Oat milk: one real cholesterol trial, and a carton that decides the rest
Oat milk has a real cholesterol trial behind it, run on the drink itself. Men with moderately high cholesterol drank 0.75 litres a day for five weeks, and their total and LDL cholesterol both came down 6 percent against a rice milk control. A cup is 244 g, so that is about three cups a day, and 52 of the 66 men finished both halves of the study. The drink they were given carried 0.5 g of beta-glucan per 100 g, against less than 0.02 g in the control. That number belongs to the drink made for that trial in 1999, not to the carton in your fridge, and most cartons never print beta-glucan at all. The rest of what we found is thinner than the reputation. The one absorption study on this page gave people a turmeric supplement with oat milk and then measured what happened to the turmeric, so it tells you something about capsules and nothing about breakfast. Sixteen unsweetened oat milks analysed by USDA ranged from 48 to 300 mg of calcium per 100 g, and vitamin B12 ran from none at all to 0.89 micrograms.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 100 g
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oat milk, unsweetened, plain, refrigerated | 48 | 0.8 g | 5.1 g | 0 g |
These are the USDA entries that are oat milk, not foods made from it. Follow a name for the full profile and per-portion figures.
How much is actually in it
- The oat milk that lowered cholesterol had its insoluble fibre stripped out in production and still carried 0.5 g of beta-glucan per 100 g, against less than 0.02 g in the control drink. — the test drink used in the 1999 crossover trial, compared with an identically flavoured rice milk control (n = two drinks compared) Evidence B sourceBeta-glucan 0.5 g per 100 g in the oat milk against less than 0.02 g per 100 g in the control; both drinks scored alike on sensory evaluation
What a real portion looks like
- A cup of oat milk is 244 g, so the 0.75 litres that moved cholesterol in the 1999 trial is about three cups a day. — household measures recorded for Oat milk in the USDA food and nutrient database for dietary studies (n = 5 household measures for FNDDS code 11360200) Evidence E source1 cup 244 g; 1 fl oz 30 g; guideline amount per cup of hot cereal 61 g; quantity not specified 244 g
What your body absorbs
- Taking a turmeric supplement with oat milk raised curcuminoid absorption more than any of five other foods tested: 24-hour exposure up 76% and peak blood level up 105% against the same dose in a capsule. What was measured is a curcumin capsule swallowed with a food, so it says nothing about the nutrients in the drink itself, and nobody measured medicines this way. — healthy adults taking one turmeric supplement formulation in six different food matrices in random order, plasma sampled over 24 hours, with no medicine and no nutrient of the drink measured (n = not stated in the abstract) Evidence B sourceOat milk raised dose-normalised AUC24h by 76% (p < 0.0001) and Cmax by 105% (p < 0.0001); a sports bar gave 40% and 74%, a probiotic drink 35% and 52%, while a fruit nectar and gummies were bioequivalent to capsules
What it does to your health
- Drinking 0.75 litres of oat milk a day for 5 weeks lowered total cholesterol by 6% and LDL cholesterol by 6% in men with moderate hypercholesterolemia, against a rice milk control. — 66 free-living men with moderate hypercholesterolemia, 52 completing both periods (n = 52 analysed of 66 randomised) Evidence B sourceTotal cholesterol 6% lower (p = 0.005) and LDL cholesterol 6% lower (p = 0.036) than control; the fall in LDL was larger the higher the starting value (r = -0.55, p < 0.001); HDL unchanged
Safety, limits and interactions
- A 5-year-old girl in a high-income country lost her sight permanently to vitamin A deficiency after more than 2 years on a diet limited mainly to oat milk. — one 5-year-old girl in Italy with a highly restricted diet (n = 1) Evidence D sourceIrreversible ocular sequelae despite retinol supplementation, alongside opportunistic infection, anaemia, poor growth and squamous metaplasia of the bladder
What people believe that the data does not support
- Europe authorises the cholesterol claim for oat beta-glucan, not for oat milk: the register names the substance, so a carton earns the words only if it carries enough of it. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot of 2026-09-21 (n = 6 claims mentioning oat beta-glucan: 2 authorised, 4 non-authorised; zero claims name oat milk) Evidence E sourcePOL-HC-6248 (Oat beta-glucan) and POL-HC-6331 (beta-glucans from oats and barley) are Authorised; four others, including three in Estonian, are Non-authorised
What is still unknown
- Sixteen unsweetened oat milks analysed by USDA differ more than sixfold in calcium (48 to 300 mg per 100 g), and at least one carries no vitamin B12 at all (0 to 0.89 ug), so the carton decides what you get, not the category. — Oat milk, unsweetened, plain, refrigerated (FDC 2257046), USDA Foundation Foods sample analyses (n = 16 samples for calcium, 14 for riboflavin and vitamin B12, 13 for vitamin D, 8 for fat) Evidence E sourceCalcium 148.5 mg per 100 g, range 48.0 to 300.0, n=16; vitamin B12 0.5064 ug, range 0.0 to 0.89, n=14; riboflavin 0.2807 mg, range 0.055 to 0.49, n=14; vitamin D2 1.694 ug, range 0.0 to 2.64, n=13; fat 2.749 g, range 0.22 to 4.68, n=8; protein 0.797 g, range 0.375 to 1.1875
The bottom line
The cholesterol number on this page came from men with moderately high cholesterol who drank 0.75 litres a day for five weeks. Women were not in that study, and neither was anyone whose cholesterol was already normal. The men who started highest were the ones whose LDL fell furthest (r = -0.55), so if yours is in range, there is no ground here to expect those 6 percent. If you drink oat milk for your cholesterol anyway, the thing to look for is beta-glucan, and most cartons never print it. Europe authorises the cholesterol wording for oat beta-glucan itself, because the register lists the substance and a drink earns those words only when it carries enough of it. Six entries there mention oat beta-glucan, two authorised and four refused, and none of the six names oat milk. Read the label for everything else too. Across those sixteen USDA samples calcium varied more than sixfold, and at least one product had no vitamin B12 in it at all. Oat milk is fortified or it is not, and the word on the front tells you nothing about which one you are holding. If you are an adult drinking it in place of dairy, the fortified kind is the one doing that job. For a baby or a toddler we have nothing here that would make any plant drink a stand-in for breast milk, formula or cow milk, and the one child in our safety record was five years old and eating almost nothing else. Where we have nothing, we would rather say so than round it off. Our only safety record here is one report: a five-year-old girl in Italy who ate almost nothing but oat milk for more than two years and lost her sight permanently to vitamin A deficiency. One child on an extreme diet tells you what happens when a drink replaces food, and it says nothing about the splash in your coffee. Past that report we found no studies of oat milk in pregnancy, in older people, in kidney disease, or in children eating normally. Our drug interaction data is filed by nutrient, so it holds nothing on oat milk either. Nobody has measured how much of the added calcium you actually absorb from it. Those are holes in the research, and we will fill them when somebody does the work.
Sources
- omlk-r1-02 · randomised controlled trial
The oat milk contained more dietary fiber, especially beta-glucan (0.5 g/100 g), than the control drink (<0.02 g/100 g).
Ann Nutr Metab, 1999 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-07 · reference dataset
Oat milk - FNDDS 11360200 - 1 cup 244 g - 1 fl oz 30 g - Guideline amount per fl oz of beverage 2 g - Guideline amount per cup of hot cereal 61 g - Quantity not specified 244 g
USDA FNDDS, Oat milk, food code 11360200 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-03 · randomised controlled trial
The dairy analogue showed the highest increase in dose-normalized AUC24 h (+76%, p < 0.0001) and Cmax (+105%, p < 0.0001).
Food Funct, 2025 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-01 · randomised controlled trial
Compared with the control drink, intake of oat milk resulted in significantly lower serum total cholesterol (6%, p = 0.005) and LDL cholesterol (6%, p = 0.036) levels.
Ann Nutr Metab, 1999 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-04 · case report
In the case described, VAD ensued from a highly restricted diet, mainly limited to oat milk, which had been followed for more than 2 years.
Pediatrics, 2018 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-05 · regulatory register entry
POL-HC-6248 Oat beta-glucan Oat beta-glucan has been shown to lower/reduce blood cholesterol. High cholesterol is a risk factor in the development of coronary heart disease -/- Authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6248, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-23 - omlk-r1-06 · reference dataset
Oat milk, unsweetened, plain, refrigerated - Calcium, Ca 148.5 MG, range 48.0-300.0, n=16 - Vitamin B-12 0.5064 UG, range 0.0-0.89, n=14 - Riboflavin 0.2807 MG, range 0.055-0.49, n=14 - Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) 1.694 UG, range 0.0-2.64, n=13 - Total lipid (fat) 2.749 G, range 0.22-4.68, n=8 - Protein 0.796875 G, range 0.375-1.1875
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-23
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-24 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.