Cream: a lot of fat, and a few small trials on it
In a randomized trial of 57 overweight adults eating 40 g of milk fat a day for 8 weeks, fat taken as whipping cream left LDL cholesterol almost flat, up 1.5 mg/dL (0.04 mmol/L), while the same fat as butter oil raised it by 14 mg/dL (0.36 mmol/L). The authors point to the membrane around the fat droplets in cream, a mechanism they did not confirm, and this is one short trial. None of that makes cream a light food. Across 8 USDA samples, heavy cream held 32.8 to 37.4 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), about 20 g of it saturated, plus about 103 mg of cholesterol. The word "cream" covers products from about 10 to 55 percent fat. UK double cream carries 53.7 g of fat and 496 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g), and single cream 19.1 g and 193 calories.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cream, heavy | 336 | 2.02 g | 35.6 g | 3.8 g | — g |
| Cream, sour, full fat | 193 | 3.07 g | 18 g | 5.56 g | — g |
| Cream, fluid, half and half | 131 | 3.13 g | 11.5 g | 4.3 g | 0 g |
| Cream, fluid, light (coffee cream or table cream) | 195 | 2.96 g | 19.1 g | 3.66 g | 0 g |
| Cream, fluid, light whipping | 292 | 2.17 g | 30.9 g | 2.96 g | 0 g |
| Cream, half and half, fat free | 59 | 2.6 g | 1.4 g | 9 g | 0 g |
| Cream, half and half, lowfat | 72 | 3.33 g | 5 g | 3.33 g | 0 g |
| Cream, sour, reduced fat, cultured | 135 | 2.94 g | 12 g | 4.26 g | 0 g |
| Cream, whipped, cream topping, pressurized | 257 | 3.2 g | 22.2 g | 12.5 g | 0 g |
These are the USDA entries that are cream, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cream, NS as to light, heavy, or half and half | 131 | 3.13 g | 11.5 g | 4.3 g | 0 g |
| Cream, half and half | 131 | 3.13 g | 11.5 g | 4.3 g | 0 g |
| Cream, half and half, fat free | 59 | 2.6 g | 1.4 g | 9 g | 0 g |
| Cream, half and half, flavored | 130 | 3.07 g | 11.3 g | 4.5 g | 0 g |
| Cream, heavy | 343 | 2.02 g | 35.6 g | 3.8 g | 0 g |
| Cream, light | 195 | 2.96 g | 19.1 g | 3.66 g | 0 g |
| Cream, whipped | 346 | 1.9 g | 33.5 g | 9.49 g | 0 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): cream as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Across 8 USDA samples, heavy cream held 32.8 to 37.4 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), of which about 20 g was saturated, plus about 103 mg cholesterol and 327 ug retinol. — USDA Foundation Foods, Cream, heavy, 8 samples (n = 8 samples) Evidence E sourceFat 35.56 g (32.77-37.4); saturated fat 20.45 g (17.73-22.01); cholesterol 103.1 mg (94.0-111.7); retinol 326.6 ug (210-370); calcium 61.21 mg (58.6-63.4) per 3.5 oz (100 g)
- In UK tables, double cream carries 53.7 g of fat and 496 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g), nearly three times the 19.1 g and 193 calories of single cream. — CoFID 2021 12-334 Cream, fresh, double, including Jersey cream; 12-332 Cream, fresh, single Evidence E sourceDouble: fat 53.7 g, energy 496 calories, cholesterol 137.1 mg, retinol 779 ug; single: fat 19.1 g, energy 193 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g)
What a real portion looks like
- A fluid ounce of heavy cream, about two tablespoons or 30 g, adds about 103 calories, and the usual unspecified splash of 20 g adds about 69 calories. — USDA survey food Cream, heavy (FNDDS 12130100) Evidence E source343 calories per 3.5 oz (100 g); 1 fl oz 30 g = 102.9 calories; quantity not specified 20 g = 68.6 calories; 1 cup 240 g = 823.2 calories
What your body absorbs
- In 47 adults given meals with 45 g of fat from different dairy foods, sour cream raised blood triglycerides over 6 hours 61% more than whipped cream, while whipped cream and butter did not differ. — 47 healthy adults (30% men), median age 32, single meals with 45 g fat from butter, cheese, whipped cream or sour cream (n = 47) Evidence B sourceTG iAUC 0-6 h: sour cream +61% vs whipped cream (P < 0.001), +53% vs butter; no difference between whipped cream, butter and cheese
What it does to your health
- The 2025-2030 US Dietary Guidelines recommend full-fat dairy with no added sugars and keep saturated fat at no more than 10% of daily calories, but do not say whether cream counts as dairy. — United States general population, Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2025-2030 Evidence E sourceFull-fat dairy recommended; saturated fat cap ≤10% kept; cream not named
- In 57 overweight adults eating 40 g of milk fat a day for 8 weeks, fat taken as whipping cream left LDL cholesterol almost unchanged, while the same fat as butter oil raised it by 14 mg/dL (0.36 mmol/L). — 57 overweight men and women, 40 g milk fat/day as whipping cream or butter oil, 8 weeks (n = 57) Evidence B sourceLDL-C +0.04 (cream) vs +14 mg/dL (0.36 mmol/L) (butter oil), P = 0.024; total cholesterol -0.04 vs +12 mg/dL (0.30 mmol/L)
- In a 25-year Swedish cohort of 27,670 adults, eating 20 g or more of high-fat cream a day went with 16% lower dementia risk than none, while low-fat cream showed no link. — 27,670 adults of the Malmo Diet and Cancer cohort, mean age 58, median follow-up 25 years, 3,208 dementia cases (n = 27670) Evidence C sourceHR 0.84 (95% CI 0.72-0.98) for >=20 g/d high-fat cream vs none
- Pooling 15 cohorts with 764,635 people, cream showed no link with stroke risk, whereas total and low-fat dairy went with about 10% lower risk. — 764,635 participants, 28,138 stroke events, 15 prospective cohorts (n = 764635) Evidence C sourceTotal dairy RR 0.88 (0.82-0.94); low-fat dairy 0.91 (0.85-0.97); cream not significant
- A dose-response analysis of 22 cohorts with 579,832 adults examined cream among other dairy types and found those other types not linked with type 2 diabetes. — 579,832 adults, 43,118 type 2 diabetes cases, 22 prospective cohorts (n = 579832) Evidence C sourceCream analyzed among other dairy types; other dairy types not associated with T2D risk
What people believe that the data does not support
- The EU refused to authorize the claim that a fat-reduced cream powder rich in milk sphingomyelin helps control blood cholesterol. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims Evidence E sourceStatus Non-authorized
The bottom line
In a cup of coffee the numbers depend on the pour. A fluid ounce of heavy cream, about two tablespoons or 30 g, adds about 103 calories, and the 20 g splash USDA assumes when nobody measures adds about 69, both worked out from the value per 3.5 oz (100 g). Different creams also behave differently after a meal. In a crossover trial, 47 healthy adults ate single meals carrying 45 g of fat from butter, cheese, whipped cream or sour cream. Sour cream raised blood triglycerides over 6 hours 61 percent more than whipped cream, and whipped cream did not differ from butter. That is one meal at a time, and the authors leave open whether it matters over years. Long-term data are observational and mostly neutral. Pooling 15 cohorts with 764,635 people found no significant link between cream and stroke, and a pooled analysis of 22 cohorts with 579,832 adults, which analyzed cream among other dairy types, found those other types not linked with type 2 diabetes. Neither gives a separate number for cream. One Swedish cohort of 27,670 adults followed for 25 years linked 20 g or more of high-fat cream a day with 16 percent lower dementia risk than none (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.72 to 0.98). Diet was recorded once at the start, and the authors say the finding cannot show cause. Low-fat cream showed no link in that cohort. The 2025 to 2030 Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend full-fat dairy with no added sugars and keep saturated fat at no more than 10 percent of daily calories. The word cream does not appear in them, so they leave open whether cream counts as dairy at all. That is a position, not new data, and the roughly 20 g of saturated fat in 3.5 oz (100 g) of heavy cream counts toward that 10 percent either way. The EU refused a claim that a fat-reduced cream powder rich in milk sphingomyelin helps control blood cholesterol. That was a powder, not the cream in your fridge, and the register does not give the reason. We have not collected evidence on who should be careful with cream, or on what whipping and heating do to it, and neither gap means the answer is "nothing".
More from the same food group (dairy and egg products)
- Duck egg: a bigger egg with its own allergy and a firm cooking rule
- Dulce de leche: browned, sweet and never studied in people
- Edam cheese: the trials are on cheddar, and cheese beat butter
- Cottage cheese: the calcium stays, the B12 goes
- Cotija cheese: very salty, and Listeria can survive in it
- Condensed milk: more than half of it is sugar
Guides that discuss this food
Sources
- crm-r1-01 · USDA Foundation Foods, dataset
Cream, heavy: Total lipid (fat) 35.56 g, range 32.77-37.4, 8 samples; Fatty acids, total saturated 20.45 g, range 17.73-22.01, 8 samples; Cholesterol 103.1 mg, range 94.0-111.7, 8 samples; Retinol 326.6 ug, range 210.0-370.0, 8 samples; Calcium, Ca 61.21 mg, range 58.6-63.4, 8 samples
USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30, Cream, heavy · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-03 · composition dataset
CoFID 2021 12-334 Cream, fresh, double, including Jersey cream: Fat (g) 53.7; Energy (kcal) 496; Cholesterol (mg) 137.1; Retinol (ug) 779; 12-332 Cream, fresh, single: Fat (g) 19.1; Energy (kcal) 193
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, codes 12-334 and 12-332, OGL v3.0 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-02 · USDA FNDDS survey food, dataset
Cream, heavy (fdc_id 2705597, FNDDS 12130100): Energy 343 kcal per 100 g; 1 cup 240 g = 823.2 kcal; 1 fl oz 30 g = 102.9 kcal; Quantity not specified 20 g = 68.6 kcal
USDA FoodData Central survey (FNDDS), release 2024-10-31, food code 12130100, fdc_id 2705597 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-05 · randomized crossover trial
Meals included 1 of butter, cheese, whipped cream, or sour cream, corresponding to 45 g of fat (approximately 60 energy%). ... Sour cream induced a 61% larger TG-iAUC0-6 h compared to whipped cream (P < 0.001), a 53% larger TG-iAUC0-6 h compared to butter (P < 0.001), and a 23% larger TG-iAUC0-6 h compared to cheese (P = 0.05). No differences in TG-iAUC0-6 h between the other meals were observed.
J Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-dga-01 · government guidance
When consuming dairy, include full-fat dairy with no added sugars. Dairy is an excellent source of protein, healthy fats, vitamins, and minerals. ... In general, saturated fat consumption should not exceed 10% of total daily calories.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture, Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 (January 2026), p. 2–3 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-04 · randomized controlled trial
For the intervention, subjects consumed 40 g milk fat/d as either whipping cream (MFGM diet) or butter oil (control diet). ... As expected, the control diet increased plasma lipids, whereas the MFGM diet did not [total cholesterol (±SD): +0.30 ± 0.49 compared with -0.04 ± 0.49 mmol/L, respectively (P = 0.024); LDL cholesterol: +0.36 ± 0.50 compared with +0.04 ± 0.36 mmol/L, respectively (P = 0.024); apolipoprotein B:apolipoprotein A-I ratio: +0.03 ± 0.09 compared with -0.05 ± 0.10 mmol/L, respectively (P = 0.007); and non-HDL cholesterol: +0.24 ± 0.49 compared with -0.14 ± 0.51 mmol/L, respectively (P = 0.013)].
Am J Clin Nutr, 2015 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-06 · cohort study
Compared with no consumption, individuals consuming ≥20 g/d of high-fat cream (>30% fat) had a 16% lower risk of all-cause dementia (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.72-0.98). High-fat cream consumption was inversely associated with the risk of AD and VaD. Consumption of low-fat cheese, low-fat cream, milk (high-fat and low-fat), fermented milk (high-fat and low-fat), and butter showed no association with all-cause dementia.
Neurology, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-07 · meta-analysis of cohort studies
Total dairy [relative risk (95% CI): 0.88 (0.82-0.94)], low-fat dairy [0.91 (0.85-0.97)], fermented milk [0.80 (0.71-0.89)] and cheese [0.94 (0.89-0.995)] were significantly associated with reduced risk of stroke, but whole/high-fat dairy, nonfermented milk, butter and cream were not significantly associated with risk of stroke.
Nutr Metab Cardiovasc Dis, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-08 · meta-analysis of cohort studies
Random-effects meta-analyses with summarized dose-response data were performed for total, low-fat, and high-fat dairy, (types of) milk, (types of) fermented dairy, cream, ice cream, and sherbet. ... Other dairy types were not associated with T2D risk.
Am J Clin Nutr, 2016 · checked 2026-09-29 - crm-r1-09 · EU health claim register
POL-HC-7084 Fat-reduced cream powder [rich source of milk sphingomyelin (a sphingolipid)] Helps control blood cholesterol; for people with elevated blood cholesterol Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-7084, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.