Falafel: strong evidence for the chickpea, almost none for the patty
The good numbers attached to falafel belong to what it is made of. Across 38 randomised trials in 2095 adults, a median 130 g a day of whole pulses lowered LDL cholesterol by 0.14 mmol/L (95% CI -0.19 to -0.08) over a median of six weeks. The authors of that pooled analysis write that chickpea-specific trials are still wanted. A second meta-analysis, 12 randomised trials in 182 healthy or normoglycaemic adults, found chickpeas raised blood glucose after a meal less than potatoes or wheat did, in single-meal tests on plain cooked chickpeas. Neither set of trials fed anyone a chickpea patty deep fried and served with a sesame sauce, so those figures describe the ingredient. Falafel itself has produced no trial of its own that we could find. It has produced allergy reports, a haemolysis register and a sampling study of ready-to-eat restaurant food, which is to say the literature on the dish is a literature of harms. The food tables cannot even agree on its composition. USDA lists home-prepared falafel at 13.31 g of protein and 104 mcg of folate per 100 g and the UK table at 6.4 g and 33 mcg, a gap far wider than frying explains. Home-made falafel has no fixed recipe, and neither record is a sampled Foundation Foods entry.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 100 g
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Falafel, home-prepared | 333 | 13.3 g | 31.8 g | — g |
These are the USDA entries that are falafel, not foods made from it. Follow a name for the full profile and per-portion figures.
How much is actually in it
- The US and UK food tables put home-made falafel twice as far apart as any cooking difference would explain. USDA gives 13.31 g of protein and 104 mcg of folate per 100 g, the UK table 6.4 g and 33 mcg, while copper agrees within 8 percent. — USDA SR Legacy record Falafel, home-prepared (FDC 172455) against CoFID 2021 record Falafel, fried in rapeseed oil, homemade (15-795), per 100 g (n = 1 USDA record, 1 CoFID record) Evidence E sourceProtein 13.31 vs 6.4 g (52% apart), folate 104 vs 33 mcg (68% apart), copper 0.258 vs 0.28 mg (8% apart)
What a real portion looks like
- In the US food survey one falafel patty weighs 17 g, so the usual plate of five is about 85 g, while a falafel sandwich is counted at 215 g whatever its size. — USDA FNDDS 2021-2023 household measures for Falafel (fdc_id 2707408) and Falafel sandwich (fdc_id 2707483) (n = FNDDS 5,432 foods and 22,046 household measures) Evidence E sourceFalafel, FNDDS code 41209000: 1 patty 17 g, quantity not specified 28 g. Falafel sandwich, FNDDS code 41901030: 1 sandwich of any size 215 g
What it does to your health
- Chickpeas belong to the pulses, and across 38 randomised trials in 2095 people a median 130 g a day of whole pulses lowered LDL cholesterol by 0.14 mmol/L (95% CI -0.19 to -0.08) over a median of six weeks. — 38 randomised trials, 52 comparisons, 2095 adults, trials of at least three weeks, median dose 130 g/day of whole pulses (n = 2095 across 38 trials) Evidence A sourceLDL cholesterol -0.14 mmol/L (95% CI -0.19 to -0.08), non-HDL cholesterol -0.22 mmol/L (95% CI -0.30 to -0.14), apoB -0.08 g/L (95% CI -0.13 to -0.03), HDL -0.03 mmol/L (95% CI -0.05 to -0.01); GRADE moderate to high except apoB
- Pooling 12 randomised trials in 182 healthy or normoglycaemic adults, chickpeas raised blood glucose after a meal less than potatoes or wheat did, measured as incremental area under the curve. — 12 randomised trials selected from 118 records, 182 participants, healthy or normoglycaemic adults, chickpeas compared with wheat, potatoes, pasta, sauce, cheese, rice and corn (n = 182 across 12 trials) Evidence A sourceChickpeas more effective than potatoes and wheat at reducing blood glucose incremental area under the curve; insulin effects inconsistent in statistical significance
Safety, limits and interactions
- Falafel is served with a sesame sauce, and a Zurich allergy unit logged three anaphylactic reactions to falafel burgers in sesame-allergic patients in 1991 alone, out of nine systemic sesame reactions seen over 13 years. — nine patients with systemic allergic reactions to sesame seeds at the Allergy Unit, Department of Dermatology, Zurich, Switzerland, 1978 to 1991 (n = 9 patients, 3 of them reacting to falafel) Evidence C sourceThree anaphylactic reactions to falafel vegetable burgers in one year among sesame-allergic patients; the authors note the ingredients of such burgers are often not declared
- Sesame is not the only allergen falafel can carry. A 28-year-old woman had anaphylaxis to falafel that an oral food challenge traced to pea, a flour increasingly used in vegan products. — one 28-year-old woman, diagnosis by history, sensitisation profile and oral food challenge (n = 1) Evidence C sourceAnaphylactic reaction to falafel, type 1 allergy to pea (Pisum sativum) confirmed by oral food challenge
- Since 1 January 2023 sesame is the ninth major food allergen in the United States, so packaged falafel and the tahini sold with it must name sesame on the label. — packaged foods and dietary supplements sold in the United States Evidence E sourceSesame must be declared as an allergen on packaged foods and dietary supplements from 1 January 2023 under the FASTER Act
- Falafel sandwiches were one of four ready-to-eat foods sampled in restaurants in Al-Qassim, Saudi Arabia, and across 80 samples E. coli turned up in 32.5% and S. aureus in 27.5%, with the worst contamination in chicken shawarma. — 80 ready-to-eat food samples including chicken shawarma, shish tawook, chicken burgers and falafel sandwiches, restaurants in Al-Qassim, Saudi Arabia, September to November 2024 (n = 80 samples) Evidence C sourceEscherichia coli 32.5%, Staphylococcus aureus 27.5%, Acinetobacter baumannii 18.75%; E. coli isolates fully resistant to ampicillin, amoxicillin-clavulanic acid, cefoxitin and cephalothin, 80.8% resistant to norfloxacin
What people believe that the data does not support
- Whether falafel counts as fast food is itself contested. Among 795 Jordanian adolescents, boys and girls differed significantly in calling a falafel sandwich fast food (p < 0.044). — 400 boys and 395 girls aged 15 to 18 in Jordan, validated questionnaire, 2013 to 2014 (n = 795) Evidence C sourceSignificant gender difference in perceiving a falafel sandwich as fast food (p < 0.044), alongside French fries (p < 0.012), fried chicken (p < 0.001) and foul sandwich (p < 0.001); western or non-Arab origin and high calorie content drove the fast food label
- Falafel is the default plant option on menus, and in a randomised online choice study of 704 UK meat-eaters the plant-based dish was picked 30.4% of the time when it did not mirror the meat dish against 21.2% when it did. — 704 UK meat-eaters in study 1 and 220 vegetarians and vegans in study 2, each completing 10 hypothetical menu choice tasks online (n = 704 meat-eaters and 220 vegetarians and vegans) Evidence B sourcePlant-based selection 21.2% matched vs 30.4% unmatched with two meals on the menu, 37.4% vs 44.6% with three meals; vegetarians and vegans showed no such difference
Who this works differently for
- For people with G6PD deficiency falafel is a listed trigger of haemolysis. In 1000 Egyptian patients it preceded the crisis in 194 cases (19.4%), second only to fava beans at 32.6%. — 1000 patients registered with G6PD deficiency anaemia, Hematology Unit, Tanta University Hospital, Egypt, November 2011 to November 2016 (n = 1000) Evidence C sourceDiet precipitated haemolysis in 834 patients (83.4%), of which fava beans 326 (32.6%), falafel 194 (19.4%), chick pea 108 (10.8%), broad bean 76 (7.6%); symptoms appeared 24 to 72 hours after exposure
- Among 124 Egyptian migraine patients, falafel was one of the foods that patients reported eating and that the study found significantly associated with chronic rather than episodic migraine. — 124 adults meeting ICHD-3 criteria for migraine at three university headache clinics in Egypt, January to June 2020, 81.5% women (n = 124) Evidence C sourceFalafel, fava beans, fried meat, fried chicken, processed meats, aged and salted cheeses, citrus, tea, coffee, soft drinks, nuts, pickles, chocolate, canned foods, sauces, ice cream and smoked herring all associated with chronic rather than episodic migraine
The bottom line
A portion is at least countable. The US food survey weighs one falafel patty at 17 g and records a falafel sandwich as 215 g whatever its actual size, which is the dataset admitting it cannot tell a small pita from a large one. What the frying adds is not in any table we found. Falafel is absent from the USDA retention factors, and a search for frying, oil uptake or acrylamide in chickpea products returned nothing, so any figure you are given for the oil in a patty is an estimate rather than a measurement. For someone allergic to sesame, the sauce is the hazard. A Zurich allergy unit recorded nine systemic sesame reactions between 1978 and 1991, and in 1991 alone three were anaphylaxis to falafel burgers whose ingredients, the authors noted, often went undeclared. Since 1 January 2023 packaged falafel and the tahini sold with it in the United States must name sesame on the label, though falafel made to order at a stall or a restaurant carries no such declaration. Sesame is not the only candidate. One 28-year-old woman had anaphylaxis to falafel that an oral food challenge traced to pea, a single case, in a dish whose pea content varies with the recipe. For people with G6PD deficiency falafel is a listed trigger of haemolysis. In 1000 patients registered at one Egyptian hospital over five years, diet preceded the crisis in 834, and falafel in 194 of them, 19.4 percent, second to fava beans at 32.6 percent, with symptoms appearing 24 to 72 hours after eating. That register has no unexposed comparison group, and Egyptian falafel is usually made from fava beans rather than chickpeas, so the ranking carries local recipe as much as chemistry. Falafel bought ready to eat raises a hygiene question that the available study cannot answer precisely. Among 80 ready-to-eat samples from restaurants in Al-Qassim, Saudi Arabia, E. coli appeared in 32.5 percent and S. aureus in 27.5 percent, with the worst contamination in chicken shawarma and no breakdown by food, so the falafel share of that is unknown. Two further findings are about people rather than about the food. In 124 Egyptian migraine patients, falafel sat in a long list of foods reported more often by those with chronic than with episodic migraine, and recall from people who already have migraine cannot separate a trigger from an avoidance. In a randomised online study, 704 UK meat-eaters chose the plant dish 30.4 percent of the time when it did not mirror the meat dish against 21.2 percent when it did, which tells you how menus are written and nothing about what falafel does in a body.
Sources
- flf-daily-r1-12 · reference dataset
USDA FDC 172455 Falafel, home-prepared (SR Legacy) - Protein 13.31 g - Folate 104 mcg - Copper 0.258 mg per 100 g. CoFID 2021 15-795 Falafel, fried in rapeseed oil, homemade - Protein 6.4 g - Folate 33 mcg - Copper 0.28 mg per 100 g
USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy and CoFID 2021, Public Health England, Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-11 · reference dataset
FNDDS 2707408 Falafel, Bean, pea, legume dishes, FNDDS code 41209000 - 1 patty 17 g - Quantity not specified 28 g. FNDDS 2707483 Falafel sandwich, Vegetable sandwiches/burgers, FNDDS code 41901030 - 1 sandwich, any size 215 g - Quantity not specified 215 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-01 · systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials
Thirty-eight trials (52 trial comparisons, n=2095) with a median of 6 weeks and dose of 130 g/d (0.5-0.67 cup/d) showed that whole dietary pulses decreased low-density lipoprotein-cholesterol (mean difference, -0.14 mmol/L [95% CI, -0.19 to -0.08]) ... Future studies on chickpeas, dried peas, and lentils are warranted.
J Am Heart Assoc, 2026 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-02 · systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials
These studies involved 182 participants, focusing on healthy or normoglycemic adults, and assessed the effects of chickpeas compared to various foods such as wheat, potatoes, pasta, sauce, cheese, rice, and corn. A meta-analysis involving a subset of studies demonstrated that chickpeas were more effective in reducing blood glucose iAUC compared to potatoes and wheat.
Nutrients, 2023 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-03 · case series
Here we describe nine systemic allergic reactions to sesame seeds that were diagnosed at the Allergy Unit, Department of Dermatology, Zürich, Switzerland between 1978 and 1991. In 1991 alone, we registered three cases of anaphylactic reaction to falafel vegetable burgers in patients allergic to sesame seeds.
Ann Allergy, 1993 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-04 · case report
We report about a 28-year-old woman with an anaphylactic reaction to falafel. The diagnosis of type 1 allergy to peas was made based on the detailed medical history, the sensitization profile and an oral food challenge.
Hautarzt, 2022 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-06 · federal regulation and agency guidance
The Food Allergy Safety, Treatment, Education, and Research (FASTER) Act identifies sesame as the ninth major food allergen. As of January 1, 2023, sesame must be labeled as an allergen on packaged foods and dietary supplements.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, FASTER Act: Sesame as the Ninth Major Food Allergen · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-07 · cross-sectional prevalence survey of ready-to-eat food samples
A total of 80 RTE food samples-including chicken shawarma, shish tawook, chicken burgers, and falafel sandwiches-were collected from restaurants across the Al-Qassim region between September and November 2024. ... The predominant pathogens identified were Escherichia coli (E. coli) (32.5%), Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus) (27.5%), and Acinetobacter baumannii (A. baumannii) (18.75%), with the highest contamination observed in chicken shawarma samples.
Cell Mol Biol (Noisy-le-grand), 2025 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-09 · cross-sectional questionnaire survey
A significant difference between boy and girl adolescents was reported regarding perception of French fries ( p < 0.012), fried chicken ( p < 0.001), fattayer ( p < 0.001), foul (boiled broad beans) sandwich ( p < 0.001), falafel sandwich ( p < 0.044) and fried eggs sandwich ( p < 0.001) as fast foods.
Nutr Health, 2017 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-10 · randomised controlled trial of hypothetical menu choices
The mean selection of plant-based meals for matched and unmatched scenarios was 21.2% and 30.4% respectively when two main meals (one plant-based, one meat) were present and 37.4% and 44.6% respectively when three main meals (two plant-based, one meat) were present.
Appetite, 2026 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-05 · retrospective prevalence study of hospital records
Diets were the most common precipitating factor of hemolysis in patients with G6PD deficiency (834 patients; 83.4% of studied cases) especially fava beans (326 patients; 32.6%) and falafel (194 patients; 19.4%) which were the most common precipitating food products causing hemolysis
Endocr Metab Immune Disord Drug Targets, 2018 · checked 2026-09-24 - flf-daily-r1-08 · analytical cross-sectional study
Our participants reported that the fried meat, fried chicken, processed meats, fava beans, falafel, aged cheese ... were significantly associated with the diagnosis of chronic migraine CM compared to episodic migraine (EM).
Sci Rep, 2024 · checked 2026-09-24
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-24 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.