Chickpeas and edamame: pulses lower LDL, edamame has barely been tested
Chickpeas sit inside some of the best-tested evidence in nutrition, and edamame sits almost outside it. A 2026 meta-analysis of 38 trials with 2,095 adults found that about 4.6 oz (130 g) of whole pulses a day lowered LDL cholesterol by 5.4 mg/dL (95% CI -7.3 to -3.1; metric: 0.14 mmol/L, -0.19 to -0.08) over a median 6 weeks. The authors say chickpea-specific trials are still needed, and edamame is a soybean, which that analysis does not count as a pulse. A meta-analysis of 21 trials with 940 people found 0.75 lb (0.34 kg) more weight loss (95% CI -0.63 to -0.04) on about one serving of pulses a day over a median 6 weeks, a small effect from short trials. For edamame the only human study we found is cross-sectional. Among 258 Chinese adults at risk of metabolic syndrome, eating more of it went with lower fasting glucose, and the abstract gives no size for that link.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for chickpeas | edamame itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Per 100 g as eaten, USDA measures edamame at about twice the iron of canned chickpeas (2.33 vs 1.04 mg) with similar fiber (6.2 vs 5.9 g). — USDA Foundation Foods: Edamame, frozen, prepared (4 samples); Chickpeas, canned (8 samples) (n = 12 samples) Evidence E sourceIron 2.33 (1.92-2.85) vs 1.04 (0.80-1.4) mg; fiber 6.23 (5.55-6.97) vs 5.93 (4.9-6.7) g; canned chickpea protein 7.0 g (6.3-8.1); edamame folate 185 ug (127-255)
What a real portion looks like
- In an Israeli national survey, only 31% of adults ate legumes on the recall day, and chickpeas made up 67% of those legume eaters' choices. — 2,808 adults aged 18 to 64, Israeli Health and Nutrition Survey 2014-2016, single 24 h recall (n = 2808) Evidence C source31.1% legume consumers; median 40.8 g/day among consumers; chickpeas 67.0%
- US survey portions are close for the two: an unspecified serving is 3.2 oz (90 g) of chickpeas and 2.8 oz (80 g) of edamame, and a cup is 180 g versus 160 g. — FNDDS foods Chickpeas, from dried, no added fat (41302020) and Edamame, cooked (41420020) Evidence E sourceChickpeas 1 cup 180 g, not specified 90 g; edamame 1 cup 160 g, not specified 80 g
What your body absorbs
- In a controlled feeding RCT of 18 adults, the body absorbed 10.4% fewer calories from chickpeas than standard Atwater factors predict: 123 calories per 85.5 g serving. — 18 healthy adults (12 women, 6 men), crossover, 10-day adaptation and 7-day collections (n = 18) Evidence B sourceMetabolizable energy 515 ± 17 kJ (123 ± 4 calories) per 85.5 g serving, 10.4% below Atwater general factors (p = 0.002)
What cooking and storage change
- Whole, pureed or pasta-form chickpeas all gave lower blood glucose responses than mashed potato in 13 adults, so mechanical processing did not remove the benefit. — 13 normoglycemic adults, 4 test meals matched for available carbohydrate (n = 13) Evidence B sourceGlycemic responses similar between chickpea forms and lower than mashed potato (p < 0.001)
- Hummus made from intact chickpea cells produced lower insulin and GIP responses than hummus from ruptured cells in a crossover RCT of 15 adults given 27 g starch. — 15 healthy participants, 27 g starch as hummus (n = 15) Evidence B sourceInsulin (P < 0.02) and GIP (P < 0.03) lower after intact-cell hummus
- By the USDA retention table for legumes boiled 15 to 20 minutes and drained, about 40% of folate and 35% of thiamin are lost, while iron keeps 85%. — USDA retention factors for Legumes and Legume Products, Retn_Code 501 Evidence E sourceFolate 60% retained, thiamin 65%, vitamin B6 70%, potassium 75%, iron 85%, zinc 85%
What it does to your health
- A 2026 meta-analysis of 38 trials with 2,095 people found that about 4.6 oz (130 g) of whole pulses a day, chickpeas among them, lowered LDL cholesterol by 5.4 mg/dL (0.14 mmol/L) over a median 6 weeks. — Adults in 38 randomized trials (52 comparisons) of at least 3 weeks, median dose 130 g/d (n = 2095) Evidence A sourceLDL-C -5.4 mg/dL (95% CI -7.3 to -3.1; metric: -0.14 mmol/L, -0.19 to -0.08); non-HDL-C -8.5 mg/dL (-0.22 mmol/L); similar across pulse types
- A meta-analysis of 21 RCTs with 940 people found that about one serving of pulses a day led to 0.75 lb (0.34 kg) more weight loss over a median 6 weeks. — 940 participants in 21 randomized trials of at least 3 weeks, median intake 132 g/d (n = 940) Evidence A sourceBody weight -0.75 lb (95% CI -1.4 to -0.09; metric: -0.34 kg, -0.63 to -0.04)
- Across 9 acute feeding trials, meals with pulses such as chickpeas gave 31% more satiety than calorie-matched controls, but people did not eat less at the next meal. — Participants of 9 acute controlled feeding trials (n = 9 trials) Evidence A sourceSatiety iAUC ratio of means 1.31 (95% CI 1.09 to 1.58); second meal intake MD -19.94 (95% CI -75 to 35), not significant
- In 258 Chinese adults at risk of metabolic syndrome, higher edamame intake went with lower fasting glucose, observational data only. — 258 adults with or at risk of metabolic syndrome, cross-sectional (n = 258) Evidence C sourceEdamame and mung bean intakes associated with lower fasting plasma glucose
Safety, limits and interactions
- Chickpea is a non-priority legume allergen that can cause severe reactions, and a scoping review of 47 studies found none on its labeling. — 47 studies on chickpea, pea, lentil and lupine allergy in adults and children (n = 47 studies) Evidence C sourceNo study on labeling or education needs for these allergens
- Edamame is soybean, one of the nine major food allergens under US law, so it must be declared on labels. Chickpeas are not on that list. — US food labeling law (FALCPA 2004, FASTER Act 2021) Evidence E sourceSoybeans listed among 9 major food allergens
Who this works differently for
- In a meta-analysis of 41 trials in people with and without diabetes, pulses eaten alone lowered fasting blood glucose by a standardized 0.82. — People with and without diabetes in 41 randomized trials of at least 7 days (n = 41 trials) Evidence A sourcePulses alone: fasting glucose SMD -0.82 (95% CI -1.36 to -0.27), insulin SMD -0.49; in low-GI diets HbA1c or fructosamine SMD -0.28
What is still unknown
- The UK table lists boiled edamame at only 15 mcg folate per 3.5 oz (100 g), against 185 mcg in USDA samples, a gap we could not resolve. — CoFID 2021 food Beans, edamame, frozen, boiled in unsalted water (13-667) (n = 1 record) Evidence E sourceProtein 12.2 g, fat 7.6 g, AOAC fiber 5.9 g, iron 2.73 mg, folate 15 ug, 142 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g)
The bottom line
Across 41 trials in people with and without diabetes, pulses eaten alone lowered fasting glucose by a standardized 0.82 (95% CI -1.36 to -0.27), with high heterogeneity the authors could not explain. In 9 short feeding trials, pulse meals gave 31 percent more satiety than matched controls, and people did not eat significantly less at the next meal. Chickpeas give you fewer calories than the label math predicts. In a feeding trial of 18 adults, an 3 oz (85.5 g) serving delivered 123 calories, 10.4 percent below the standard Atwater estimate. Form matters less than you might expect. In 13 adults, whole, pureed and pasta-form chickpeas all gave lower glucose responses than mashed potato. In 15 adults, specially prepared hummus from intact chickpea cells produced lower insulin than hummus from broken cells, which says little about store-bought hummus. Per 100 g as eaten, USDA measured 2.33 mg iron in frozen prepared edamame against 1.04 mg in canned chickpeas, with fiber close at 6.2 and 5.9 g. USDA samples put edamame folate at 185 mcg per 3.5 oz (100 g), and the UK table gives 15 mcg for boiled edamame, a gap that remains unresolved. The USDA retention table for legumes boiled 15 to 20 minutes keeps 60 percent of folate and 85 percent of iron, a 1975 group factor that was not measured on chickpeas. A US survey serving is 3.2 oz (90 g) of chickpeas or 2.8 oz (80 g) of edamame. Allergy is the caution for both. Edamame is soybean, one of the nine major allergens that US law requires on labels. Chickpea is not on that list, yet a scoping review of 47 studies describes chickpea among legumes frequently implicated in severe reactions and found no study on how to label it. We have no card on pregnancy or medicines for either food.
Each food on its own
- Chickpeas: fewer calories than the label, and more filling — everything on this food
- Edamame: the pods are the food, the trials are about soy — everything on this food
Questions answered from the trials
Sources
- cke-r7-12 · USDA FoodData Central Foundation, dataset
Edamame, frozen, prepared: Iron, Fe 2.33 MG range 1.92-2.85, samples 4; Fiber, total dietary 6.233 G range 5.55-6.97, samples 4; Folate, total 185.3 UG range 126.6-255.0, samples 4. Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), canned: Iron, Fe 1.042 MG range 0.804-1.4, samples 8; Total dietary fiber 5.925 G range 4.9-6.7, samples 8; Protein 7.01875 G range 6.3125-8.0625
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-09 · Cross-sectional
Legumes were consumed by 31.1% of respondents. Median (interquartile range) daily legume intake among consumers was 40.8g (20.4-74.0), equivalent to ~ 0.25 cup per day. Chickpeas were most commonly consumed (67.0%), followed by lentils (14.5%) and dry beans (12.2%).
Eur J Nutr, 2026 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-15 · FNDDS, dataset
Chickpeas, from dried, no added fat, FNDDS 41302020: 1 cup = 180 g; Quantity not specified = 90 g. Edamame, cooked, FNDDS 41420020: 1 cup = 160 g; Quantity not specified = 80 g
USDA FNDDS, codes 41302020 and 41420020 (FDC 2707416, 2707436) · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-05 · RCT
The metabolizable energy (ME) of the chickpeas is 515 ± 17 kJ/serving (123 ± 4 kcal/serving) (serving mass = 85.5 g), which is 10.4% lower (p = 0.002) and 8.0% lower (p = 0.02) than the ME calculated using Atwater General or Specific Factors, respectively.
Nutrients, 2025 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-06 · RCT
Postprandial glycaemic responses were comparable between chickpea treatments albeit significantly lower than the control (p < 0.001).
Food Funct, 2022 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-07 · RCT
Blood insulin and GIP concentrations were significantly lower (P < 0.02, P < 0.03) after the consumption of the ICC meal than the meal containing RCC.
Food Res Int, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-14 · USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:501 LEGUMES,CKD 15/20MIN,BOILED,DRAINED, group Legumes and Legume Products: folate_total_ug 60% retained, vitamin_c_mg 65%, thiamin_mg 65%, vitamin_b6_mg 70%, potassium_mg 75%, iron_mg 85%, zinc_mg 85%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Code 501 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-01 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Thirty-eight trials (52 trial comparisons, n=2095) with a median of 6 weeks and dose of 130 g/d (0.5-0.67 cup/d) showed that whole dietary pulses decreased low-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (mean difference, -0.14 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.19 to -0.08]), non-high-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (-0.22 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.30 to -0.14]), apoB (apolipoprotein B) (-0.08 g/L [95% CI, -0.13 to -0.03]) and high-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (-0.03 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.05 to -0.01]) with no effects on other lipids.
J Am Heart Assoc, 2026 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-02 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
The pooled analysis showed an overall significant weight reduction of -0.34 kg (95% CI: -0.63, -0.04 kg; P = 0.03) in diets containing dietary pulses (median intake of 132 g/d or ∼1 serving/d) compared with diets without a dietary pulse intervention over a median duration of 6 wk.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2016 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-03 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Dietary pulses produced a 31% greater satiety incremental area under the curve (IAUC) (RoM = 1.31, 95% CI: 1.09 to 1.58, P = 0.004; Phet = 0.96; I(2) = 0%) without affecting second meal intake (MD = -19.94, 95% CI: -75-35, P = 0.48; Phet = 0.01; I(2) = 63%).
Obesity (Silver Spring), 2014 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-08 · Cross-sectional
Cross-sectionally, higher mung bean and edamame intakes are consistently associated with lower FPG, while ormosia, black bean, and soybean associated with lower INS and HOMA-IR.
Mol Nutr Food Res, 2026 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-10 · Scoping review
Nonpriority legume allergies, which include chickpea, pea, lentil, and lupine, are frequently implicated in severe allergic reactions. ... Moreover, no studies addressed labeling or educational needs for these allergens.
J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract, 2021 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-11 · Regulation
milk, eggs, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame
FDA, Food Allergies, major food allergens · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-04 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Pulses alone (11 trials) lowered fasting blood glucose (FBG) (-0.82, 95% CI -1.36 to -0.27) and insulin (-0.49, 95% CI -0.93 to -0.04).
Diabetologia, 2009 · checked 2026-09-28 - cke-r7-13 · CoFID 2021, dataset
Beans, edamame, frozen, boiled in unsalted water [13-667]: Energy 142 kcal; Protein 12.2 g; Fat 7.6 g; AOAC fibre 5.9 g; Iron 2.73 mg; Folate 15 ug per 100 g
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, code 13-667 (OGL v3.0) · checked 2026-09-28
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-28 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.