BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Dandelion greens: a vitamin K food first, a salad second

We found no trial of vitamin K absorption from dandelion itself, so the closest evidence comes from other greens. In a crossover trial in 36 younger and older adults, 377 mcg a day of vitamin K from broccoli for 5 days raised blood vitamin K about as much as 417 mcg from fortified oil. That matters here because the numbers are large. USDA puts raw dandelion greens at 778.4 mcg of vitamin K per 3.5 oz (100 g), 649% of the Daily Value, from a single SR Legacy record with no sample spread and no second national table to check it against. A raw cup weighs 1.9 oz (55 g) in the US dietary survey, which works out at about 430 mcg. The same 100 g gives 508 mcg of vitamin A and 35 mg of vitamin C.

Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →

The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

USDA entrykcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Dandelion greens, cooked, boiled, drained, with salt332 g0.6 g6.4 g2.9 g
Dandelion greens, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt332 g0.6 g6.4 g2.9 g
Dandelion greens, raw452.7 g0.7 g9.2 g3.5 g

These are the USDA entries that are dandelion greens, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.

As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

As eatenkcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Dandelion greens, cooked712.82 g3.47 g9.58 g3.6 g
Dandelion greens, raw452.7 g0.7 g9.2 g3.5 g

USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): dandelion greens as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.

How much is actually in it

What a real portion looks like

What your body absorbs

What cooking and storage change

Safety, limits and interactions

What people believe that the data does not support

What is still unknown

The bottom line

Single-meal studies look less generous than the broccoli trial. After 5.3 oz (150 g) of raw spinach, the blood response to 495 mcg of vitamin K was 4.79 against 27.55 nmol/L per hour for a 500 mcg tablet, in a non-randomized test with 3 to 8 young adults per arm. With isotope-labeled kale eaten with 1.1 oz (30 g) of oil, about 4.7% of the vitamin K was estimated to reach the blood, a modeled figure from 6 people. Fat helps. In 12 women eating salads, absorption of vitamin K and carotenoids rose in step with the soybean oil in the dressing from 0 to 32 g, though some women barely responded. Boiling greens in a little water keeps about 60% of vitamin C and 65% of folate in the USDA group table. That table has no factor for vitamin K, so cooking losses of the nutrient this food is known for are unknown. Wild dandelion from Melbourne roadsides and gardens held lutein and beta-carotene, below sow thistle, amaranth and purslane, in a sample of 2 to 6 specimens. Europe lets labels say vitamin K contributes to normal blood clotting. We found no claim filed for dandelion itself in the EU or US registers. Who should be careful. People taking warfarin or a similar drug do not need to avoid vitamin K rich greens. The NIH advice is to keep vitamin K intake steady, because sudden changes can raise or lower the drug effect, and one raw cup of dandelion holds several times the adult adequate intake. The European medicines committee, writing about dandelion leaf as a herbal medicine, lists allergy to the daisy family (Asteraceae) as a reason not to use it, and we see no reason to assume that warning stops at the food. The same monograph tells people with kidney failure, diabetes or heart failure to avoid the leaf because of possible high blood potassium, and also lists gallstones, bile duct and liver disease. Those cautions were written for medicinal use, and how far they apply to a salad portion is not established. The committee does not recommend the leaf in pregnancy and breastfeeding because safety data are missing, which is different from harm being found.

Related foods

More from the same food group (vegetables and vegetable products)

Sources

  1. dgr-r8-01 · USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy, dataset
    Dandelion greens, raw (FDC 169226, SR Legacy, Vegetables and Vegetable Products): vitamin K 778.4 mcg per 100 g = 649% DV; vitamin A 508 mcg RAE = 56% DV; vitamin C 35 mg = 39% DV; range over 3 records vitamin K 358.9-778.4, vitamin A 342-727, vitamin C 18-35; Foundation samples 0, CoFID match none
    USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 169226 · checked 2026-09-29
  2. dgr-r8-08 · composition analysis
    Wild green vegetables contained high concentrations of lutein (sow thistle>amaranth>purslane>dandelion) and beta-carotene (sow thistle>amaranth>purslane=dandelion).
    Eur J Clin Nutr, 2002 · checked 2026-09-29
  3. dgr-r8-02 · USDA FNDDS, dataset
    Dandelion greens, raw (FNDDS 72113100, fdc_id 2709588): 1 cup 55 g; Quantity not specified 28 g. Dandelion greens, cooked (FNDDS 72113220, fdc_id 2709589): 1 cup 110 g; Quantity not specified 55 g
    USDA FNDDS, fdc_id 2709588 and 2709589 · checked 2026-09-29
  4. dgr-r8-04 · controlled clinical study
    The absorption of phylloquinone, measured over a 9-h period as the area under the curve (AUC), was higher (P < 0.01) after the consumption of a 500- microgram phylloquinone tablet [27.55 +/- 10.08 nmol/(L. h), n = 8] than after the ingestion of 495 microgram phylloquinone as 150 g of raw spinach [4.79 +/- 1.11 nmol/(L. h), n = 3].
    J Nutr, 1999 · checked 2026-09-29
  5. dgr-r8-05 · controlled clinical study
    Modelling results demonstrated a mean (n 6) bioavailability of phylloquinone from kale to be 4.7%.
    Br J Nutr, 2010 · checked 2026-09-29
  6. dgr-r8-06 · randomized crossover trial
    There was no significant difference in the relative bioavailability of phylloquinone, as evidenced by the lack of a significant difference in plasma phylloquinone and %ucOC between the 2 groups after either the broccoli or oil diets for younger and older adults.
    Am J Clin Nutr, 1999 · checked 2026-09-29
  7. dgr-r8-03 · USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, dataset
    USDA-RETN-R6:3004 VEG,GREENS,BOILD,LITTLE WATER DRAIN, group Vegetables and Vegetable Products: vitamin_c_mg 60% retained, folate_total_ug 65%, thiamin_mg 85%, potassium_mg 90%, calcium_mg 95%, iron_mg 95%; vitamin K not in Release 6
    USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Code 3004 · checked 2026-09-29
  8. dgr-r8-07 · randomized crossover trial
    Across the entire 0-32-g range, soybean oil was linearly related to the chylomicron AUC and Cmax values for α-carotene, lycopene, phylloquinone, and retinyl palmitate.
    Am J Clin Nutr, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29
  9. dgr-r8-09 · fact sheet, expert body position
    People taking warfarin and similar anticoagulants need to maintain a consistent intake of vitamin K from food and supplements because sudden changes in vitamin K intakes can increase or decrease the anticoagulant effect [45].
    NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Vitamin K Fact Sheet for Health Professionals · checked 2026-09-29
  10. dgr-r8-10 · agency monograph
    Hypersensitivity to the active substance or to plants of the Asteraceae (Compositae) family. Obstructions of bile ducts, cholangitis, liver diseases, gallstones, active peptic ulcer and any other biliary diseases.
    European Medicines Agency, HMPC, Community herbal monograph on Taraxacum officinale, folium, EMA/HMPC/579636/2008 · checked 2026-09-29
  11. dgr-r8-11 · agency monograph
    The use in patients with renal failure and/or diabetes, and/or heart failure should be avoided because of possible risks due to hyperkalemia.
    European Medicines Agency, HMPC, Community herbal monograph on Taraxacum officinale, folium, EMA/HMPC/579636/2008 · checked 2026-09-29
  12. dgr-r8-13 · regulatory register entry
    POL-HC-6523 Vitamin K Vitamin K contributes to normal blood clotting Authorised
    EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6523, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29
  13. dgr-r8-12 · agency monograph
    Safety during pregnancy and lactation has not been established. In the absence of sufficient data, the use during pregnancy and lactation is not recommended.
    European Medicines Agency, HMPC, Community herbal monograph on Taraxacum officinale, folium, EMA/HMPC/579636/2008 · checked 2026-09-29

Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.