Cobb salad: the egg and the oil are doing the work
In the trials behind this page it was the egg and the oil, not the greens, that decided how much of a vegetable salad reached the blood. In 16 healthy young men, adding three scrambled eggs to a raw mixed-vegetable salad raised total carotenoid absorption from 14.9 to 125.7 nmol/L over 10 hours (P < 0.0001). The same eggs lifted the salad's own alpha-tocopherol from 117 to 981 nmol/L (P < 0.05), in the same trial and the same 16 men, so that is a second nutrient rather than a second confirmation. The dressing does similar work. Across doses of 0, 2, 4, 0.28 and 1.1 oz (8 and 32 g) of soybean oil in 12 women, every carotenoid and fat-soluble vitamin measured was absorbed best at 32 g (P < 0.002). That top dose is more than two tablespoons of oil and was the top of the range that trial tested. In the USDA table 1.1 oz (32 g) of soybean oil carries about 283 calories, against about 98 calories in a 105 g cup of Cobb salad without dressing. Which fat it is counts too: in 16 subjects eating the same carotenoid-rich salad with four fats in random order, the 10-hour blood curve for total carotenoids was 55.2 percent higher with olive oil than with coconut oil, and for alpha-carotene 110.8 percent higher. All of this was single meals in small groups of healthy volunteers. The salads were plain vegetables with no bacon or blue cheese in them, and the measurements were carotenoid and vitamin curves in blood rather than anything about health.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cobb salad, no dressing | 93 | 11.3 g | 4.33 g | 2.65 g | 1.2 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): cobb salad as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Without dressing, a 105 g cup of Cobb salad in the US survey tables carries about 98 calories, 4.5 g of fat, 167 mg of sodium and 11.9 g of protein, so the dressing is left out of these numbers entirely. — USDA FNDDS Cobb salad, no dressing, food code 75148010, FDC 2709832 (n = 1 survey food) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: 93 calories, fat 4.33 g, saturated fat 1.046 g, sodium 159 mg, protein 11.32 g; 1 cup 105 g: 97.7 calories, fat 4.5 g, sodium 166.9 mg
- Soybean oil carries 884 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g) in the USDA table, so the 1.1 oz (32 g) of oil at the top of the tested dressing range adds about 283 calories, and one 13.6 g tablespoon about 120 calories. — USDA SR Legacy Oil, soybean, salad or cooking, FDC 171411 (n = 1 food) Evidence E source884 calories and 100 g fat per 3.5 oz (100 g); tablespoon 13.6 g, teaspoon 4.5 g; 32 g is about 283 calories by arithmetic
What a real portion looks like
- The only measured portion of a Cobb salad in the USDA tables is one cup at 105 g, and that record is the salad without dressing, which is where most of its fat and energy actually sit. — USDA FNDDS portion records for Cobb salad, no dressing, FNDDS code 75148010, FDC id 2709832, WWEIA category Vegetable dishes (n = 2 household measures) Evidence E source1 cup 105 g, quantity not specified 105 g
What your body absorbs
- Adding three scrambled eggs to a raw mixed-vegetable salad raised total carotenoid absorption more than eightfold, from 14.9 to 125.7 nmol/L over 10 hours, in 16 healthy young men. — Healthy young men (n = 16), same salad with 3 g canola oil plus no egg, 75 g egg or 150 g egg, randomized crossover (n = 16) Evidence B sourceTotal carotenoid AUC over 10 h in the triacylglycerol-rich lipoprotein fraction 125.7 ± 19.4 for 3 eggs against 44.8 ± 9.2 for 1.5 eggs and 14.9 ± 5.2 nmol/L for no egg (P < 0.0001)
- The same three eggs raised absorption of the salad's own vitamin E from 117 to 981 nmol/L over 10 hours, so the egg carries out the fat-soluble vitamins and not only the color pigments. — 16 healthy young men, mean age 24 years, same raw mixed-vegetable salad with 3 g canola oil plus no egg, 75 g or 150 g cooked egg, one week washout (n = 16) Evidence B sourceAlpha-tocopherol AUC over 10 h 981 ± 162 nmol/L with 150 g egg against 311 ± 162 with 75 g and 117 ± 162 without egg (P < 0.05), gamma-tocopherol 402 ± 54 against 72 ± 54
- Across doses of 0, 2, 4, 0.28 and 1.1 oz (8 and 32 g) of soybean oil in 12 women, absorption of every carotenoid and fat-soluble vitamin measured was highest at 1.1 oz (32 g) of oil (P < 0.002). — Women (n = 12), each eating five vegetable salads with dressings containing 0 to 1.1 oz (0 to 32 g) of soybean oil (n = 12) Evidence B sourceLinear rise in chylomicron AUC with oil dose for alpha-carotene, lycopene, phylloquinone and retinyl palmitate across the whole 0 to 32 g range, absorption highest at 32 g (P < 0.002)
- In 16 subjects eating an identical carotenoid-rich salad with each of four fats in random order, the 10-hour rise in total carotenoids was 55.2% higher with olive oil than with coconut oil, and 110.8% higher for alpha-carotene. The matched in vitro digestion of the same meals put bioaccessibility at 24.0% for olive oil against 14.9% for coconut oil. — Sixteen subjects eating an identical carotenoid-rich salad with each of four fats in random order, plus a matched in vitro digestion model (n = 16) Evidence B sourceIn vitro bioaccessibility 24.0% olive oil against 14.9% coconut oil and 23.5% emulsified against 15.4% nonemulsified; in the subjects, positive iAUC 1-10 h higher with olive oil than with coconut oil by 55.2% for total carotenoids, 110.8% for alpha-carotene and 45.8% for lycopene
What cooking and storage change
- Washing helps least exactly where salad needs it most, since sanitizers cut pathogens on lettuce by only 0.68 log against 3.04 log on carrots across more than 1000 measurements. — 40 primary studies selected from 55, giving more than 1000 measurements of mean log reduction for Salmonella, Escherichia coli O157:H7 and Listeria monocytogenes on fresh produce (n = 40 studies, over 1000 data points) Evidence D sourceMean log reduction 0.68 (0.00 to 1.37) in lettuce against 3.04 (2.32 to 3.76) in carrots, with time and temperature both significant (P < 0.0001)
Safety, limits and interactions
- Across 100 studies, Listeria monocytogenes was found in 2.9% of deli meat samples (95% CI 2.3 to 3.6), 2.4% of soft cheese (1.6 to 3.6) and 2.0% of packaged salad (1.2 to 3.1). These are food categories rather than Cobb salad itself. — 100 studies of Listeria monocytogenes prevalence in deli meat, soft cheese and packaged salad, each with at least 100 samples (n = 100 studies) Evidence C sourcePrevalence 2.9% (95% CI 2.3 to 3.6) in deli meat, 2.4% (1.6 to 3.6) in soft cheese, 2.0% (1.2 to 3.1) in packaged salad, with high heterogeneity in all groups
- Across 31 African studies of ready-to-eat vegetable salads, Escherichia coli was recovered from 40% of samples (95% CI 20 to 64) and Salmonella from 32%, which describes handling and water rather than salad as a food. — 31 African studies reporting bacterial isolation from ready-to-eat vegetable salads, searched to 25 September 2025 (n = 31 studies) Evidence C sourceEscherichia coli 40% (95% CI 20 to 64), Salmonella spp. 32% (16 to 54), Bacillus cereus 28% (14 to 48), Staphylococcus spp. 26% (13 to 47)
Who this works differently for
- CDC says about 1 in 25,000 pregnant women in the US get Listeria each year and 1 in 4 of them lose the pregnancy or the baby shortly after birth. More than half of infections occur in people 65 and older, 1 in 6 of whom die, and people with a weakened immune system make up 75% of cases. — pregnant women, adults 65 years and older and people with a weakened immune system in the United States Evidence E sourceAbout 1 in 25,000 pregnant women infected each year; 1 in 4 of them lose the pregnancy or the baby shortly after birth; over half of infections in people 65 and older, 1 in 6 of whom die; 75% of cases in people with a weakened immune system
- CDC advises pregnant women, people 65 and older and people with a weakened immune system to avoid premade deli salads, unheated deli meat and cold cuts and unheated queso fresco-type cheeses, and lists homemade deli salads as the safer choice. — women who are pregnant, newborns, people 65 years or older and people with a weakened immune system Evidence E sourceAvoid premade deli salads, unheated deli meat and cold cuts, unheated queso fresco-type cheeses; choose homemade deli salads
- An umbrella review of nine systematic reviews spanning 330 studies found that listeriosis in pregnancy can lead to miscarriage, preterm birth, stillbirth and newborn infection, and that 66% of infections occurred in the third trimester against 3% in the first. — pregnant women and newborns up to 4 weeks after birth (n = 9 systematic reviews, 330 studies) Evidence C source66% of infections in the third trimester vs 3% in the first; outcomes include miscarriage, preterm birth, stillbirth and congenital neonatal infection; no pooled risk estimate
What is still unknown
- Inside one controlled trial the oil effect varied widely and some of the 12 women gained almost nothing from extra oil, so no single dressing amount can be promised to work for a given person. — Women (n = 12) each eating five vegetable salads with dressings from 0 to 1.1 oz (0 to 32 g) of soybean oil, individual-specific dose-response models fitted (n = 12) Evidence B sourceWide interindividual variation in the oil effect, with a negligible response in some individuals despite a clear group-average dose-response
The bottom line
What this page cannot tell you is still large. The only composition record is the US survey entry for Cobb salad without dressing. A 105 g cup carries about 98 calories, 4.5 g of fat, 167 mg of sodium and 11.9 g of protein, and the dressing, where much of a dressed bowl's fat and energy sit, is left out entirely. We found no trial and no cohort on eating Cobb salads and any health outcome, and no common belief about it that the evidence contradicts. Who should be careful. Packaged salad, soft cheese and deli meat all reach the plate without cooking, and a bowl like this can draw on all three. Listeria monocytogenes was found in 2.9 percent of deli meat samples (95% CI 2.3 to 3.6), 2.4 percent of soft cheese (1.6 to 3.6) and 2.0 percent of packaged salad (1.2 to 3.1), pooled across 100 studies. Those are rates of finding the organism in food rather than rates of illness. Heterogeneity between the studies was high, and the authors say plainly that global summary figures like these should not be used for risk assessment. For some people Listeria is serious. CDC says about 1 in 25,000 pregnant women in the US get it each year and 1 in 4 of them lose the pregnancy or the baby shortly after birth. More than half of infections occur in people 65 and older, 1 in 6 of whom die, and people with a weakened immune system make up 75 percent of cases. An umbrella review of nine systematic reviews found that 66 percent of infections in pregnancy occurred in the third trimester against 3 percent in the first. CDC advises these groups to avoid premade deli salads, unheated deli meat and cold cuts and unheated queso fresco-type cheeses, and lists homemade deli salads as the safer choice. CDC does not name Cobb salad. A store-bought bowl with cold chicken or deli meat sits close to those premade salads, and one made fresh at home matches the safer column. Washing does least where a salad needs most. Across more than 1000 measurements in 40 studies, sanitizers cut Salmonella, Escherichia coli O157:H7 and Listeria on lettuce by 0.68 log (0.00 to 1.37) against 3.04 log on carrots (2.32 to 3.76), and those were industrial sanitizers rather than tap water at home. In 31 African studies of ready-to-eat vegetable salads, Escherichia coli was recovered from 40 percent of samples (95% CI 20 to 64) and Salmonella from 32 percent (16 to 54). Those intervals are very wide and that geography is specific, so the figures describe handling and water in those settings. One limit on the dressing advice. Inside the same 12-woman trial, the oil effect varied widely between individuals and some of them showed a negligible response, so a group average promises no number for your own plate. Twelve people is also too few to describe that variability, and what it depends on is unknown. The trial on fats put carotenoid bioaccessibility at 24.0 percent for olive oil against 14.9 percent for coconut oil, and 23.5 against 15.4 percent for emulsified against plain oil. Those come from the laboratory digestion of the same meals rather than from the people in it. What the people showed is the 55.2 percent higher 10-hour carotenoid curve quoted above.
More from the same food group (vegetable dishes)
- Greek salad: the dressing is the part with the evidence
- Palak paneer: the paneer carries the calcium, the spinach carries little
- Ratatouille: the oil and the salt are your choice
- Vegetable curry with rice: the spices reach your blood, the salt varies wildly
- Vegetable curry: spices blunt the sugar spike, the cook sets the salt
- Spinach salad: the dressing decides how much you absorb
Sources
- hf2-cobb-4 · food composition dataset
Cobb salad, no dressing, FNDDS code 75148010, fdc_id 2709832, per 100 g: Energy 93 kcal; Total lipid (fat) 4.33 g; Fatty acids, total saturated 1.046 g; Sodium, Na 159 mg; Protein 11.32 g; 1 cup 105 g: Energy 97.7 kcal; Total lipid (fat) 4.5 g; Sodium, Na 166.9 mg; Protein 11.9 g
USDA FNDDS, food code 75148010, FDC 2709832 · checked 2026-10-08 - hf2-cobb-5 · food composition dataset
Oil, soybean, salad or cooking (FDC 171411, sr_legacy): Energy 884 kcal; Total lipid (fat) 100 g per 100 g | tbsp 13.6 g | tsp 4.5 g | cup 218 g
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 171411 · checked 2026-10-08 - cobb-daily-r3-09 · food portion dataset
Cobb salad, no dressing (FNDDS 75148010, FDC 2709832, WWEIA Vegetable dishes) | 1 cup 105 g | Quantity not specified 105 g
USDA FNDDS, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-01 · randomized controlled crossover trial
Healthy young men (n = 16) consumed the same salad (all served with 3 g canola oil) with no egg (control), 75 g scrambled whole eggs (1.5 eggs) [low egg (LE)], and 150 g scrambled whole eggs (3 eggs) [high egg (HE)] (a randomized crossover design)...The total mean (±SE) carotenoid AUC0-10h in TRL was higher for the HE meal than for LE and control meals [125.7 ± 19.4(a) compared with 44.8 ± 9.2(b) compared with 14.9 ± 5.2(b) nmol/L · 10 h, respectively (values without a common superscript letter differ); P < 0.0001].
Am J Clin Nutr, 2015 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-02 · randomized controlled crossover trial
The α-tocopherol 0- to 10-h AUCs (AUCs0-10 h) in TRLs was higher (P < 0.05) for the HE trial (least-squares mean ± SE: 981 ± 162 nmol/L ⋅ 10 h) than for the LE (311 ± 162 nmol/L ⋅ 10 h) and CON (117 ± 162 nmol/L ⋅10 h) trials, which did not differ from one another.
J Nutr, 2016 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-03 · randomized controlled dose-response trial
Women (n = 12) each consumed 5 vegetable salads with salad dressings containing 0, 2, 4, 8, or 32 g soybean oil...Absorption of all carotenoids and fat-soluble vitamins was highest with 32 g oil (P < 0.002).
Am J Clin Nutr, 2017 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-04 · randomized controlled crossover trial
The bioaccessibility of TC was greater with olive oil (24.0%) than with coconut oil (14.9%), and with the oil being emulsified (23.5%) rather than that being nonemulsified (15.4%). Similarly, the positive iAUC1-10h of TC, α-carotene, and lycopene were 55.2%, 110.8%, and 45.8%, respectively, higher with olive oil than with coconut oil.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-07 · meta-analysis of in vitro food microbiology experiments
In general, sanitizer treatments led to lower mean log reductions when applied to leafy greens (for example, 0.68 log reductions [0.00 to 1.37] achieved in lettuce) compared to other, nonleafy vegetables (for example, 3.04 mean log reductions [2.32 to 3.76] obtained for carrots).
Appl Environ Microbiol, 2015 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-05 · meta-analysis of prevalence studies
We included in the review 100 studies with a sample size restriction of ≥100, and we estimated L. monocytogenes prevalence in deli meat at 2.9% (95% confidence interval [CI], 2.3 to 3.6%), in soft cheese at 2.4% (95% CI, 1.6 to 3.6%), and in packaged salad at 2.0% (95% CI, 1.2 to 3.1%)...The high heterogeneity between studies indicates that use of global summary prevalence estimates for risk assessments are not advisable
J Food Prot, 2019 · checked 2026-09-24 - cobb-daily-r3-06 · meta-analysis of prevalence studies
Thirty-one (n = 31) studies were included...Escherichia coli (40%; 95% CI: 20-64%) and Salmonella spp. (32%; 95% CI: 16-54%) were the most frequently reported organisms.
Front Microbiol, 2026 · checked 2026-09-24 - hf2-cobb-1 · agency advice
Every year in the United States, about 1 in 25,000 pregnant women are infected with Listeria. ... Sadly, 1 in 4 pregnant women who get this illness lose their pregnancy or their baby shortly after birth. ... More than half of all Listeria infections occur among people 65 years and older. ... Sadly, 1 in 6 older adults with this infection die. ... People with a weakened immune system make up 75% of all people with Listeria infection.
US CDC, Listeria Infection: People at Increased Risk (last reviewed 2025-09-24) · checked 2026-10-08 - hf2-cobb-2 · agency advice
If you are in any of these groups, choose safer foods to protect your health or your pregnancy. ... Premade deli salads, such as coleslaw and potato, tuna, or chicken salad ... Unheated deli meat, cold cuts, hot dogs, and fermented or dry sausages ... Any unheated queso fresco-type cheeses ... Homemade deli salads
US CDC, Preventing Listeria Infection (last reviewed 2025-01-16) · checked 2026-10-08 - hf2-cobb-3 · umbrella review
Compared with the general population, the risk of being diagnosed with listeriosis increases during pregnancy. Listeriosis can lead to miscarriage, spontaneous preterm labour and preterm birth, stillbirth and congenital neonatal infections. ... We identified 397 citations of which nine systematic reviews comprising 330 studies and 487 patients' reviews were included. ... Prevention in pregnant women was based on adherence to strict dietary recommendations, such as reheating leftovers until steamed and avoiding unpasteurised dairy products. Listeriosis infections were likely to occur in the third trimester (66%) rather than in the first trimester (3%) of pregnancy.
BJOG, 2022 · checked 2026-10-08 - cobb-daily-r3-08 · randomized controlled dose-response trial
However, the effect varied widely, and some individuals showed a negligible response.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2017 · checked 2026-09-24
Review. Reviewed on 2026-10-08 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.