Trail mix: nobody has studied the mix, only its parts
Pooling five randomised trials of 436 adults who already had atherosclerotic disease, nuts at a median of 30 g a day for 6 to 12 weeks left blood pressure where it was. The systolic difference was -1.16 mmHg with a confidence interval from -5.68 to 3.35, and the flat diastolic result carries high certainty. Everyone in those trials was already taking statins and other drugs, which leaves a food little room to act, so this says nothing about healthy people. That is the strongest evidence on the page, and it is about nuts. We found no trial of trail mix itself, and USDA holds no composition record for this food, so every card here describes a component: mixed nuts, dried fruit or raisins. The only composition figures that exist are British. One CoFID record gives 432 kcal, 28.5 g of fat and 37.1 g of total sugars per 100 g, with 5.1 g of fibre, 620 mg of potassium and 3.7 mg of iron. Nearly the whole 37.2 g of carbohydrate in it is sugar. That single British recipe is standing in for a product that differs in every packet, and there is no second dataset to check it against.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for trail mix itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- The only composition figures that exist for trail mix are British: 432 kcal, 28.5 g fat and 37.1 g of total sugars per 100 g, with 5.1 g of fibre, 620 mg of potassium and 3.7 mg of iron. — the single CoFID 2021 record for trail mix, code 14-849, with no USDA record of this food to compare against (n = 1 record) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: 432 kcal, fat 28.5 g, carbohydrate 37.2 g of which total sugars 37.1 g, AOAC fibre 5.1 g, protein 9.1 g, potassium 620 mg, magnesium 110 mg, iron 3.7 mg, sodium 27 mg
What a real portion looks like
- US dietary surveys weigh a package of trail mix at 50 g and a cup at 140 g, and they give the chocolate, fruit and pretzel versions exactly the same weights as the plain one. — household measures for the five trail mix food codes used in US dietary recalls, from plain to chocolate, fruit and pretzel versions (n = 5 food codes) Evidence E source1 cup 140 g, 1 package 50 g, quantity not specified 28 g, identical across Trail mix NFS, with nuts, with chocolate, with nuts and fruit, and with pretzels or granola
What your body absorbs
- A polyphenol and fibre rich dried fruit preparation eaten with bread cut the rise in blood glucose in 16 healthy volunteers by 27.4 percent at the lower dose and 49.0 percent at the double dose. The enzyme work behind the proposed mechanism was done in vitro. — 16 healthy fasted volunteers, each attending four visits, eating bread with water against bread with a single or double dose of polyphenol and fibre rich dried fruit, blood sampled over 180 minutes (n = 16) Evidence B sourceIncremental glucose area under the curve -27.4 percent at the lower dose and -49.0 percent at the higher dose, both P < 0.001, and insulin area -46.9 percent, P < 0.01
What it does to your health
- In people who already have atherosclerotic disease, adding nuts at a median 30 g a day for 6 to 12 weeks changed blood pressure by nothing anyone could measure, a systolic difference of -1.16 mmHg with a confidence interval from -5.68 to 3.35. — 436 adults with atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease across 5 randomised trials, nuts from 5 g to 85 g a day, median 30 g, for 6 to 12 weeks (n = 436) Evidence A sourceSystolic blood pressure mean difference -1.16 mmHg, 95% CI -5.68 to 3.35, moderate certainty; diastolic 0.10 mmHg, 95% CI -2.30 to 2.51, high certainty; no effect on fasting glucose or body measures
- Adding 30 g a day of mixed nuts, 10 g each of peanuts, cashews and Brazil nuts, to a cardioprotective diet for 16 weeks did not significantly change LDL cholesterol, a difference of 3.48 mg/dL with a confidence interval from -3.45 to 10.41. — 388 adults over 40 who had a myocardial infarction 2 to 6 months earlier, 9 centres in Brazil, 193 given the diet plus nuts and 195 the diet alone, 16 weeks (n = 388) Evidence B sourceLDL cholesterol intervention minus control 3.48 mg/dL, 95% CI -3.45 to 10.41, P = 0.32, and no difference in other lipids, glucose, body measures or diet quality
- A single serving of mixed nuts, 30 g cashews with 15 g Brazil nuts, given as a beverage, raised fat oxidation over the next three hours from 27.93 to 47.53 mg per minute, which is a metabolic marker and not weight lost. Over eight weeks of 45 g a day inside a calorie-restricted diet there was no significant difference between the groups. — adult women with overweight or obesity at cardiometabolic risk, an acute arm measured for 3 hours after one drink and a chronic arm of 8 weeks on 45 g of nuts a day with a 500 kcal deficit Evidence B sourcePostprandial fat oxidation 47.53 plus or minus 5.78 against 27.93 plus or minus 6.98 mg/min, p = 0.048; after 8 weeks fasting fat oxidation +16.0 against -5.0 mg/min with no significant between-group difference
Safety, limits and interactions
- Ochratoxin A was present in 63.39 percent of 4,109 dried fruit samples worldwide at an average of 3.12 mcg/kg, with dried apples the most contaminated at 9.61 mcg/kg and dates the least at 0.58, and in a few countries the modelled intake for children came close to the warning threshold. — 4,109 dried fruit samples reported in 30 studies from 1999 to 2024, plus modelled exposure for adults and children by country (n = 4109 samples) Evidence C source63.39 percent of samples contaminated, mean 3.12 mcg/kg; apples highest at 9.61 and dates lowest at 0.58 mcg/kg; by country from 0.45 mcg/kg in the Czech Republic to 47.51 in Greece; hazard quotient for children in Greece near the warning threshold
What people believe that the data does not support
- Europe has authorised no health claim for fruit in any form, fresh, dried or juiced, and refused five of them, including the claim that diets rich in fruit promote heart health. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot of 21 September 2026, entries for fruits in fresh, frozen, canned, bottled, dried and juiced form (n = 5 rejected claims, 0 authorised) Evidence E sourceClaims POL-HC-7143 to POL-HC-7146 and POL-HC-8053 all carry the status Non-authorised
Who this works differently for
- In people with type 2 diabetes, swapping processed snacks for dark raisins for 12 weeks lowered post-meal glucose by 23 percent and systolic blood pressure by 8.7 mmHg, while fasting glucose and HbA1c did not move significantly. — 51 adults with type 2 diabetes, 12 weeks, dark raisins against alternative processed snacks (n = 51) Evidence B sourcePostprandial glucose -23%, P = 0.024; systolic blood pressure -8.7 mmHg, P = 0.035; fasting glucose -19% and HbA1c -0.12% both non-significant; no change in weight, lipids or insulin resistance
- Children aged 8 to 11 given raisins to eat freely after school took in the fewest calories of four snacks and ate less over the whole day, while the same children given cookies ate more over the whole day. — 26 normal-weight children aged 8 to 11, four weekdays a week apart, each day one of raisins, grapes, potato chips or chocolate chip cookies eaten freely after school (n = 26) Evidence B sourceLeast energy eaten from raisins and grapes and most from cookies, P < 0.001; about 75 g of raisins eaten, similar to potato chips; cumulative daily intake lower with raisins and grapes and higher with cookies, both P < 0.001
The bottom line
A package is recorded at 50 g in US dietary surveys and a cup at 140 g, so the per 100 g column above describes two packages. Those survey weights are identical for the plain mix, the chocolate one, the fruit one and the pretzel one, which means nobody measured them separately. A cup of a dense chocolate mix and a cup of a light pretzel mix are both written down as 140 g. The nuts have been tested more than once, and the results keep coming back flat. Mixed nuts at 30 g a day were added to a prescribed cardioprotective diet for 16 weeks in 388 adults over 40 who had had a heart attack 2 to 6 months earlier. LDL cholesterol moved by 3.48 mg/dL, confidence interval -3.45 to 10.41, P = 0.32, and both arms were eating that improved diet already. One serving of 30 g of cashews with 15 g of Brazil nuts raised fat oxidation over the next three hours from 27.93 to 47.53 mg per minute in women with overweight or obesity, p = 0.048. That is a metabolic marker rather than weight lost, and it was given as a beverage rather than as nuts to chew. In the same study, eight weeks of 45 g of nuts a day inside a 500 kcal deficit produced no difference between groups, and that is the arm describing what eating nuts every day does. The dried fruit results are about specific products and specific comparisons. Bread eaten with a polyphenol and fibre rich dried fruit preparation cut the glucose rise in 16 healthy volunteers by 27.4 percent at the lower dose and 49.0 percent at the double dose, both P < 0.001. That preparation was a designed berry and green tea mixture rather than the raisins and cranberries in a supermarket bag. In 51 adults with type 2 diabetes, 12 weeks of dark raisins in place of processed snacks lowered post-meal glucose by 23 percent and systolic blood pressure by 8.7 mmHg, while fasting glucose and HbA1c did not move significantly. The comparison there is against crisps and biscuits rather than against fruit. Twenty-six children aged 8 to 11 ate the fewest calories from raisins out of four after-school snacks, and less over the whole day, on four single days a week apart. They ate about 75 g of raisins to do it. The thing that belongs on a trail mix page and is rarely there is mould toxin in the dried fruit. Across 4,109 samples reported in 30 studies between 1999 and 2024, ochratoxin A was present in 63.39 percent at a mean of 3.12 mcg/kg, highest in dried apples at 9.61 mcg/kg and lowest in dates at 0.58. The review calls the overall global risk low, and the modelled intake for children in Greece came close to the warning threshold. Those are sample surveys, so the percentages describe what researchers chose to test rather than what sits on a shelf, and the exposure figures are modelled from per capita consumption rather than measured in anyone. One last thing about the health halo. Europe has authorised no health claim for fruit in any form, fresh, dried or juiced, and refused five, including the claim that diets rich in fruit promote heart health. Non-authorised means the evidence submitted did not meet the bar at the time, and it is not a finding that fruit does nothing. One caution this page cannot give is a limit. No card here sets an upper amount for any component of the mix, and none covers a reaction to the nuts themselves, so the mould toxin survey is the only safety number on the page.
Sources
- tmix-r1-09 · food composition dataset
Trail mix (CoFID 14-849): Energy 432 kcal, Fat 28.5 g, Carbohydrate 37.2 g, Total sugars 37.1 g, AOAC fibre 5.1 g, Protein 9.1 g, Potassium 620 mg, Magnesium 110 mg, Iron 3.70 mg, Sodium 27 mg per 100 g
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, record 14-849, OGL v3.0 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-10 · portion dataset
Trail mix, NFS (2707574, FNDDS code 42500000): 1 cup 140 g, 1 package 50 g, Quantity not specified 28 g
USDA FNDDS, Trail mix NFS, record 2707574 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-04 · randomised crossover
Plasma glucose was lower after consumption of both doses compared with controls: lower dose, change in mean incremental areas under the glucose curves (IAUC)=-27·4 (sd 7·5) %, P<0·001; higher dose, IAUC=-49·0 (sd 15·3) %, P<0·001; insulin IAUC was also attenuated by-46·9 (sd 13·4) %, P<0·01.
Br J Nutr, 2016 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-01 · meta-analysis of randomised trials
They also had no effect on systolic (mean difference [MD]: -1.16 mmHg [95% CI, -5.68 to 3.35], I2 = 0%-moderate certainty of evidence) or diastolic (MD: 0.10 mmHg [95% CI, -2.30 to 2.51], I2 = 0%-high certainty of evidence) blood pressure.
Nutr Rev, 2025 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-02 · randomised controlled trial
no significant difference was found between the groups in low-density lipoprotein cholesterol concentrations (intervention-control difference: 3.48 mg/dL [-3.45 to 10.41], P = 0.32)
Nutr J, 2024 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-03 · randomised controlled trial
In the postprandial period, fat oxidation was higher in the MNG than in the CTG (piAUC: 47.53 ± 5.78 mg/min vs. 27.93 ± 6.98 mg/min; p = 0.048).
Nutr Metab Cardiovasc Dis, 2026 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-07 · systematic review of surveys
Apples had the highest mean concentration (9.61 µg/kg), while dates showed the lowest mean concentration (0.58 µg/kg)...Although the overall global risk was low, regional assessments highlighted some health concerns (influenced by OTA concentration and per capita consumption)
Int J Environ Health Res, 2026 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-08 · claim register entry
POL-HC-7146 Fruits (fresh, frozen, canned, bottled, dried, juiced) Diets rich in fruit promote heart health. Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-7146, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-05 · randomised controlled trial
In this study, compared to alternative processed snacks, those who consumed raisins had a significant 23% reduction in postprandial glucose levels (P = 0.024).
Phys Sportsmed, 2015 · checked 2026-09-24 - tmix-r1-06 · randomised crossover
Children consumed the least calories from raisins and grapes and the most from cookies (P < 0.001)...Raisins and grapes led to lower cumulative food intake (breakfast + morning snack + lunch + after-school snack) (P < 0.001), while the cookies increased cumulative food intake (P < 0.001) compared to the other snacks.
J Food Sci, 2013 · checked 2026-09-24
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-24 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.