Raspberries and strawberries: small effects, mixed signals
The best-pooled finding for strawberries is a small drop in an inflammation marker. Across 11 randomized trials, strawberry interventions lowered C-reactive protein by 0.63 mg/l (95% CI 0.22 to 1.04) and did not change blood pressure, blood lipids or fasting glucose overall. LDL cholesterol fell by 12 mg/dL (0.31 mmol/l) only in people who started above 116 mg/dL (3 mmol/l). The strawberry in those trials came in different forms, freeze-dried powder as well as fresh fruit. A second meta-analysis of 14 trials found total cholesterol 6.5 mg/dl lower and diastolic pressure 2.2 mmHg lower, while fasting glucose went up by 2.1 mg/dl, and its abstract gives no intervals. So the two reviews disagree on blood pressure. A wider meta-analysis of 45 berry trials saw a pooled fall in systolic pressure of 3.68 mmHg, yet no significant effect for raspberry or strawberry on their own. Raspberries have less behind them. A cup a day for four weeks raised urolithins and related gut-derived metabolites in 35 adults, which is a change in chemistry, with no clinical outcome.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for raspberries | strawberries itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Per 100 g raw, UK tables list strawberries with 57 mg vitamin C against 19 mg in raspberries, with similar fiber of about 3.7 to 3.8 g. — CoFID 2021 entries Raspberries raw code 14-375 and Strawberries raw code 14-324, per 3.5 oz (100 g) Evidence E sourceRaspberries 25 calories, fiber 3.7 g, sugars 5.1 g, vitamin C 19 mg, folate 55 ug; strawberries 30 calories, fiber 3.8 g, sugars 6.1 g, vitamin C 57 mg, folate 61 ug
- Across 8 USDA samples each, vitamin C ranged from 47 to 72 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g) in raw strawberries and from 19 to 34 mg in raw raspberries. — USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, Strawberries raw and Raspberries raw, 8 samples each, per 3.5 oz (100 g) (n = 8 samples per food) Evidence E sourceStrawberries mean 59.62 mg (47.25-72.1); raspberries mean 23.04 mg (18.6-34.2)
- According to the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, strawberries are among the best sources of vitamin C, which is destroyed by heat, and most such fruits are eaten raw. — NIH ODS Vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals Evidence E sourceStrawberries named among best vitamin C sources; cooking and prolonged storage reduce vitamin C
What a real portion looks like
- In the US dietary survey database, one cup of raw raspberries or raw strawberries weighs 5.3 oz (150 g), one strawberry 18 g and one raspberry 2 g. — FNDDS entries Raspberries raw code 63219000 and Strawberries raw code 63223020 Evidence E source1 cup 150 g for both; 1 fruit strawberry 18 g; 1 berry raspberry 2 g; quantity not specified 75 g for both
What your body absorbs
- In a small crossover RCT, making a strawberry drink with milk instead of water cut the relative bioavailability of strawberry anthocyanins by about 50% when taken without a meal. — Healthy adults drinking a strawberry beverage made with milk or water, with a standard meal (n = 9) and without a meal (subset n = 4) (n = 9) Evidence B sourceRelative oral bioavailability of pelargonidin anthocyanins reduced by about 50% by milk without a meal; no change with a meal
- In randomized crossover meal tests in healthy women, 5.3 oz (150 g) of strawberry puree eaten with white bread improved the bread's glycemic profile by 36%. — Healthy women, white wheat bread (50 g available starch) with 150 g whole-berry puree, 2-hour meal tests (n = 13-20) Evidence B sourceGlycemic profile improved 36% with strawberries; raspberries alone not among the significant results
- In a crossover RCT of 35 adults, a cup of red raspberries a day for 4 weeks raised urolithins and other gut-derived metabolites, with a different pattern in people with prediabetes. — Adults with prediabetes and insulin resistance (n = 25) and healthy reference (n = 10), 1 cup red raspberries daily, with or without 8 g FOS, 4 weeks each (n = 35) Evidence B sourceUrolithins, phenyl-gamma-valerolactones and phenolic acids increased after 4 weeks (p < 0.05); 123 metabolites quantified
What cooking and storage change
- In adults with obesity, raspberry and mango blended by nutrient extraction had a glycemic index of 25 versus 45 when eaten whole, in a trial whose abstract does not state randomization. — Adults with obesity and healthy weight adults, raspberry/mango eaten whole or processed by nutrient extraction (fiber retained) Evidence C sourceGI 25.43 +/- 18.20 vs 44.85 +/- 20.18 (p = 0.034)
- UK tables list folate in raspberries at 55 ug per 3.5 oz (100 g) raw but 6 ug once stewed without sugar. — CoFID 2021 entries Raspberries raw code 14-375 and Raspberries stewed without sugar code 14-246, per 3.5 oz (100 g) Evidence E sourceFolate 55 to 6 ug; vitamin C 19 to 23 mg; energy 25 to 24 calories
What it does to your health
- By a meta-analysis of 14 trials, strawberry supplementation lowered total cholesterol by 6.5 mg/dl and diastolic pressure by 2.2 mmHg, but raised fasting glucose by 2.1 mg/dl. — 20 groups from 14 clinical trials of strawberry supplementation, searched 1985 to February 2019 (n = 14 trials) Evidence A sourceTC MD -6.49 mg/dl; DBP MD -2.220 mmHg; CRP MD -0.472 mg/l; fasting blood sugar MD +2.083 mg/dl
Safety, limits and interactions
- Outbreak data link frozen raspberries to 23.7% of 152 produce-borne viral outbreaks worldwide, mostly norovirus and hepatitis A. — Viral outbreaks linked to fresh produce, databases and ProMED-mail searched up to 2016 (n = 152 outbreaks) Evidence C sourceNorovirus 48.7%, hepatitis A virus 46.1%; frozen raspberries the most frequent produce (23.7%)
Who this works differently for
- By a meta-analysis of 11 RCTs, strawberry interventions lowered CRP by 0.63 mg/l and lowered LDL cholesterol by 12 mg/dL (0.31 mmol/l) only in people starting above 116 mg/dL (3 mmol/l). — Participants of 11 randomized controlled trials of strawberry interventions published before May 2019 (n = 11 RCTs) Evidence A sourceCRP -0.63 mg/l (95% CI -1.04 to -0.22); TC -0.52 mmol/l (-0.88 to -0.15) if baseline >5 mmol/l; LDL -12 mg/dL (-23 to -0.77; metric: -0.31 mmol/l, -0.60 to -0.02) if baseline >116 mg/dL (3 mmol/l); no effect on blood pressure, lipids or glucose overall
- In a 12-week crossover RCT in adults with prediabetes, 32 g freeze-dried strawberries a day lowered fasting insulin by 6.9 uIU/mL and fasting glucose by 8.9 mg/dL versus control. — Adults with prediabetes, 32 g freeze-dried strawberries (about 2.5 servings fresh) daily, 12 weeks per period, 28-week crossover (n = 25) Evidence B sourceInsulin -6.9 uIU/mL (95% CI -3.2 to -10.7); fasting glucose -8.9 mg/dL (-4.7 to -13.2); HbA1c -0.2% (-0.1 to -0.3); TC -7.0 mg/dL (-2.0 to -12.0)
- In a crossover RCT of 35 adults aged about 72, 26 g freeze-dried strawberry a day for 8 weeks lowered systolic pressure and sped processing, while episodic memory did not improve. — Healthy older adults, age 72 +/- 6 years, 26 g freeze-dried strawberry powder (about 2 cups fresh) daily for 8 weeks, 4-week washout (n = 35) Evidence B sourceSystolic blood pressure reduced (p = 0.044); processing speed improved (p < 0.001); episodic memory improved only in control phase (p = 0.002); absolute sizes not given
What is still unknown
- By a meta-analysis of 45 RCTs, pooled berries lowered systolic pressure by 3.68 mmHg, but in subgroups the effect held only for cranberry and cherry juice, not raspberry or strawberry. — Adults in 45 chronic (at least 1 week) randomized controlled trials of berries, citrus and cherries, searched to January 2020 (n = 45 RCTs) Evidence A sourceBerries SBP -3.68 mmHg (95% CI -6.79 to -0.58), DBP -1.52 mmHg (-2.87 to -0.18); subgroup effects limited to cranberry and cherry juice
The bottom line
People with prediabetes have the most specific trial. In 25 adults, 1.1 oz (32 g) of freeze-dried strawberries a day for 12 weeks lowered fasting glucose by 8.9 mg/dL (95% CI 4.7 to 13.2) and HbA1c by 0.2 points against a period without strawberries. The trial was single-blind, and it sits against the 14-trial review where glucose went slightly up. In 35 healthy adults around 72, 0.92 oz (26 g) of the powder a day for 8 weeks lowered systolic pressure, by an amount the abstract does not give, and episodic memory did not improve. In meal tests with healthy women, 5.3 oz (150 g) of strawberry puree improved the glycemic profile of white bread by 36 percent. In a small crossover trial, mixing a strawberry drink with milk instead of water halved how much of the berry pigments reached the blood when taken without a meal, a result that rests on just 4 people. Per 100 g, the UK tables give strawberries 57 mg of vitamin C and raspberries 19 mg, with about the same fiber, 3.7 to 3.8 g. Across 8 USDA samples each, vitamin C ran from 47 to 72 mg in strawberries and from 19 to 34 mg in raspberries. NIH names strawberries among the best vitamin C sources and notes that heat destroys the vitamin. A cup of either berry weighs 5.3 oz (150 g), one strawberry about 18 g. Stewed raspberries list 6 mcg of folate per 3.5 oz (100 g) against 55 mcg raw, though these are different samples measured separately. The real caution is frozen raspberries. In a review of 152 virus outbreaks linked to fresh produce worldwide up to 2016, frozen raspberries were the most frequent food, behind 23.7 percent of them, mostly norovirus and hepatitis A. Reporting varies between countries, and the risk is for berries eaten without heating. We have no card on berry allergy, so this page does not cover it.
Each food on its own
- Raspberries: small effects, one real kitchen rule — everything on this food
- Strawberries: a cup is almost a whole day of vitamin C — everything on this food
Sources
- rsst-daily-r3-11 · reference dataset
Raspberries, raw | CoFID 14-375 | Energy 25 kcal | AOAC fibre 3.7 g | Total sugars 5.1 g | Vitamin C 19 mg | Folate 55 µg || Strawberries, raw | CoFID 14-324 | Energy 30 kcal | AOAC fibre 3.8 g | Total sugars 6.1 g | Vitamin C 57 mg | Folate 61 µg
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, codes 14-375 and 14-324 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-13 · reference dataset
Strawberries, raw | Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 59.62 MG | range 47.25-72.1 | samples 8 || Raspberries, raw | Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 23.04 MG | range 18.6-34.2 | samples 8
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-15 · agency fact sheet
The best sources of vitamin C are fruits and vegetables, especially citrus fruits, red and green peppers, kiwifruit, broccoli, strawberries, and Brussels sprouts. ... The vitamin C content of food may be reduced by prolonged storage and by cooking because ascorbic acid is water soluble and is destroyed by heat [6,8]. Steaming or microwaving may lessen cooking losses. Fortunately, many of the best food sources of vitamin C, such as fruits and vegetables, are usually consumed raw.
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Vitamin C Fact Sheet for Health Professionals · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-14 · reference dataset
Raspberries, raw | FNDDS 63219000 | 1 berry 2 g | 1 cup 150 g | Quantity not specified 75 g || Strawberries, raw | FNDDS 63223020 | 1 fruit 18 g | 1 cup 150 g | Quantity not specified 75 g
USDA FNDDS, codes 63219000 and 63223020 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-06 · RCT
Milk did not influence the oral relative bioavailability of pelargonidin anthocyanins under meal conditions; however, the oral relative bioavailability of pelargonidin anthocyanins was reduced by ∼50% by milk under without meal conditions (p < 0.05).
Food Funct, 2017 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-07 · RCT
They consumed WB or RB, both equal to 50 g available starch, with 150 g whole-berry purée or the same amount of bread without berries as reference. ... Only strawberries (36%) and the berry mixture (with WB, 38%; with RB, 19%) significantly improved the glycemic profile of the breads.
J Nutr, 2013 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-08 · RCT
In a randomized crossover clinical trial, subjects (n = 35: PreDM-IR, n = 25; healthy Reference group, n = 10) consumed 1 cup RRB (fresh weight equivalence) per day and RRB with 8 g FOS per day each for 4 weeks in random order separated by 4-week washout. ... After 4-week RRB supplementation, several metabolite groups were significantly increased (p < 0.05), including urolithins, phenyl-γ-valerolactones, and phenolic acids.
Molecules, 2020 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-10 · clinical trial
Nutrient extraction was shown to significantly lower GI, compared to eating fruit whole, in subjects with obesity (raspberry/mango: 25.43 ± 18.20 vs. 44.85 ± 20.18, p = 0.034 and passion fruit/mango (26.30 ± 25.72 vs. 42.56 ± 20.64, p = 0.044).
Nutrients, 2020 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-12 · reference dataset
Raspberries, raw | CoFID 14-375 | Folate 55 µg | Vitamin C 19 mg | Energy 25 kcal || Raspberries, stewed without sugar | CoFID 14-246 | Folate 6 µg | Vitamin C 23 mg | Energy 24 kcal
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, codes 14-375 and 14-246 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-02 · meta-analysis
The pooled effect size showed that strawberry supplementation decreased circulating oxidized LDL (MD = -5.8 ng ml-1, p = 0.012), malondialdehyde (0.309 μmol L-1, p = 0.002), C-reactive protein (MD = -0.472 mg L-1, p = 0.003), total cholesterol (MD = -6.49 mg dL-1, p = 0.019), and diastolic blood pressure (MD = -2.220 mmHg, p = 0.033). It also demonstrated raised fasting blood sugar (MD = 2.083 mg dl-1; p = 0.040), but had no effect on other CVD risk factors examined.
Food Funct, 2019 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-09 · systematic review of outbreaks
The most common viral pathogens were norovirus (48·7%) and hepatitis A virus (46·1%). The most frequent type of fresh produce involved was frozen raspberries (23·7%).
J Appl Microbiol, 2018 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-01 · meta-analysis
Overall, the strawberry interventions significantly reduced CRP levels by 0·63 (95 % CI -1·04, -0·22) mg/l but did not affect blood pressure, lipid profile or fasting blood glucose in the main analyses. Our analysis stratified by baseline endpoint levels showed the strawberry interventions significantly reduced TC among people with baseline levels >5 mmol/l (-0·52 (95 % CI -0·88, -0·15) mmol/l) and reduced LDL-cholesterol among people with baseline levels >3 mmol/l (-0·31 (95 % CI -0·60, -0·02) mmol/l).
Br J Nutr, 2020 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-04 · RCT
Strawberry period significantly improved glycemic control (serum insulin, insulin resistance, fasting glucose and glycated hemoglobin) and serum total cholesterol in an adjusted model compared with control; [adjusted mean difference 95% confidence interval (CI): -6.9 μIU/mL (-3.2, -10.7) μIU/mL, -2.3 (-1.3, -3.4), -8.9 mg/dL (-4.7, -13.2) mg/dL, and -0.2% (-0.1, -0.3)%, and -7.0 mg/dL (-2.0, -12.0) mg/dL, respectively, all P < 0.05].
J Nutr, 2025 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-05 · RCT
Using a randomized, crossover, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial, 35 healthy older adults (17 women, 18 men, age 72 ± 6 years, BMI 26.4 ± 3.9 kg/m2) consumed 26 g of freeze-dried strawberry powder (strawberry) and a control powder (control) daily for 8 weeks each with a 4-week washout period. ... Processing speed (p < 0.001) improved during the strawberry phase and episodic memory (p = 0.002) improved during the control phase. For cardiovascular measures, strawberry consumption reduced systolic blood pressure (p = 0.044)
Nutr Metab Cardiovasc Dis, 2025 · checked 2026-09-28 - rsst-daily-r3-03 · meta-analysis
Berries including juice of barberry, cranberry, grape, pomegranate, powder of blueberry, grape, raspberry and freeze-dried strawberry significantly reduced SBP by 3.68 mmHg (95% CI - 6.79 to - 0.58; P = 0.02) and DBP by 1.52 mmHg (95% CI - 2.87 to - 0.18, P = 0.04). ... No other significant improvements were observed for other specified fruits.
Eur J Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-09-28
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-28 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.