Oatmeal cookies: the oat cholesterol effect needs a dose
The cholesterol reputation of oats is real, and it is tied to a dose. A meta-analysis of 28 randomized trials found that 3 g or more a day of oat beta-glucan lowered LDL cholesterol by 9.7 mg/dL (95% CI 7.7 to 12; metric: 0.25 mmol/L, 0.20 to 0.30) over 2 to 12 weeks. In 17 trials in 1731 adults with dyslipidemia, oat products lowered LDL by 9.3 mg/dL (95% CI 5.8 to 13; metric: 0.24 mmol/L, 0.15 to 0.33), with moderate certainty and a high or unclear risk of bias. The US heart claim for oats likewise requires 3 g of beta-glucan a day. We found no study that measured how much beta-glucan an oatmeal cookie delivers, and no trial that tested cookies on cholesterol. So the oat evidence does not transfer to the cookie on its own.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cookies, oatmeal, commercially prepared, regular | 450 | 6.2 g | 18.1 g | 68.7 g | 2.8 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, commercially prepared, soft-type | 409 | 6.1 g | 14.7 g | 65.7 g | 2.7 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, commercially prepared, special dietary | 449 | 4.8 g | 18 g | 69.9 g | 2.9 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, dry mix | 462 | 6.5 g | 19.2 g | 67.3 g | — g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, prepared from recipe, without raisins | 447 | 6.8 g | 17.9 g | 66.4 g | — g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, reduced fat | 365 | 4.02 g | 10 g | 64.6 g | 16.1 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, refrigerated dough | 424 | 5.4 g | 18.9 g | 59.1 g | 2.5 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, refrigerated dough, baked | 471 | 6 g | 21 g | 65.7 g | 2.8 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, soft, with raisins | 430 | 5.79 g | 14.3 g | 69.6 g | 3.3 g |
| Cookies, oatmeal, with raisins | 441 | 5.86 g | 15.8 g | 69 g | 3.3 g |
These are the USDA entries that are oatmeal cookies, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cookie, oatmeal | 450 | 6.2 g | 18.1 g | 68.7 g | 2.8 g |
| Cookie, oatmeal, reduced fat, NS as to raisins | 365 | 4.02 g | 10 g | 64.6 g | 16.1 g |
| Cookie, oatmeal, reduced sugar | 449 | 4.8 g | 18 g | 69.9 g | 2.9 g |
| Cookie, oatmeal, with chocolate and peanut butter, no bake | 450 | 6.2 g | 18.1 g | 68.7 g | 2.8 g |
| Cookie, oatmeal, with chocolate chips | 457 | 5.72 g | 20.9 g | 67.6 g | 3.5 g |
| Cookie, oatmeal, with raisins | 450 | 6.2 g | 18.1 g | 68.7 g | 2.8 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): oatmeal cookies as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- USDA's reference record for soft oatmeal raisin cookies lists 69.6 g carbohydrate, 4.78 g saturated fat and 0.295 mg thiamin per 3.5 oz (100 g), with thiamin ranging 0.19 to 0.41 mg across six Foundation samples. — USDA Foundation record Cookies, oatmeal, soft, with raisins, plus 11 related USDA records (n = 11 records; 6 Foundation samples for thiamin) Evidence E sourceCarbohydrate 69.6 g (range 55.62-69.9 across 11 records); saturated fat 4.78 g (2.693-5.439); thiamin 0.295 mg (0.142-0.46; Foundation samples 0.19-0.41, n=6) per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- The US dietary survey counts a small oatmeal cookie as 20 g, a medium one as 30 g and a large one as 45 g. — USDA FNDDS food code 53233000, Cookie, oatmeal Evidence E sourceBite size 5 g; small 20 g; medium 30 g; large 45 g; quantity not specified 60 g
What cooking and storage change
- A meta-analysis of 28 occurrence studies of wheat-based foods such as bread, cookies and pasta found baking contaminants, with acrylamide highest at a pooled 136.29 micrograms per kg. — Wheat-based foods including cookies, 28 studies (n = 28 studies) Evidence C sourceAcrylamide 136.29 mcg/kg; HMF 70.59 mcg/kg; PAHs 0.11 mcg/kg
What it does to your health
- A meta-analysis of 28 randomized trials found that at least 3 g a day of oat beta-glucan lowered LDL cholesterol by 9.7 mg/dL (0.25 mmol/L) over 2 to 12 weeks, a dose a typical oatmeal cookie is not shown to deliver. — Adults in randomized trials, oat beta-glucan 3.0-12.4 g/day for 2-12 weeks (n = 28 RCTs) Evidence A sourceLDL -9.7 mg/dL (95% CI 7.7 to 12; metric: -0.25 mmol/L, 0.20 to 0.30); total cholesterol -12 mg/dL (95% CI 9.3 to 14; metric: -0.30 mmol/L, 0.24 to 0.35)
- A meta-analysis of 17 randomized trials in 1731 people with dyslipidemia found oat-based products lowered LDL cholesterol by 9.3 mg/dL (0.24 mmol/L) versus placebo or usual diet. — Adults with dyslipidemia, oat products for at least 4 weeks (n = 1731) Evidence A sourceLDL-C WMD -9.3 mg/dL (95% CI -13 to -5.8; metric: -0.24 mmol/L, -0.33 to -0.15); TC -0.32 mmol/L (95% CI -0.48 to -0.17); moderate certainty
- A meta-analysis of 28 blinded randomized trials in 1494 adults found whole oat interventions lowered total cholesterol (SMD -0.61) and LDL (SMD -0.51) without changing HDL. — Adults with or without hyperlipidemia, interventions of at least 2 weeks (n = 1494) Evidence A sourceParallel trials: TC SMD -0.61 (95% CI -0.84 to -0.39); LDL SMD -0.51 (95% CI -0.71 to -0.31); HDL unchanged
Safety, limits and interactions
- The same meta-analysis of 17 trials in 1731 people reported that side effects of oat products were mostly gastrointestinal, chiefly diarrhea, nausea and flatulence. — Adults with dyslipidemia in oat product trials (n = 1731) Evidence A sourceAdverse events mostly gastrointestinal (diarrhea, nausea, flatulence)
- A scoping review of 27,806 food samples found gluten cross-contact above 20 mg/kg in about 11% of samples, with oats showing the highest average contamination. — Real-life food samples tested for gluten, 59 studies from 28 countries (n = 27806 samples) Evidence C source11% of samples > 20 mg/kg; 0.51% > 200 mg/kg; oats highest average contamination
What people believe that the data does not support
- The US heart health claim for oats applies only when the diet supplies 3 g or more per day of beta-glucan soluble fiber from whole oats or barley. — US food labeling rule Evidence E sourceThreshold 3 g/day beta-glucan
- In a randomized crossover trial in 14 inactive women, labeling a lunch of pasta, yogurt and oatmeal cookies as low fat made it seem healthier but did not change how much they ate. — Inactive premenopausal women, 4 lab sessions (n = 14) Evidence B sourceNo effect of labeling on energy intake; low-fat label raised perceived healthiness; belief-intake correlation rho = 0.34
Who this works differently for
- Pooled clinical and observational data link pure, uncontaminated oats eaten for 12 months to no worsening of symptoms or gut histology in people with celiac disease, though evidence quality was low. — Patients with celiac disease on a gluten-free diet, 8 controlled trials with 661 patients plus observational studies (n = 661) Evidence C sourceSymptom score SMD -0.22 (95% CI -0.56 to 0.13); histology RR 0.24 (95% CI 0.01-4.8)
- The Canadian Celiac Association advises that pure oats are safe for most people with celiac disease in limited amounts, up to 70 g a day for adults and 25 g for children. — People with celiac disease, Canada Evidence E sourceUp to 70 g/day adults; up to 25 g/day children, pure oats only
The bottom line
What the cookie reliably is, by the numbers, is a baked sweet. USDA lists a soft oatmeal raisin cookie at 69.6 g carbohydrate and 4.78 g saturated fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), from one reference record, with carbohydrate ranging 55.62 to 69.9 g across 11 related records. Thiamin is 0.295 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g), and six lab samples ranged 0.19 to 0.41 mg. The US survey counts a small cookie as 20 g, a medium one as 30 g and a large one as 45 g, so a cookie is a fraction of those 100 g figures. Home recipes vary. Health labels shape belief more than appetite. In 14 inactive women, calling a lunch of pasta, yogurt and oatmeal cookies low fat made it seem healthier, and it did not change how much they ate. Baked wheat foods carry cooking contaminants. Across 28 occurrence studies of bread, cookies and pasta, acrylamide had the highest pooled level at 136.29 micrograms per kg, with no figure for oatmeal cookies alone. If you have celiac disease, read this part closely. In people with celiac disease, pure uncontaminated oats for 12 months did not worsen symptoms or gut histology, on low quality evidence. The Canadian Celiac Association puts the safe amount of pure oats at up to 70 g a day for adults and 25 g for children. A cookie is a different product from pure oats, and nothing here shows that an oatmeal cookie is gluten-free. In a review of 27,806 food samples, 11 percent carried gluten above 20 mg/kg, and oats showed the highest average cross-contact. In oat trials the side effects were mostly gut symptoms, chiefly diarrhea, nausea and flatulence, with no rates given in the abstract.
Related foods
More from the same food group (baked products)
- Peach pie: what a slice holds and who should pass on it
- Pecan pie: the nut has trials, the pie has none
- Pepperidge Farm: the research is about the category
- Oatmeal bread: the oat name without a known oat dose
- Nabisco: one brand, sodium from 174 to 882 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g)
- Naan bread: every trial used a different flatbread
Sources
- oatck-daily-r7-01 · USDA FoodData Central Foundation, dataset
Cookies, oatmeal, soft, with raisins (FDC 333008, foundation, Baked Products): carbohydrate 69.6 g per 100 g = 25% DV (11 records 55.62-69.9); thiamin 0.295 mg = 25% DV (11 records 0.142-0.46, Foundation samples 0.19-0.41 n=6); saturated fat 4.78 g = 24% DV (11 records 2.693-5.439); CoFID match none
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, FDC 333008 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-02 · USDA FNDDS portion, dataset
Cookie, oatmeal (FNDDS 53233000, FDC 2707945, WWEIA Cookies and brownies): 1 miniature/bite size = 5 g; 1 small = 20 g; 1 medium = 30 g; 1 large = 45 g; quantity not specified = 60 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 53233000, FDC 2707945 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-10 · Meta-analysis of occurrence studies
Most studies (69.7%) evaluated acrylamide in bread, cookies, and pasta, while PAHs (26.2%) were determined mainly in wheat grains and pasta. HMF was the least determined contaminant (4.1%), with only four studies on cookies included in the meta-analysis. The highest concentration was for acrylamide (136.29 µg·kg-1) followed by HMF (70.59 µg·kg-1) and PAHs (0.11 µg·kg-1).
Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-03 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
OBG in doses of ≥3 g/d reduced low-density lipoprotein (LDL) and total cholesterol relative to control by 0.25 mmol/L (95% CI: 0.20, 0.30; P < 0.0001) and 0.30 mmol/L (95% CI: 0.24, 0.35; P < 0.0001), respectively
Am J Clin Nutr, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-04 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Pooled estimates showed that oat-based products may result in a large reduction in LDL-C (WMD, -0.24 mmol L-1; 95% CI: -0.33, -0.15) (moderate certainty) and TC (WMD, -0.32 mmol L-1; 95% CI: -0.48, -0.17) (moderate certainty).
Food Funct, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-06 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Oat interventions TC (-0.61, 95%CI: -0.84;-0.39, p < 0.00001, and -0.70, 95%CI: -1.07;-0.34, p = 0.0002, respectively) and LDL (-0.51, 95%CI: -0.71;-0.31, p < 0.00001, and -0.38, 95%CI: -0.60;-0.15, p = 0.001, respectively).
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-05 · Meta-analysis of RCTs
Oat-related adverse events were mostly gastrointestinal such as diarrhea, nausea, and flatulence being the most prevalent.
Food Funct, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-09 · Scoping review
The analysis identified 27,806 food samples, predominantly analyzed by sandwich ELISA R5. Of these, 3100 (11 %) had a gluten content exceeding 20 mg/kg, 359 samples (1.3 %) contained >80 mg/kg, and 142 samples (0.51 %) > 200 mg/kg. ... Oats showed the highest average cross-contamination and variability
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-11 · Regulation
3 g or more per day of β-glucan soluble fiber from either whole oats or barley, or a combination of whole oats and barley.
21 CFR 101.81, Health claims: Soluble fiber from certain foods and risk of coronary heart disease (CHD) · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-12 · Randomized crossover trial
The lunch was composed of a plate of pasta, yogurt, and oatmeal cookies, which had the same nutritional composition across the 4 experimental conditions. ... There were no effects of exercise and food labelling on EI. However, meals labelled as LF were perceived as heathier, and this label was associated with higher prospective food consumption.
J Obes, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-07 · Meta-analysis of clinical and observational studies
All randomized controlled trials used pure/uncontaminated oats. Oat consumption for 12 months did not affect symptoms (standardized mean difference: reduction in symptom scores in patients who did and did not consume oats, -0.22; 95% CI, -0.56 to 0.13; P = .22), histologic scores (relative risk for histologic findings in patients who consumed oats, 0.24; 95% CI, 0.01-4.8; P = .35)
Gastroenterology, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29 - oatck-daily-r7-08 · Position statement
For adults, up to 70 g (1/2 to 3/4 cup) of oats per day and for children, up to 25 g (1/4 cup) per day are safe to consume.
Can J Gastroenterol, 2007 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.