of 31, and the abstract does not say how many people were tested. In 10 people with type 2 diabetes, rice cooked in coconut milk gave the same glucose response as plain rice, 238 against 238, after single meals. Fat helps you absorb carotenoids from vegetables, but in 16 people eating the same salad, olive oil gave 55.2% more carotenoid absorption than coconut oil. That trial used the oil and not the milk. By USDA group factors from 1975 for boiled nut products, simmering keeps the minerals and loses about 15 to 20% of thiamin, folate and vitamin C. Nobody measured this on coconut milk. Two case-control studies link coconut milk to breast cancer, and neither can show cause. In 244 Thai women, eating coconut milk curry 1 to 3 times a week went with odds of 5.23, and the abstract gives no confidence interval. In 480 women in Manila, boiling food in coconut milk went with odds of 2.2 (95% CI 1.3 to 3.8), with controls drawn from women with other breast problems. Both rely on recall, and the Thai authors themselves ask for a larger study before any advice. In middle-aged Tanzanian women coconut milk intake was tied to blood pressure (p < 0.001), with no size or direction given. Plant milk is often assumed to be the healthier swap. In 99 UK products checked in 2021, coconut milk drinks had less calcium, iodine and potassium than dairy milk, with fortified and unfortified drinks counted together, so a coconut drink is not a like-for-like swap for dairy milk. Who should take care. Since January 2025 the FDA no longer lists coconut among the tree nuts that count as major allergens, so it may not be flagged in the allergen box, and it still appears in the ingredient list. If you have a proven coconut allergy, read that list. In 1991 three people in Maryland got cholera from frozen coconut milk imported from Asia, and the product was recalled. That was frozen milk made without heat treatment, which is a different product from the can. We found no studies on coconut milk in pregnancy, in infants or in kidney disease.
Related foods
More from the same food group (nut and seed products)
- Coconut water: no better than water for a workout
- Flaxseed: grind it, bake it, expect a small effect
- Ginkgo nuts: the memory claim belongs to the leaf
- Coconut meat: a fatty flesh that raised LDL in a trial
- Coconut flour: one third fiber, and the GI depends on how much you use
- Chestnuts: the starchy nut with almost no fat
Sources
- cmk-r2-01 · food composition dataset
Nuts, coconut milk, raw (FDC 170172, SR Legacy): fat 23.84 g, saturated fat 21.14 g, energy 230 kcal per 100 g; Nuts, coconut milk, canned (FDC 170173): fat 21.33 g, saturated fat 18.915 g, energy 197 kcal; Beverages, coconut milk, sweetened, fortified (FDC 174116): fat 2.08 g, saturated fat 2.083 g, energy 31 kcal, calcium 188 mg
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 170172, 170173, 174116 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-02 · food composition dataset
Coconut milk, retail (14-889): Fat 16.9 g, Satd FA 14.64 g, Energy 169 kcal; Coconut milk, reduced fat, retail (14-890): Fat 7.7 g, Satd FA 6.35 g, Energy 79 kcal; Coconut milk (14-820): Fat 0.3 g, Total sugars 4.9 g, Energy 22 kcal
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, OGL v3.0, codes 14-820, 14-889, 14-890 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-03 · portion dataset
Coconut milk (FNDDS 11370000, fdc_id 2705413): 1 cup 244 g, 1 fl oz 30 g; Coconut milk, used in cooking (FNDDS 42401010, fdc_id 2707568): 1 fl oz 30 g, Quantity not specified 30 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, FDC 2705413 and 2707568 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-04 · cross-sectional dietary survey
The study sample included 1283 individuals, with repeated 24-h recalls from 769 participants (60 %) collected 3–10 d after the initial interview. ... Average daily reported energy intake was 1922 ± 836 kcal (Figure 2). More than half of energy came from grains, including baked goods and snacks (56 %). Coconut milk contributed 12 % of reported energy, followed by sweets and added sugars (6 %).
Public Health Nutr, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-14 · randomized crossover trial
Sixteen subjects consumed salad with 4 test fats in random order ... Similarly, the positive iAUC1-10h of TC, α-carotene, and lycopene were 55.2%, 110.8%, and 45.8%, respectively, higher with olive oil than with coconut oil. Emulsified fat induced 40.0% greater positive iAUC1-10h of TC than nonemulsified fat.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-10 · case-control study
All of the women completed a risk factor questionnaire prior to the determination of their case (n = 240) or control (n = 240) status. ... Boiling food in coconut milk was associated with a significantly increased risk of breast cancer (odds ratio (OR) = 2.2; 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.3-3.8).
Cancer Causes Control, 2006 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-18 · retention dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:2204 NUTS,BOILED,W/DRIPPINGS, group Nut and Seed Products: vitamin_c_mg 80% retained, folate_total_ug 80%, thiamin_mg 85%, riboflavin_mg 95%, calcium_mg 100%, iron_mg 100%, magnesium_mg 100%, phosphorus_mg 100%, potassium_mg 100%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Code 2204 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-05 · randomized controlled trial
The final sample consisted of 190 participants. ... The participants were randomly allocated to three dietary supplementation regimens: coconut milk powder 30 g, desiccated coconut 30 g and coconut oil 30 ml and to the control group. ... In the milk group, the mean LDL level fell from 133.9 ± 5.2 at baseline to 125.9 ± 4.2 in week 4 and rose from there to 126.0 ± 3.5 in week 8. In the control group, the mean LDL level fell from 129.7 ± 3.6 at baseline to 128.2 ± 3.4 in week 4 and rose from there to 130.07 ± 3.5 in week 8. There was no significant interaction effect of the type of treatment and time (Table 4).
Global Epidemiology, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-06 · randomized controlled trial
The final sample consisted of 190 participants. ... In the milk group, the mean HDL level rose from 41.6 ± 1.7 at baseline to 43.7 ± 1.5 in week 4 and further rose from there to 44.6 ± 1.5 in week 8. In the control group, the mean HDL level fell from 41.6 ± 1.3 at baseline to 41.2 ± 1.1 in week 4, and rose from there to 43.5 ± 1.1 in week 8. There was a significant interaction effect of the type of treatment and time (Table 4).
Global Epidemiology, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-07 · glycemic index trial
The GIs of coconut milk, Aerva lanata, Hemidesmus indicus, Scoparia dulcis, Asparagus racemosus, Cephalandra indica, Cardiospermum halicacabum, Murraya koenigii and Aegle marmelos were 31 ± 5, 32 ± 5, 40 ± 8, 39 ± 8, 37 ± 4, 49 ± 8, 46 ± 8, 44 ± 8 and 50 ± 8, respectively.
Int J Food Sci Nutr, 2013 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-09 · case-control study
A case-control study was conducted on 244 participants to study the association. The Case group includes 61 newly diagnosed breast cancer patients receiving < 6 months of therapies. The Control group includes 183 healthy people with matched characteristics. ... From the case-control study, either consuming 1-3 or 4-6 times/week of coconut-milk-containing curry or consuming 4-6 times/week of coconut milk-topped desserts are associated with increased risk of breast cancer (OR = 5.23, 5.6, and 2.6 respectively, p < 0.01).
Nutr Cancer, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-13 · meta-analysis
Coconut oil consumption significantly increased LDL-cholesterol by 10.47 mg/dL (95% CI: 3.01, 17.94; I2 = 84%, N=16) and HDL-cholesterol by 4.00 mg/dL (95% CI: 2.26, 5.73; I2 = 72%, N=16) as compared with nontropical vegetable oils.
Circulation, 2020 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-11 · outbreak report
During August 1991, three cases of cholera in Maryland were associated with the consumption of frozen coconut milk imported from Asia. Following an investigation, the product was recalled, and no other cases have been reported.
MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep, 1991 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-12 · regulatory guidance
the table below includes those tree nuts for which a robust body of scientific evidence supports their inclusion in the list of tree nuts that FDA considers to be major food allergens
FDA, Questions and Answers Regarding Food Allergens (Edition 5): Guidance for Industry, January 2025, C.7 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-15 · cross-sectional product survey
99 total products were extracted: 57 ND milks, 7 dairy milks, 10 dairy cheeses and 25 ND cheeses. ... Soya and coconut milks had lower values of carbohydrates, sugars, calcium, iodine, and potassium (p < 0.01) than dairy.
Nutr Health, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-08 · clinical feeding study
were measured in 10 subjects with type 2 diabetes. ... The mean ± SEM incremental area under the curve (AUC) after flatbread (345 ± 26 mmol × min/l) was significantly greater than after rice (238 ± 35) and lacy pancake (235 ± 31, p < 0.05), with noodles being intermediate (294 ± 35). The AUC after the flatbread with dhal curry (341 ± 49), coconut milk rice (238 ± 39) and fried noodle (272 ± 42) mixed meals were similar to those after the individual foods
Ann Nutr Metab, 2012 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-16 · cross-sectional study
The subjects, aged 47-57 years, were recruited randomly from administrative lists available from each centre. ... Important determinants for BP among men were BMI (p < 0.001), and salt intake (p < 0.05). Among women, TC (p < 0.05), age (p < 0.05), BMI (p < 0.001) and coconut milk consumption (p < 0.001) were important BP determinants.
S Afr Med J, 2003 · checked 2026-09-29 - cmk-r2-17 · case-control study
A larger scale study is warranted to confirm the findings and provide evidence for dietary recommendations.
Nutr Cancer, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.