Pizza rolls: the salt is on record, the health effect is untested
Pizza rolls have been studied once as a food, and only for how much people eat. In a crossover trial, 18 older adults with a mean age of 72 were served pizza rolls at lunch and told to eat until comfortably full. They ate between 164 and 178 g, about twice the 85 g the US dietary survey counts as a serving. Asking them to chew each bite longer slowed their eating from 22.5 to 13.7 g per second and did not significantly change how much they ate, in a small trial with a single test food. Per 3.5 oz (100 g) of the frozen, unprepared product, USDA lists 599 mg of sodium, 26 percent of the Daily Value, from one record with no data on how brands differ. At that value the 85 g survey serving carries about 510 mg. That figure is arithmetic on the USDA number, and nobody measured it in a real serving.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pizza rolls, frozen, unprepared | 328 | 8.73 g | 9.98 g | 50.7 g | 1.2 g |
These are the USDA entries that are pizza rolls, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pizza rolls | 345 | 9.19 g | 10.5 g | 53.4 g | 1.3 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): pizza rolls as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- USDA lists frozen unprepared pizza rolls at 599 mg sodium, 50.7 g carbohydrate and 8.7 g protein per 3.5 oz (100 g). — — (n = 1 record) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: sodium 599 mg (26% DV), carbohydrate 50.72 g, protein 8.73 g, selenium 12.1 ug, folate 71 ug
- In NHANES 2021-2023 one-day recalls, US adults 19 and older ate a median 2,884 mg of sodium a day. — US adults 19+, NHANES 2021-2023, one-day recall, weighted (n = 4886) Evidence E sourceSodium median 2884 mg/day, p25 2065, p75 3987; men higher than women (median 3361 vs 2555 mg)
What a real portion looks like
- In the US dietary survey, one pizza roll weighs 14 g, a cup of them 119 g, and an unspecified serving is counted as 85 g, about six rolls. — — Evidence E source1 pizza roll 14 g; 1 cup 119 g; quantity not specified 85 g; 1 Bagel Bite 22 g
- In a crossover trial of 18 older adults eating pizza rolls until comfortably full, they ate 5.8 to 6.3 oz (164 to 178 g) per meal, and chewing longer slowed eating rate without reducing intake. — 18 older adults (14 women), mean age 72, three lunch sessions (n = 18) Evidence B sourceIntake 177.8, 164.0 and 166.6 g at 100%, 150%, 200% of habitual chews (no significant difference); eating rate 22.5 vs 13.7 g/s
What it does to your health
- In an NIH inpatient crossover RCT of 20 adults, an ultra-processed diet led people to eat 508 calories a day more and gain 2 lb (0.9 kg) in two weeks compared with an unprocessed diet. — 20 weight-stable adults, inpatient, 2 weeks per diet (n = 20) Evidence B source+508 +/- 106 calories/day (p = 0.0001); weight +2 lb (0.9 kg) vs -2 lb (-0.9 kg)
- A 2026 meta-analysis of 23 observational studies in 155,000 adolescents linked higher ultra-processed food intake with 63% greater odds of overweight or obesity. — 155,000 adolescents in 23 observational studies (n = 155000) Evidence C sourceOR 1.63 (95% CI 1.36-1.95)
The bottom line
What pizza rolls do to health has not been tested directly. The evidence here is about ultra-processed food as a category, which pizza rolls belong to. In an NIH inpatient crossover trial, 20 weight-stable adults ate 508 calories a day more on an ultra-processed diet than on an unprocessed one and gained 2 lb (0.9 kg) in two weeks, while they lost 2 lb (0.9 kg) on the unprocessed diet. Pizza rolls were not among the tested foods. A 2026 meta-analysis of 23 observational studies in 155,000 adolescents linked higher ultra-processed food intake with 63 percent greater odds of overweight or obesity (odds ratio 1.63, 95% CI 1.36 to 1.95). It is an association in teenagers. It cannot show what any single food does. Sodium is the practical number. US adults already eat a median 2,884 mg a day in national survey data from 2021 to 2023, from a single day of recall that undercounts salt added at the table. A serving of pizza rolls adds to that total. We found no study of allergy, children, pregnancy or medicines for this product, so the page has no safety section. Read that as missing evidence, and do not read it as a clean bill of health.
More from the same food group (meals, entrees, and side dishes)
- Potato salad with egg: a cold dish whose real risk is the picnic table
- Ravioli: the pasta science is borrowed, the salt is its own
- Spaghetti with meat sauce: pasta, tomato and what the trials tested
- Pasta with tomato sauce: where the sodium and calories come from
- Lasagna with meat sauce: a dish studied only as pasta
- Lasagna: a dish the science has only studied in pieces
Sources
- pzrl-daily-r3-01 · USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy, dataset
Pizza rolls, frozen, unprepared (FDC 168957, SR Legacy, Meals, Entrees, and Side Dishes): sodium 599 mg = 26% DV; carbohydrate 50.72 g = 18% DV; protein 8.73 g = 17% DV; selenium 12.1 ug = 22% DV; folate 71 ug = 18% DV; per 100 g; Foundation samples 0, CoFID match none
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, Pizza rolls, frozen, unprepared, FDC 168957 · checked 2026-09-29 - pzrl-daily-r3-06 · NHANES, dataset
sodium_mg, NHANES 2021-2023, weighted: all 19+ n 4886, mean 3206, p25 2065, median 2884, p75 3987, p95 6248
NHANES 2021-2023, dietary sodium, US adults 19+, weighted · checked 2026-09-29 - pzrl-daily-r3-02 · reference dataset
Pizza rolls, FNDDS 58108050, fdc_id 2708686: 1 pizza roll 14 g | 1 miniature roll 14 g | 1 pizza bite 14 g | 1 Bagel Bite 22 g | 1 cup 119 g | Quantity not specified 85 g
USDA FNDDS (FoodData Central survey 2024-10-31), Pizza rolls, food code 58108050, fdc_id 2708686 · checked 2026-09-29 - pzrl-daily-r3-03 · RCT
There was no significant difference in food intake between test sessions (177.8±43.0g, 164.0±41.7g, and 166.6±33.0g for 100%, 150% and 200% of HNC, respectively).
Physiol Behav, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - pzrl-daily-r3-04 · RCT
Energy intake was greater during the ultra-processed diet (508 ± 106 kcal/day; p = 0.0001), with increased consumption of carbohydrate (280 ± 54 kcal/day; p < 0.0001) and fat (230 ± 53 kcal/day; p = 0.0004), but not protein (-2 ± 12 kcal/day; p = 0.85).
Cell Metab, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29 - pzrl-daily-r3-05 · meta-analysis
Twenty-three studies involving 155,000 adolescents were included. Adolescents with higher UPF consumption had 63% greater odds of overweight or obesity compared with those with lower intake (OR = 1.63; 95% CI: 1.36-1.95).
PLoS One, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.