Salmon vs shrimp: omega-3 on one side, cholesterol myths on the other
In a randomized crossover trial, 11 oz (300 g) of shrimp a day, a very large amount supplying 590 mg of cholesterol, raised LDL cholesterol by 7.1 percent and HDL cholesterol by 12.1 percent against a diet with 107 mg. The abstract does not say how many people took part. Against two eggs a day carrying the same cholesterol, the shrimp diet gave lower LDL-to-HDL and total-to-HDL ratios and lower triacylglycerol. So in that trial, the same amount of cholesterol from shrimp and from eggs did not move blood fats the same way. Salmon is the measured omega-3 source here. Farmed Atlantic salmon held 0.585 g DHA and 0.318 g EPA per 3.5 oz (100 g) in 8 USDA samples, and USDA reported no EPA or DHA row for shrimp at all. In 32 healthy adults, 600 mg of DHA a day from cooked salmon raised plasma DHA by about 80 percent in 2 weeks, the same rise as algal-oil capsules. In 38 young women with a BMI of 25 or more, 7.1 oz (200 g) of smoked salmon a week for 8 weeks lowered LDL by 8.2 mg/dL while it rose 9.5 mg/dL in controls, and the final levels of the two groups did not differ.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for salmon | shrimp itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- In USDA Foundation Foods sampling, farmed Atlantic salmon held 0.318 g EPA and 0.585 g DHA per 3.5 oz (100 g) and wild sockeye 0.211 g and 0.326 g, while no EPA or DHA row was reported for farm-raised shrimp. — retail samples analyzed for USDA Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 (n = 8 samples per salmon type) Evidence E sourceFarmed Atlantic EPA 0.228-0.43 g, DHA 0.488-0.739 g; wild sockeye EPA 0.081-0.286 g, DHA 0.214-0.48 g; shrimp not reported
- Farm-raised shrimp carried 136.0 mg cholesterol per 3.5 oz (100 g) in USDA sampling, about twice farmed salmon at 62.1 mg, and CoFID 2021 gives a similar split of 130.0 mg for boiled shrimps and 67.2 mg for baked farmed salmon. — USDA Foundation Foods retail samples (release 2026-04-30) and CoFID 2021 (Public Health England) (n = 8 samples per food in Foundation Foods) Evidence E sourceShrimp 136.0 mg (106.0-159.3); farmed Atlantic salmon 62.11 mg (50.9-71.9); sockeye 59.3 mg; CoFID shrimps boiled 130.0 mg, salmon farmed baked 67.2 mg
- Per 100 g in USDA sampling, farmed salmon held 5.7 micrograms vitamin B12 against 1.0 in shrimp, and shrimp carried 474.9 mg sodium against 49.5 mg in salmon, with shrimp ranging from 113 to 783 mg. — retail samples analyzed for USDA Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 (n = 8 samples per food) Evidence E sourceB12 salmon 5.696 ug (3.81-7.24) vs shrimp 0.9963 ug (0.5-1.67); sodium shrimp 474.9 mg (113.0-783.0) vs salmon 49.49 mg (25.1-61.1)
- Raw farmed salmon held 20.3 g protein and 22.8 micrograms selenium per 3.5 oz (100 g) in USDA sampling against 15.6 g and 19.5 micrograms in raw farm-raised shrimp. — retail samples analyzed for USDA Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 (n = 8 samples per food) Evidence E sourceProtein salmon 20.32 g (19.6-21.9) vs shrimp 15.57 g (12.1-21.3); selenium salmon 22.8 ug (20.0-30.8) vs shrimp 19.48 ug (11.9-24.6)
What a real portion looks like
- In the USDA survey food table a regular grilled salmon fillet weighs 4.9 oz (140 g), while one large or jumbo grilled shrimp weighs 15 g and an unspecified shrimp serving is counted as 85 g. — USDA FNDDS survey foods Fish, salmon, grilled (food code 26137123) and Shrimp, grilled (food code 26319123) Evidence E sourceSalmon: small/regular fillet 140 g, large fillet 210 g, 1 cup 135 g; shrimp: tiny 5 g, small/medium 10 g, large/jumbo 15 g, prawn 20 g, 1 cup 135 g, quantity not specified 85 g
What your body absorbs
- Over 2 weeks, 600 mg DHA a day from cooked salmon raised plasma phospholipid DHA by about 80 percent and red cell DHA by about 25 percent, the same as algal-oil capsules. — 32 healthy men and women aged 20-65, 600 mg DHA/day from assayed cooked salmon or algal-oil capsules, 2 weeks (n = 32) Evidence B sourceDHA about +80% in plasma phospholipids and about +25% in erythrocytes in both groups
- Adding sous vide cooked salmon to a high-phytate bean meal significantly increased non-heme iron absorption in 21 young women with low iron stores. — 21 young women with ferritin below 30 microg/L, stable-isotope labeled bean meal with and without salmon, crossover (n = 21) Evidence B sourceIron absorption significantly higher with fish (p < 0.001); size not given in the abstract
- In 120 young women over an autumn 8 weeks, 100 g a day of salmon sausage supplying about 5 micrograms vitamin D limited the fall in blood 25(OH)D to 4.3 nmol/L against 15.0 in controls. — 120 non-obese women aged 20-25 in Poland, smoked salmon 25 g/day, salmon sausage 100 g/day or control, 8 weeks in autumn (n = 120) Evidence B source25(OH)D change -4.3 vs -15.0 nmol/L (p < 0.05) for salmon sausage; smoked salmon not different from control
What cooking and storage change
- In 13 healthy women, plasma EPA and DHA rose more after a meal of intact salmon than after minced salmon or defatted salmon with the oil added back. — healthy females, postprandial crossover of three meals with identical macronutrients, blood over 6 h (n = 13) Evidence B sourcePlasma EPA and DHA significantly higher after intact salmon (covariate analysis p < 0.001)
- The USDA retention table keeps 75 percent of vitamin B12 when fatty finfish is broiled without drippings and 95 percent when shelled shellfish is broiled. — USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors Release 6, group Finfish and Shellfish Products (code 15), methods 2455 and 2753, dated Sep-75 Evidence E sourceVitamin B12 75% (fatty finfish broiled) vs 95% (shellfish broiled); riboflavin 100% vs 80%
What it does to your health
- In a randomized crossover trial, 11 oz (300 g) of shrimp a day supplying 590 mg cholesterol raised LDL cholesterol by 7.1 percent and HDL cholesterol by 12.1 percent against a low-cholesterol baseline diet. — normolipidemic adults, crossover of a shrimp diet, a two-egg diet and a fat-matched baseline diet with 107 mg cholesterol/d Evidence B sourceLDL-C +7.1% (P = 0.014), HDL-C +12.1% (P = 0.0001), triacylglycerol -13% (P = 0.004)
- In a 1990 feeding study of 18 men, shrimp and squid diets, higher in cholesterol and lower in omega-3 fats, did not change blood lipids, while oyster, clam, crab and mussel diets lowered VLDL. — 18 normolipidemic men fed six shellfish species with protein matched to their usual animal foods (n = 18) Evidence C sourceNo change in blood lipids on shrimp and squid diets
- In young women with excess weight, 7.1 oz (200 g) of smoked farmed salmon a week for 8 weeks lowered LDL cholesterol by 8.2 mg/dL while it rose 9.5 mg/dL in controls. — 38 pair-matched women aged 18-30 with BMI 25 or more, 200 g smoked farmed Atlantic salmon weekly versus usual diet, 8 weeks (n = 38) Evidence B sourceLDL change -8.2 +/- 20.7 vs +9.5 +/- 20.0 mg/dL (p = 0.011); end-of-study TC, HDL, LDL and TAG not different
Safety, limits and interactions
- FDA and EPA list both salmon and shrimp among the Best Choices lowest in mercury and advise people who are pregnant or breastfeeding to eat 8 to 12 ounces of such seafood a week. — US consumers, with specific advice for people who are pregnant or breastfeeding and children aged 1-11 Evidence E sourceSalmon and shrimp both in the Best Choices category; 8-12 oz per week in pregnancy and breastfeeding
What people believe that the data does not support
- In the same trial, the shrimp diet gave lower total-to-HDL and LDL-to-HDL cholesterol ratios and lower triacylglycerol than two eggs a day with the same 580 to 590 mg of cholesterol. — normolipidemic adults, shrimp diet (590 mg cholesterol/d) versus two large eggs a day (581 mg/d), crossover Evidence B sourceShrimp diet: significantly lower TC/HDL and LDL/HDL ratios and lower triacylglycerol than the egg diet
- The EU register records a claim that a salmon oil capsule supports normal blood cholesterol as non-authorized, and it holds no claim under the name shrimp. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot 2026-09-21 Evidence E sourceStatus Non-authorized
Who this works differently for
- In 205 children aged 4 to 6, farmed salmon meals three times a week for 16 weeks raised blood EPA and DHA against meat meals but improved only two of eight cognitive raw scores and not IQ scale scores. — 205 preschool children aged 4-6 in Norway, meals with farmed Atlantic salmon or meat three times weekly, 16 weeks (n = 205) Evidence B sourceEPA and DHA biomarkers up (p < 0.001); better improvement in 2 of 8 raw scores (symbol search p = 0.038, picture concepts p = 0.047); no difference in scale scores
The bottom line
Per 100 g raw, farmed shrimp carried 136 mg cholesterol, about twice farmed salmon at 62.1 mg, and the UK CoFID table gives a similar split for cooked versions. Salmon held 5.7 micrograms vitamin B12 against 1.0 in shrimp, 20.3 g protein against 15.6 g, and slightly more selenium. Shrimp carried 474.9 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g), and the 8 samples ranged from 113 to 783 mg, so the packet matters. A grilled salmon fillet in the USDA survey table weighs 4.9 oz (140 g), and an unspecified shrimp serving 3 oz (85 g), with one large shrimp at 15 g. In 13 healthy women, plasma EPA and DHA rose more after intact salmon than after minced salmon or defatted salmon with its oil added back. Adding salmon to a high-phytate bean meal raised iron absorption from the beans in 21 young women with low iron stores, and the abstract gives no size for the gain. In 120 Polish women aged 20 to 25, 100 g a day of salmon sausage over an autumn limited the fall in blood vitamin D to 4.3 nmol/L against 15.0 in controls. Smoked salmon at 25 g a day made no significant difference. In 205 Norwegian children aged 4 to 6, salmon meals three times a week for 16 weeks improved two of eight raw test scores against meat meals and no IQ scale score. FDA and EPA list both salmon and shrimp among the Best Choices lowest in mercury, and advise 8 to 12 ounces of such seafood a week in pregnancy and breastfeeding. We have no card on shellfish allergy, so this page tells you nothing about it. The EU register lists a claim that a salmon oil capsule supports normal cholesterol as non-authorized.
Each food on its own
- Salmon: wild against farmed, measured rather than assumed — everything on this food
- Shrimp: one trial from 1996 still answers the only question people ask — everything on this food
Questions answered from the trials
Sources
- slsh-r4-10 · reference dataset
Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.318 G | range 0.228-0.43, 8 samples || Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.585 G | range 0.488-0.739, 8 samples || Fish, salmon, sockeye, wild caught, raw | PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.211 G | range 0.081-0.286, 8 samples || Fish, salmon, sockeye, wild caught, raw | PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.326 G | range 0.214-0.48, 8 samples
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-11 · reference dataset
Crustaceans, shrimp, farm raised, raw | Cholesterol | 136.0 MG | range 106.0-159.3, 8 samples || Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | Cholesterol | 62.11 MG | range 50.9-71.9, 8 samples || CoFID 2021 16-245 Shrimps, boiled | Cholesterol (mg) | 130.0 || CoFID 2021 16-359 Salmon, farmed, flesh only, baked | Cholesterol (mg) | 67.2
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30; CoFID 2021, Public Health England, OGL v3.0 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-12 · reference dataset
Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | Vitamin B-12 | 5.696 UG | range 3.81-7.24, 8 samples || Crustaceans, shrimp, farm raised, raw | Vitamin B-12 | 0.9963 UG | range 0.5-1.67, 8 samples || Crustaceans, shrimp, farm raised, raw | Sodium, Na | 474.9 MG | range 113.0-783.0, median 532.0, 8 samples || Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | Sodium, Na | 49.49 MG | range 25.1-61.1, 8 samples
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-13 · reference dataset
Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | Protein | 20.31875 G | range 19.625-21.875 || Crustaceans, shrimp, farm raised, raw | Protein | 15.56875 G | range 12.0625-21.25 || Fish, salmon, Atlantic, farm raised, raw | Selenium, Se | 22.8 UG | range 20.0-30.8, 8 samples || Crustaceans, shrimp, farm raised, raw | Selenium, Se | 19.48 UG | range 11.9-24.6, 8 samples
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-15 · reference dataset
Fish, salmon, grilled | FNDDS 26137123 | 1 small/regular fillet 64761 = 140 g | Quantity not specified 90000 = 140 g || Shrimp, grilled | FNDDS 26319123 | 1 large/jumbo shrimp 64763 = 15 g | Quantity not specified 90000 = 85 g
USDA FNDDS, Fish salmon grilled 26137123 (fdc_id 2706287) and Shrimp grilled 26319123 (fdc_id 2706362) · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-06 · randomized controlled trial
DHA levels increased by approximately 80% in plasma phospholipids and by approximately 25% in erythrocytes in both groups.
J Am Diet Assoc, 2008 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-07 · randomized crossover trial
The addition of fish to the bean meal significantly increased (p < 0.001) iron absorption.
J Am Coll Nutr, 2008 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-08 · randomized controlled trial
While all groups experienced a decrease in 25(OH)D serum concentrations, the decrease was significantly smaller in the salmon sausage group compared to the control group (-4.3 vs. -15.0 nmol/L, p < 0.05), and no significant difference was observed between the smoked salmon and control group after 8 weeks (p > 0.05).
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-05 · randomized crossover trial
Results: showed that plasma concentration of eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) were significantly higher after participants consumed intact salmon compared to the other meals (covariate analysis p < 0.001).
Food Funct, 2021 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-14 · reference dataset
FINFISH,>5%FAT,BROILED,WO/DRIPPNG | Retn_Code 2455 | vitamin_b12_ug 75% | riboflavin_mg 100% || SHELLFISH,WO/SHELL,BROILED | Retn_Code 2753 | vitamin_b12_ug 95% | riboflavin_mg 80%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, codes USDA-RETN-R6:2455 and 2753 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-01 · randomized crossover trial
In a randomized crossover trial, a diet containing 300 g shrimp/d, which supplied 590 mg dietary cholesterol/d, significantly increased low-density-lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol by 7.1% (P = 0.014) and high-density-lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol by 12.1% (P = 0.0001) when compared with a baseline diet matched for fat content but containing only 107 mg cholesterol/d.
Am J Clin Nutr, 1996 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-03 · controlled clinical trial
Squid and shrimp diets, higher in cholesterol and lower in n-3 fatty acids, did not change the blood lipids.
Am J Clin Nutr, 1990 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-04 · randomized controlled trial
However, differences in the change of the LDL concentration were noted, with a decrease of 8.2 ± 20.7 mg/dL in the intervention group compared to an increase of 9.5 ± 20.0 mg/dL in the control group (p = 0.011), as well as in the change of the Cholindex for which a median decrease of 4.4 mg/dL was noted in the intervention group, while a median increase of 0.8 mg/dL in the control group was observed (p = 0.040).
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-17 · agency guidance
Those who are pregnant or breastfeeding consume between 8 and 12 ounces per week of a variety of seafood from choices that are lower in mercury.
FDA, Advice about Eating Fish · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-02 · randomized crossover trial
In a comparison of the two high-cholesterol diets, the shrimp diet produced significantly lower ratios of total to HDL cholesterol and lower ratios of LDL to HDL cholesterol than the egg diet as well as lower triacylglycerol concentrations.
Am J Clin Nutr, 1996 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-16 · regulatory register entry
POL-HC-7853 Pure salmon oil 500 mg. D alpha tocopherol10 mg.-cps Supports the normal level of blood cholesterol. Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-7853, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-28 - slsh-r4-09 · randomized controlled trial
In analyses of the raw scores, the salmon group showed significantly better improvement in two of the eight raw scores compared to the meat group (symbol search p = 0.038, picture concepts p = 0.047).
Clin Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-09-28
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-28 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.