Beef vs mutton: nutrition compared
Full comparison · Protein · Calories · Healthier · Cholesterol · Zinc
Per 3.5 oz (100 g), beef has 183 calories and 30.6 g of protein; mutton has 234 calories and 33.4 g.
Where each one is ahead
- Mutton has clearly more iron (26% DV vs 11%), vitamin b12 (185% DV vs 71%).
Side by side, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| Beef | Mutton | |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 183 calories | 234 calories |
| Protein | 30.6 g (61% DV) | 33.4 g (67% DV) |
| Fat | 5.8 g (7% DV) | 11.1 g (14% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 2.2 g (11% DV) | 5.1 g (26% DV) |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0.08 g (0% DV) |
| Fiber | 0 g | — |
| Total sugars | 0 g | — |
| Sodium | 64 mg (3% DV) | 135 mg (6% DV) |
| Potassium | 393 mg (8% DV) | 409 mg (9% DV) |
| Calcium | 20 mg (2% DV) | 10 mg (1% DV) |
| Iron | 2 mg (11% DV) | 4.8 mg (26% DV) |
| Magnesium | 26 mg (6% DV) | 31 mg (7% DV) |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | — |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | — |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 mcg (0% DV) | — |
| Vitamin K | 1.4 mcg (1% DV) | — |
| Folate | 10 mcg (2% DV) | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.7 mcg (71% DV) | 4.4 mcg (185% DV) |
| Cholesterol | 82 mg (27% DV) | 109 mg (36% DV) |
— not reported by USDA for this food.
Per typical serving
Servings differ: 4 oz (113 g) of beef and 4 oz (113 g) of mutton, the serving sizes we use for each (USDA household measures; 4 oz for meat and fish).
| Beef | Mutton | |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 208 calories | 265 calories |
| Protein | 34.6 g (69% DV) | 37.9 g (76% DV) |
| Fat | 6.6 g (8% DV) | 12.6 g (16% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 2.5 g (13% DV) | 5.8 g (29% DV) |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0.09 g (0% DV) |
| Fiber | 0 g | — |
| Total sugars | 0 g | — |
| Sodium | 73 mg (3% DV) | 153 mg (7% DV) |
| Potassium | 446 mg (9% DV) | 464 mg (10% DV) |
— not reported by USDA for this food.
What the numbers don't tell you
Here roasted mutton carries more of most things, fat included. Per 4 oz (113 g) it has about 38 g of protein and 5.4 mg of iron, against 35 g and 2.2 mg for lean broiled sirloin. It also has 5.8 g of saturated fat and 123 mg of cholesterol, against 2.5 g and 93 mg. The mutton figures come from a single USDA record of roasted Navajo mutton, which also lists 4.44 mcg of vitamin B12 per 3.5 oz (100 g).
For health, WHO counts both as red meat, which its cancer agency places in Group 2A, probably carcinogenic to humans. Across 36 randomized trials, plant protein lowered LDL cholesterol more than red meat did.
In pooled case-control studies, raw or undercooked sheep meat carried 3.85 times the odds of acute toxoplasma infection, and beef 2.22. The authors advise pregnant women to avoid both undercooked. USDA FSIS advises 145 °F (63 °C) with a 3-minute rest for beef and lamb steaks, chops and roasts, and 160 °F (71 °C) for beef burgers. It names no separate figure for mutton. Red meat allergy can be severe. At one Turkish center, 64% of 37 children with it had anaphylaxis, and most with other allergies tested sensitive to both meats.
Cook either to temperature, and choose lean beef if saturated fat matters to you.
Evidence behind this note
- Level E Roasted mutton in the USDA reference table gives 4.44 mcg vitamin B12, 38 mcg selenium and 33.43 g protein per 3.5 oz (100 g). USDA SR Legacy, Mutton, cooked, roasted (Navajo), fdc_id 167634
- Level E WHO's cancer agency classifies red meat, beef included, as probably carcinogenic to humans (Group 2A). WHO, Cancer: Carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat, Q&A
- Level A Swapping beef for plant protein lowered cholesterol, and swapping it for another animal protein changed nothing. Clin Nutr, 2025
- Level A Across 36 randomized trials, replacing red meat with plant protein sources lowered LDL cholesterol by 7.3 mg/dL (0.19 mmol/L) (95 percent credible interval 0.03 to 0.36) and total cholesterol by 5.4 mg/dL (0.14 mmol/L), while the certainty of evidence was rated very low to low. Clin Nutr, 2025
- Level C Across case-control studies, eating raw or undercooked sheep meat carried odds of acute toxoplasma infection of 3.85, and the authors advise at-risk groups, including pregnant women, to avoid it. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2018
- Level E USDA FSIS advises cooking raw beef and lamb steaks, chops and roasts to at least 145 °F (63 °C) and letting the meat rest for at least three minutes before carving or eating. USDA FSIS, Doneness Versus Safety
- Level E USDA FSIS sets 145 °F (63 °C) plus a three-minute rest for raw beef and pork steaks, chops and roasts, and 160 °F (71 °C) for hamburger, measured with a food thermometer, since ground beef can brown before it is safe. USDA FSIS, Doneness Versus Safety
- Level C Among 37 Turkish children with red meat allergy, 64% had anaphylaxis on exposure and most were sensitized to both mutton and beef. Turk J Pediatr, 2021
Written from the studies and agency guidance we hold for both foods, reviewed by the Bioma editorial system. How we verify.
Keep exploring
Read more about these foods
Rankings and guides
- Protein: what it does and how much you need
- Fiber: what it does and how much you need
- Which foods are highest in protein?
More comparisons
Where the numbers come from
- Beef: USDA FoodData Central, Beef, top sirloin, steak, separable lean only, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled, FDC ID 168634 · all forms of beef
- Mutton: USDA FoodData Central, Mutton, cooked, roasted (Navajo), FDC ID 167634 · all forms of mutton
Each food is one USDA entry, chosen as it is usually eaten. Other cuts, brands and preparations differ, and the links show them. % DV uses FDA Daily Values for adults. How we verify.