Wasabi peas: more snack than pea
A meta-analysis of 38 trials with 2,095 people found that whole pulses, eaten at a median 130 g a day for six weeks, lowered LDL cholesterol by 5.4 mg/dL (95% CI -7.3 to -3.1; metric: 0.14 mmol/L, -0.19 to -0.08). Those were whole pulses, and the authors say dried peas in particular still need study, so the result does not stretch to a coated roasted snack. The snack is a different food. Per 100 g, the single USDA record gives 432 calories, 14.1 g protein, 14.1 g fat, 3.8 g fiber and 300 mg sodium, and brands differ in coating, oil and salt. Next to raw split peas, fat rises from 3.9 to 14.1 g and fiber falls from 22.2 to 3.8 g. That comparison shows direction only, because the snack uses whole green peas under a starch, sugar and oil coating.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wasabi peas | 432 | 14.1 g | 14.1 g | 62.2 g | 3.8 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): wasabi peas as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Per 100 g, roasted wasabi-flavored peas provide 432 calories, 14.1 g protein, 14.1 g fat, 3.8 g fiber and 300 mg sodium in the USDA record. — USDA SR Legacy record Snacks, peas, roasted, wasabi-flavored (FDC 173157) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: energy 432 calories, protein 14.11 g, fat 14.11 g, fiber 3.8 g, sodium 300 mg, iron 3.8 mg
- Prepared wasabi in USDA data carries 3,390 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g), while raw wasabi root has 17 mg, so the green paste is mostly a salty seasoning. — USDA SR Legacy: Wasabi (FDC 171831) vs Wasabi, root, raw (FDC 168583) Evidence E sourceSodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) 3390 mg (prepared wasabi) vs 17 mg (root); fat 10.9 vs 0.63 g
What a real portion looks like
- In US survey data a typical handful of wasabi peas is 30 g and a cup 120 g, so a handful gives about 130 calories and 90 mg sodium. — USDA FNDDS 41304000 Wasabi peas (FDC 2707422), portion weights Evidence E sourceQuantity not specified 30 g; 1 cup 120 g; 30 g x 432 calories/100 g = 130 calories, 30 g x 300 mg/100 g = 90 mg sodium (arithmetic from SR Legacy FDC 173157)
What your body absorbs
- In a crossover RCT in 26 adults, extruded snacks with 40% whole or split yellow pea flour did not lower blood glucose against a corn snack, unlike pinto bean and chickpea flours. — 26 healthy young adults, single extruded corn snacks with 40% pulse flour (n = 26) Evidence B sourcePinto bean and chickpea snacks lowered pre-meal glucose iAUC vs control, whole yellow pea and green lentil snacks; pea snacks no lower than corn
- In a crossover RCT in 26 adults, adding yellow pea protein and fiber to an oat cereal lowered the glucose response, while pea starch alone did not. — 26 healthy young adults, single servings of oat cereals with pea fractions (n = 26) Evidence B sourcePre-meal mean glucose and iAUC lower with protein, starch+protein, protein+fiber and fiber+starch+protein cereals vs starch and control
What cooking and storage change
- Turning dry split peas into a coated roasted snack changes them: per 3.5 oz (100 g) fat rises from 3.9 to 14.1 g and fiber falls from 22.2 to 3.8 g in USDA data. — USDA SR Legacy: Peas, green, split, mature seeds, raw (FDC 172428) vs Snacks, peas, roasted, wasabi-flavored (FDC 173157) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g raw split peas vs wasabi peas: energy 364 vs 432 calories; fat 3.89 vs 14.11 g; fiber 22.2 vs 3.8 g; protein 23.12 vs 14.11 g; sodium 5 vs 300 mg
What it does to your health
- A meta-analysis of 38 RCTs with 2,095 people found whole pulses at a median 130 g a day for 6 weeks lower LDL cholesterol by 5.4 mg/dL (0.14 mmol/L), with dried peas still understudied. — 38 trials (52 comparisons), n=2,095, median 6 weeks, median 130 g/d (n = 2,095) Evidence A sourceLDL -5.4 mg/dL (95% CI -7.3 to -3.1; metric: -0.14 mmol/L, -0.19 to -0.08); non-HDL -0.22 (-0.30 to -0.14); HDL -0.03 (-0.05 to -0.01)
Safety, limits and interactions
- A scoping review of 47 studies found pea, chickpea, lentil and lupine allergies are often behind severe reactions, with no studies at all on labeling for these legumes. — 47 original studies on non-priority legume allergy, adults and children (n = 47 studies) Evidence C sourceMost studies on prevalence, mainly Europe; none on labeling or education
What people believe that the data does not support
- In a 12-week double-blind RCT in 72 adults over 60, a wasabi supplement with the isothiocyanate 6-MSITC improved working and episodic memory scores against placebo, as a supplement rather than a food. — 72 healthy older adults aged 60 and over, 12 weeks (n = 72) Evidence B sourceSignificant improvement in working and episodic memory vs placebo; no change in other cognitive domains
What is still unknown
- In a pilot crossover RCT in 8 young men, 9 mg a day of the wasabi compound 6-MSITC did not reduce muscle damage or inflammation after hard exercise. — 8 healthy young males, 9 mg/day 6-MSITC or placebo for 5 days around eccentric exercise (n = 8) Evidence B sourceNo effect on calpain-1, creatine kinase, strength, soreness or inflammatory markers vs placebo
The bottom line
A typical handful in US survey data weighs 1.1 oz (30 g), which works out to about 130 calories and 90 mg sodium by arithmetic from the USDA record. A cup is 120 g, four handfuls. Whether a pea snack blunts blood sugar has been tested only with pea flour and pea fractions. In 26 healthy young adults, extruded corn snacks made with 40 percent whole or split yellow pea flour did not lower blood glucose against a plain corn snack, while pinto bean and chickpea versions did. In a second crossover trial in 26 adults, adding yellow pea protein and fiber to an oat cereal lowered the glucose response and pea starch alone did not. That abstract gives no effect size, and neither product was a roasted whole pea. The wasabi part is mostly salt and flavor. Prepared wasabi in the USDA table carries 3,390 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) against 17 mg in the raw root, a record that likely includes horseradish, mustard and salt, and a snack coating is a different product again. The idea that wasabi helps the brain rests on a supplement. In a 12-week double-blind trial in 72 healthy adults over 60, a supplement of the wasabi compound 6-MSITC improved working and episodic memory scores against placebo and changed no other cognitive domain. The abstract gives no dose, and we have no data on how much 6-MSITC a snack coating holds. A pilot in 8 young men taking 9 mg a day for five days found no effect on muscle damage or inflammation after hard exercise. Allergy is the caution with a card behind it. A scoping review of 47 studies found pea, chickpea, lentil and lupine allergies frequently implicated in severe reactions, and no study at all on how these legumes are labeled. Peas are not a major allergen under US rules, so a label need not flag them. We have no card on children, pregnancy or medicines for this snack.
Related foods
More from the same food group (beans, peas, legumes)
- Black beans with meat: the iron pairing, measured meal by meal
- Dal: strong evidence on blood glucose, weak iron
- Kidney beans with meat: what the pork does for the iron
- Soy nuts: a dense protein snack tested only in small, short trials
- Refried beans with meat: the beans have evidence, the dish does not
- Pork and beans: a fiber-rich can with a salt problem
Sources
- wsbp-r5-01 · USDA SR Legacy composition, dataset
Snacks, peas, roasted, wasabi-flavored (SR Legacy FDC 173157), per 100 g: energy 432 kcal; protein 14.11 g; total fat 14.11 g; fiber 3.8 g; sodium 300 mg; iron 3.8 mg
USDA SR Legacy 2019, FDC 173157 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-04 · USDA SR Legacy composition, dataset
Per 100 g, SR Legacy: Wasabi (FDC 171831) energy 292 kcal, total fat 10.9 g, sodium 3390 mg; Wasabi, root, raw (FDC 168583) energy 109 kcal, total fat 0.63 g, sodium 17 mg
USDA SR Legacy 2019, FDC 171831 and 168583 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-03 · USDA FNDDS portion weights, dataset
Wasabi peas (FNDDS 41304000, FDC 2707422): 1 cup 120 g; Quantity not specified 30 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 41304000, FDC 2707422 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-05 · RCT (crossover)
In a randomized, repeated-measures crossover study, adults (n = 26) consumed extruded corn snacks made with the addition of 40% pulse flour from either whole yellow pea, split yellow pea, green lentil, chickpea, or pinto bean. ... Pinto bean and chickpea snacks led to lower (p < 0.05) pre-meal BG incremental area under the curve (iAUC), compared with control, whole yellow pea and green lentil snacks.
Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2021 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-06 · RCT (crossover)
In a randomized, repeated-measures crossover study, adults (n = 26) consumed cereals made with oat flour (control), oat flour and pea starch (starch), oat flour and pea protein (protein), oat flour, pea starch and pea protein (starch+protein), oat flour, pea fibre and pea protein (fibre+protein), and pea fibre, pea starch and pea protein (fibre+starch+protein). ... Pre-meal, overall mean BG and iAUC were lower following the protein, starch+protein, protein+fibre, and the fibre+starch+protein cereals compared with the starch and control.
Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2021 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-02 · USDA SR Legacy composition, dataset
Per 100 g, SR Legacy: Peas, green, split, mature seeds, raw (FDC 172428) energy 364 kcal, total fat 3.89 g, fiber 22.2 g, protein 23.12 g, sodium 5 mg; Snacks, peas, roasted, wasabi-flavored (FDC 173157) energy 432 kcal, total fat 14.11 g, fiber 3.8 g, protein 14.11 g, sodium 300 mg
USDA SR Legacy 2019, FDC 172428 and 173157 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-07 · meta-analysis of RCTs
Thirty-eight trials (52 trial comparisons, n=2095) with a median of 6 weeks and dose of 130 g/d (0.5-0.67 cup/d) showed that whole dietary pulses decreased low-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (mean difference, -0.14 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.19 to -0.08]), non-high-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (-0.22 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.30 to -0.14]), apoB (apolipoprotein B) (-0.08 g/L [95% CI, -0.13 to -0.03]) and high-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (-0.03 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.05 to -0.01]) with no effects on other lipids. ... Future studies on chickpeas, dried peas, and lentils are warranted.
J Am Heart Assoc, 2026 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-10 · scoping review
Nonpriority legume allergies, which include chickpea, pea, lentil, and lupine, are frequently implicated in severe allergic reactions. ... Of the 8976 titles identified, 47 were included subsequent to full-text screening. ... Moreover, no studies addressed labeling or educational needs for these allergens.
J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract, 2021 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-08 · RCT
Seventy-two older adults were randomly assigned to 6-MSITC or placebo groups. Participants were asked to take a supplement (6-MSITC or a placebo) for 12 weeks. ... The 6-MSITC group showed a significant improvement in working and episodic memory performances compared to the placebo group. However, we did not find any significant improvements in other cognitive domains.
Nutrients, 2023 · checked 2026-09-30 - wsbp-r5-09 · RCT (crossover, pilot)
We performed a randomized, double-blind, crossover design study wherein eight healthy young males were randomly assigned to ingest 9 mg/day of 6-MSITC or placebo from 1 day before exercise to 4 days after exercise (30 maximal isokinetic eccentric contractions of the elbow flexors using an isokinetic dynamometer). ... All muscle damage and inflammatory markers were not affected by 6-MSITC relative to those in the placebo-treated condition.
J Diet Suppl, 2022 · checked 2026-09-30
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.