Chickpeas: fewer calories than the label, and more filling
Two findings about chickpeas are unusually solid for a single food. The first is that the calorie count overstates them. When 18 adults ate chickpeas as part of a controlled diet and the energy was measured rather than calculated, an 85.5 g serving came to 123 kcal, which is 10.4 percent below the standard Atwater figure, because not all of it is absorbed. The second is fullness. Nine acute feeding trials of beans, peas, chickpeas and lentils found a 31 percent greater satiety response, with no heterogeneity between trials at all, and no drop in how much people ate at the next meal. Feeling fuller and eating less later turn out to be different things. Blood sugar is the weakest of the three claims. A subset of 12 studies in 182 mostly healthy adults found chickpeas raising blood glucose less than potatoes or wheat. The review gives no number for how much less, and the word healthy is the one that matters, because it means none of this can be read as a treatment for diabetes.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 100 g
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chickpeas, mature seeds, canned, solids and liquids | 88 | 4.92 g | 13.5 g | 4.4 g |
| Chickpeas, mature seeds, cooked, boiled | 164 | 8.86 g | 27.4 g | 7.6 g |
| Chickpeas, mature seeds, raw | 378 | 20.5 g | 63 g | 12.2 g |
| Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), canned, sodium added, drained and rinsed | 133 | 7.02 g | 20.3 g | — g |
| Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, canned, drained solids | 139 | 7.05 g | 22.5 g | 6.4 g |
| Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, canned, drained, rinsed in tap water | 138 | 7.04 g | 22.9 g | 6.3 g |
| Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, canned, solids and liquids | 88 | 4.92 g | 13.5 g | 4.4 g |
| Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, with salt | 164 | 8.86 g | 27.4 g | 7.6 g |
| Chickpeas, (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), dry | 372 | 21.3 g | 60.4 g | — g |
These are the USDA entries that are chickpeas, not foods made from it. Follow a name for the full profile and per-portion figures.
How much is actually in it
- Britain and America measure a dried chickpea and land on the same protein figure to within a tenth of a percent. — 9 USDA records with 8 Foundation Foods samples (FDC 2644282) against CoFID Beans, chick peas, Kabuli, whole, dried, raw (code 13-074) (n = 8 samples) Evidence E sourceProtein 21.275 g per 100 g in USDA against 21.3 in CoFID, a gap of about a tenth of one percent, with USDA Foundation samples running 6.312 to 22.812; magnesium 134.8 mg against 130, a 4% gap, samples 22.6 to 150; copper 0.804 mg against 0.95, a 15% gap, samples 0.185 to 0.891; CoFID also gives 320 kcal per 100 g
What a real portion looks like
- A cup of cooked chickpeas holds about fifteen grams of protein, and rather fewer calories than the label implies. — one FNDDS food with three household measures (n = fdc_id 2707414) Evidence E sourceProtein 8.23 g per 100 g of cooked chickpeas; 1 cup = 185 g = 15.2 g protein, which is 30% of the 50 g Daily Value; 1 pea = 2 g = 0.2 g; quantity not specified = 92 g = 7.6 g. The 85.5 g serving used in the metabolizable energy trial is roughly half a cup
What your body absorbs
- Chickpeas deliver about a tenth fewer calories than the standard calculation says, because not all of them are absorbed. — 18 adults, men and women, fed chickpeas and lentils as part of a controlled diet (n = 18) Evidence B sourceThe metabolizable energy of chickpeas was 515 ± 17 kJ per serving (123 ± 4 kcal, serving mass 85.5 g), which is 10.4% lower than Atwater General Factors (p = 0.002) and 8.0% lower than Atwater Specific Factors (p = 0.02); for lentils it was 498 ± 17 kJ per serving (119 ± 4 kcal, serving mass 98.5 g), 16.0% and 13.6% lower respectively
What cooking and storage change
- Boiling and draining chickpeas costs them about a third of their magnesium, and keeping the water saves some of it. — group 16, Legumes; 19 method rows carry a magnesium factor (n = 19 method rows) Evidence E sourceLegumes cooked 2 to 2.5 hours then boiled and drained retain 70% of magnesium, whether afterwards baked or fried; the same cooking with the water used retains 75%, as does boiled then baked
What it does to your health
- Pulses make a meal feel about a third more filling and do not reduce how much people eat at the next one. — 9 trials of beans, peas, chickpeas and lentils measuring postprandial satiety or second meal intake (n = 9 trials) Evidence A sourcePulses produced a 31% greater satiety incremental area under the curve (ratio of means 1.31, 95% CI 1.09 to 1.58, P = 0.004) with no heterogeneity at all (I2 0%), while second meal food intake did not change (mean difference -19.94 kcal, 95% CI -75 to 35, P = 0.48) with substantial heterogeneity (I2 63%)
What people believe that the data does not support
- No regulator anywhere has approved a single claim about chickpeas, despite trial evidence on blood sugar. — food labelling in the United States and the European Union (n = 0 entries in each register) Evidence E source21 CFR contains no mention of chickpeas in any claim section, and the EU Register contains no entry mentioning chickpeas, neither authorised nor non-authorised, out of 2330 claims
Who this works differently for
- Chickpeas raised blood sugar less than potato or wheat did in 182 mostly healthy adults, and the review reports no number for how much less. — 12 studies selected from 118 identified articles, involving 182 participants, mostly healthy or normoglycaemic adults in Anglo-American countries, with chickpeas compared against wheat, potatoes, pasta, sauce, cheese, rice and corn (n = 182) Evidence A sourceIn the pooled subset, chickpeas reduced blood glucose incremental area under the curve more than potatoes and wheat; the authors attribute this to low starch digestibility, high fibre, protein and hormonal effects, and note that insulin benefits appear but statistical significance varies
The bottom line
Keep the cooking water where the recipe allows it. In the USDA retention table, legumes cooked two to two and a half hours and then boiled and drained keep 70 percent of their magnesium, and the same cooking with the water used keeps 75 percent. A cup of cooked chickpeas, 185 g, gives 15.2 g of protein, which is 30 percent of the 50 g Daily Value, and the 85.5 g serving from the calorie trial is roughly half that cup. The composition figure is one you can lean on. British and American food tables measured dried chickpeas independently and landed on 21.3 and 21.275 g of protein per 100 g, a gap of about a tenth of one percent. The spread inside one country is far wider than the gap between the two. The eight American samples behind that average ran from 6.3 to 22.8 g of protein, so treat the table as an average rather than a promise about the tin in your hand. One thing worth saying plainly. No regulator has approved a single health claim about chickpeas. The United States food code does not mention them in any claim section, and the European register holds no chickpea entry at all among its 2,330 claims, authorised or refused. That is not evidence against chickpeas. It means nobody has put the question.
Sources
- chk-p1-04 · reference dataset comparison
USDA Chickpeas, (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), dry [FDC 2644282, foundation] білок 21.275 г, зразки Foundation 6.312–22.812; магній 134.8 мг, зразки 22.6–150 n=8; мідь 0.804 мг, зразки 0.185–0.891 n=8 || CoFID Beans, chick peas, Kabuli, whole, dried, raw [13-074] Protein (g) 21.3 · Magnesium (mg) 130 · Copper (mg) 0.95 · Energy (kcal) 320
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods (FDC 2644282) and CoFID 2021, Public Health England / OGL v3.0 (code 13-074) · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-05 · reference dataset
Chickpeas, NFS · Protein 8.23 G на 100 г [fdc_id 2707414] · 1 cup 185 г 15.2 G · 1 pea 2 г 0.2 G · Quantity not specified 92 г 7.6 G
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, Chickpeas, NFS (fdc_id 2707414) · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-01 · randomised controlled crossover feeding trial
The metabolizable energy (ME) of the chickpeas is 515 ± 17 kJ/serving (123 ± 4 kcal/serving) (serving mass = 85.5 g), which is 10.4% lower (p = 0.002) and 8.0% lower (p = 0.02) than the ME calculated using Atwater General or Specific Factors, respectively.
Nutrients, 2025 · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-06 · reference dataset
magnesium_mg · група 16 Legumes · 541 LEGUMES,CKD 2/2.5HRS,BOILED,DRAINED — 70% · 543 LEGUMES,CKD 2/2.5HRS,BLD,DRND,BKD — 70% · 545 LEGUMES,CKD 2/2.5HRS,BLD,DRND,FRIED — 70% · 542 LEGUMES,CKD 2/2.5HRS,BLD,WATER USED — 75% · 544 LEGUMES,CKD 2/2.5HRS,BOILED+BAKED — 75%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6 (2007) · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-02 · systematic review and meta-analysis of acute feeding trials
Dietary pulses produced a 31% greater satiety incremental area under the curve (IAUC) (RoM = 1.31, 95% CI: 1.09 to 1.58, P = 0.004; Phet = 0.96; I(2) = 0%) without affecting second meal intake (MD = -19.94, 95% CI: -75-35, P = 0.48; Phet = 0.01; I(2) = 63%).
Obesity, 2014 · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-07 · registry search
[7] FDA (США, 21 CFR): ЖОДНОЇ ЗГАДКИ «chickpeas» || [7] ЄС (EU Register, знімок 2026-09-21): ЖОДНОЇ ЗАЯВИ про «chickpeas» — ні дозволеної, ні відхиленої.
21 CFR part 101 (eCFR) and EU Register on nutrition and health claims, знімок 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-22 - chk-p1-03 · systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials
A meta-analysis involving a subset of studies demonstrated that chickpeas were more effective in reducing blood glucose iAUC compared to potatoes and wheat.
Nutrients, 2023 · checked 2026-09-22
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-22 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.
Related on Bioma
Pages that use this data.