BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Jam vs jelly: nutrition compared

Full comparison · Calories · Carbs · Healthier

Per 3.5 oz (100 g), jam has 278 calories and 0.37 g of protein; jelly has 266 calories and 0.15 g. Fiber: 1.1 g vs 1 g.

Side by side, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

JamJelly
Calories278 calories266 calories
Protein0.37 g (1% DV)0.15 g (0% DV)
Fat0.07 g (0% DV)0.02 g (0% DV)
Saturated fat0.01 g (0% DV)0.01 g (0% DV)
Carbohydrate68.9 g (25% DV)70 g (25% DV)
Fiber1.1 g (4% DV)1 g (4% DV)
Total sugars48.5 g51.2 g
Sodium32 mg (1% DV)30 mg (1% DV)
Potassium77 mg (2% DV)54 mg (1% DV)
Calcium20 mg (2% DV)7 mg (1% DV)
Iron0.5 mg (3% DV)0.2 mg (1% DV)
Magnesium4 mg (1% DV)6 mg (1% DV)
Vitamin A0 mcg0 mcg
Vitamin C8.8 mg (10% DV)0.9 mg (1% DV)
Vitamin D0 mcg0 mcg
Vitamin K0 mcg0.3 mcg (0% DV)
Folate11 mcg (3% DV)2 mcg (0% DV)
Vitamin B120 mcg0 mcg
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg

— not reported by USDA for this food.

Per typical serving

Servings differ: 1 tbsp (20 g) of jam and 1 serving 1 tbsp (21 g) of jelly, the serving sizes we use for each (USDA household measures; 4 oz for meat and fish).

JamJelly
Calories56 calories56 calories
Protein0.07 g (0% DV)0.03 g (0% DV)
Fat0.01 g (0% DV)0 g (0% DV)
Saturated fat0 g (0% DV)0 g (0% DV)
Carbohydrate13.8 g (5% DV)14.7 g (5% DV)
Fiber0.22 g (1% DV)0.21 g (1% DV)
Total sugars9.7 g10.8 g
Sodium6.4 mg (0% DV)6.3 mg (0% DV)
Potassium15 mg (0% DV)11 mg (0% DV)

— not reported by USDA for this food.

What the numbers don't tell you

On nutrition, jam and jelly are close to twins. A tablespoon of either, about 0.7 oz (20 to 21 g), carries roughly 56 calories and about 10 g of sugar in these USDA records. The USDA jam record counts jams and preserves together.

The sugar in both is free sugar. WHO counts sugar added by a manufacturer, cook or consumer in that group and recommends keeping free sugars under 10% of total energy, a limit it bases on moderate quality observational evidence about tooth decay. US labeling rules agree: a food made with jam or jelly cannot claim no added sugar.

The jar matters more than the name. In a randomized trial in 16 healthy adults, one 2.1 oz (60 g) serving of high-sugar strawberry jam raised blood glucose and insulin at 30 and 60 minutes more than two low-sugar versions. Which sugar is used mattered little for teeth: over two years in four-year-olds, new decay was 3.10 surfaces on invert sugar against 3.86 on table sugar, not a significant gap.

Marmalade is the one with a legal recipe in the EU: at least 7.1 oz (200 g) of citrus fruit in every 1,000 g. We hold no card on the US standards for jam, jelly and preserves.

Choose by taste, and if sugar matters to you, read the sugar line on the label.

Evidence behind this note

  1. Level E Sugar added to a fruit preserve is a free sugar in the WHO sense, the same category as table sugar, and being fruit based does not move it out. WHO Guideline: sugars intake for adults and children, 2015
  2. Level E WHO recommends keeping free sugars, the category jelly belongs to, below 10 percent of total energy intake, a limit it bases on moderate quality evidence about dental caries. WHO Guideline: sugars intake for adults and children, 2015
  3. Level E Under US labeling rules a food cannot carry a no added sugar claim if jam or jelly is one of its ingredients, because jelly counts as an added sugar ingredient. 21 CFR 101.60, Nutrient content claims for the calorie content of foods
  4. Level B In a crossover RCT of 16 adults, 2.1 oz (60 g) of high-sugar jam raised blood glucose and insulin at 30 and 60 minutes more than low-sugar versions. Eur J Nutr, 2014
  5. Level B Swapping sucrose for invert sugar in 32 sweet products, jam and marmalade among them, left caries in 4-year-olds much the same over 2 years (3.86 versus 3.10 dmfs, p 0.34). Caries Res, 1991
  6. Level E EU law reserves the name marmalade for citrus products: at least 7.1 oz (200 g) of citrus per 1,000 g, of which at least 75 g from the fruit segments. Council Directive 2001/113/EC, Annex I (legislation.gov.uk)

Written from the studies and agency guidance we hold for both foods, reviewed by the Bioma editorial system. How we verify.

Keep exploring

Read more about these foods

Rankings and guides

More comparisons

Where the numbers come from

Each food is one USDA entry, chosen as it is usually eaten. Other cuts, brands and preparations differ; the links show them. % DV uses FDA Daily Values for adults. How we verify.