BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Chocolate milk: the recovery drink with small trials behind it

In a 5-week randomized trial funded by Dairy MAX and not blinded, 103 high school athletes given chocolate milk after training gained 12.3 percent in combined bench press and squat strength, against 2.7 percent on a carbohydrate drink that did not match it for protein. In 9 trained male cyclists, chocolate milk during a 4-hour recovery let them ride 32 minutes to exhaustion, against 21 on a carbohydrate replacement drink. The answer for sport stays unclear because each cycling trial had 9 or 10 riders and one session per drink. When 10 cyclists and triathletes compared it with a commercial recovery drink of the same calories, time to exhaustion the next day was 13 and 13.5 minutes, p = 0.91. As a food, a cup of 8.7 oz (248 g) gives about 161 calories, 8.5 g protein and 317 mg calcium in the US survey database, which does not specify the fat level.

Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →

The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

USDA entrykcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Milk, chocolate, fat free, with added vitamin A and vitamin D673.39 g0 g13.5 g0 g
Milk, chocolate, fluid, commercial, reduced fat, with added calcium782.99 g1.9 g12.1 g0.7 g
Milk, chocolate, fluid, commercial, reduced fat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D762.99 g1.9 g12.1 g0.7 g
Milk, chocolate, fluid, commercial, whole, with added vitamin A and vitamin D833.17 g3.39 g10.3 g0.8 g
Milk, chocolate, lowfat, reduced sugar573.43 g1.04 g7.68 g0 g
Milk, chocolate, lowfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D643.46 g1.11 g10.2 g0.1 g

These are the USDA entries that are chocolate milk, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.

As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

As eatenkcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Chocolate milk, NFS653.44 g0.83 g11 g0.1 g
Chocolate milk, Nesquik, NS as to type of milk743.41 g2.15 g10.1 g0.3 g
Chocolate milk, Nesquik, made with non-dairy milk541.35 g1.64 g8.41 g0.4 g
Chocolate milk, fat free (skim)673.39 g0 g13.5 g0 g
Chocolate milk, low fat (1%)643.46 g1.11 g10.2 g0.1 g
Chocolate milk, reduced fat (2%)762.99 g1.9 g12.1 g0.7 g
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, NFS653.09 g1.99 g8.56 g0 g
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim)493.18 g0.19 g8.64 g0 g
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, low fat (1%)573.13 g0.95 g8.87 g0 g
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)633.11 g1.78 g8.62 g0 g
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, whole733.04 g2.92 g8.38 g0 g
Chocolate milk, whole833.17 g3.39 g10.3 g0.8 g

USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): chocolate milk as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.

How much is actually in it

What a real portion looks like

What your body absorbs

What it does to your health

Safety, limits and interactions

What people believe that the data does not support

Who this works differently for

What is still unknown

The bottom line

A third cycling trial points the same way as the first. In 10 cyclists, chocolate milk after a 1.5-hour ride brought a later 40 km time trial to 79.4 minutes, against 85.7 on an equal-calorie carbohydrate drink without protein and 86.9 on placebo, in a small sample. In children the drink changes the rest of the plate. In 32 boys aged 9 to 14, 12 fl oz (350 mL) of 1 percent chocolate milk an hour before lunch cut pizza intake to 878 calories from 1048 calories after water, in a single meal where the 224 calories in the drink partly offset the saving. In an observational study of 619 pupils from kindergarten to fifth grade across 968 lunches in two South Carolina schools, those who chose chocolate milk took in 58 more calories and 10 g more total sugar than those who chose low-fat white milk. Three in four picked chocolate. Chinese 7-year-olds absorbed about 60 percent of the calcium in 3.5 oz (100 g) of chocolate milk, measured with an isotope, with the drink serving only as the test vehicle. Iron is another story. Twenty Jamaican children aged 6 to 7 absorbed 1.6 percent of the iron in an iron-fortified chocolate drink, and 5.1 percent once 25 mg of vitamin C was added, in a controlled study that was not randomized. The one safety finding is about unpasteurised milk. Listeria from unpasteurised chocolate milk made by a Pennsylvania dairy was genetically matched to two hospitalized patients over 65 in 2014, one of whom died. Only the unpasteurised product was implicated, not pasteurized chocolate milk, and two older patients are simply whom this outbreak reached: they do not show that raw chocolate milk is safe for anyone else. In a simulated shop with 3,584 Canadians aged 13 and older, "high in" warning labels on the front of the pack led to fewer chocolate milk purchases than no label, and the abstract does not say by how much. FDA counts pregnant women and their unborn or newborn babies, adults over 65 and people with weakened immune systems as the groups at high risk of serious illness from listeriosis. We have no card on lactose intolerance, milk allergy or medicines for chocolate milk, so this page says nothing about those.

Questions about chocolate milk, answered from the trials

Related foods

More from the same food group (dairy and egg products)

Sources

  1. chmk-r6-01 · USDA FNDDS, dataset
    Chocolate milk, NFS (FNDDS 11511000, fdc_id 2705466): Energy 65 KCAL; Protein 3.44 G; Calcium, Ca 128 MG per 100 g; 1 cup 248 g: 161.2 KCAL, 8.5 G protein, 317.4 MG calcium
    USDA FNDDS, FDC 2705466 (food code 11511000) · checked 2026-09-29
  2. chmk-r6-02 · USDA FNDDS, dataset
    Chocolate milk, NFS (FNDDS 11511000, fdc_id 2705466): 1 cup 248 g; 1 fl oz 31 g; 1 individual school container 248 g; Quantity not specified 248 g
    USDA FNDDS, FDC 2705466 (food code 11511000) · checked 2026-09-29
  3. chmk-r6-08 · controlled clinical trial
    In the first study, iron absorption was significantly greater (P < 0.0001) after the addition of 25 mg ascorbic acid: geometric mean iron absorption was 1.6% (range: 0.9-4.2%) and 5.1% (2.2-17.3%) for the test meals containing 0 and 25 mg ascorbic acid, respectively.
    Am J Clin Nutr, 1998 · checked 2026-09-29
  4. chmk-r6-09 · RCT
    There was no significant difference in baseline TFCA between the study group (60.6 (SD 11.4)%) and the controls (58.2 (SD 9.0)%; P = 0.55).
    Br J Nutr, 1995 · checked 2026-09-29
  5. chmk-r6-04 · RCT
    Participants cycled 51% and 43% longer after ingesting CM (32 +/- 11 min) than after ingesting CR (21 +/- 8 min) or FR (23 +/- 8 min).
    Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2009 · checked 2026-09-29
  6. chmk-r6-06 · RCT
    The TT time was faster in CM than in CHO and in PLA (79.43 ± 2.11 vs. 85.74 ± 3.44 and 86.92 ± 3.28 minutes, p ≤ 0.05).
    J Strength Cond Res, 2011 · checked 2026-09-29
  7. ev-cmmr-01 · meta-analysis of controlled trials
    The meta-analyses revealed that CM consumption had no effect on TTE, RPE, HR, serum lactate, and CK (P > 0.05) compared to placebo or other sport drinks.
    Eur J Clin Nutr, 2019: Chocolate milk for recovery from exercise, a systematic review and meta-analysis of controlled clinical trials · checked 2026-10-07
  8. ev-cmmr-02 · meta-analysis of controlled trials
    Subgroup analysis revealed that TTE significantly increases after consumption of CM compared to placebo [mean difference (MD) = 0.78 min, 95% confidence interval (CI): 0.27, 1.29, P = 0.003] and carbohydrate, protein, and fat-containing beverages (MD = 6.13 min, 95% CI: 0.11, 12.15, P = 0.046).
    Eur J Clin Nutr, 2019: Chocolate milk for recovery from exercise, a systematic review and meta-analysis of controlled clinical trials · checked 2026-10-07
  9. ev-cmmr-06 · RCT
    Participants cycled 51% and 43% longer after ingesting CM (32 +/- 11 min) than after ingesting CR (21 +/- 8 min) or FR (23 +/- 8 min).
    Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2009 · checked 2026-10-07
  10. ev-cmmr-07 · RCT
    These findings indicate no difference between CHOC and this commercial beverage as potential recovery aids for cyclists between intense workouts.
    Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2009 · checked 2026-10-07
  11. ev-cmmr-08 · RCT
    The TT time was faster in CM than in CHO and in PLA (79.43 ± 2.11 vs. 85.74 ± 3.44 and 86.92 ± 3.28 minutes, p ≤ 0.05).
    J Strength Cond Res, 2011 · checked 2026-10-07
  12. ev-cmmr-10 · RCT
    The 1 RM total increased by 36.7% in RTCM group compared to 17.6% increased in the RT group
    Front Physiol, 2023: The effect of 8-weeks of combined resistance training and chocolate milk consumption on maximal strength, muscle thickness, peak power and lean mass, untrained, university-aged males · checked 2026-10-07
  13. chmk-r6-10 · outbreak investigation
    In 2016, the US Food and Drug Administration notified the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Atlanta, GA) that L. monocytogenes isolated from unpasteurized chocolate milk from a Pennsylvania dairy was closely related, by whole-genome sequencing, to L. monocytogenes isolates collected from blood specimens of 2 patients (in California and Florida) in 2014.
    J Dairy Sci, 2020 · checked 2026-09-29
  14. ev-cmmr-13 · agency guideline
    In both adults and children, WHO recommends reducing the intake of free sugars to less than 10% of total energy intake2 (strong recommendation).
    WHO, 2015, Guideline: sugars intake for adults and children · checked 2026-10-07
  15. ev-cmmr-14 · observational study
    Ordinary least square regressions found that the consumption of energies and nutrients from NSLP lunches varied with sociodemographic characteristics and milk choice; students selecting chocolate milk consumed 58 more energies (P < 0·001) and 10 more grams of total sugar (P < 0·001) than students selecting low-fat white milk from their NSLP lunches.
    Public Health Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-10-07
  16. ev-cmmr-15 · outbreak investigation
    In 2016, the US Food and Drug Administration notified the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Atlanta, GA) that L. monocytogenes isolated from unpasteurized chocolate milk from a Pennsylvania dairy was closely related, by whole-genome sequencing, to L. monocytogenes isolates collected from blood specimens of 2 patients (in California and Florida) in 2014.
    J Dairy Sci, 2020 · checked 2026-10-07
  17. sf-listeriarisk-chocmilk-1 · agency advice
    Pregnant women and their unborn or newborn baby, adults over the age of 65, and those with weakened immune systems, are all considered to be high-risk groups that are susceptible to the serious and adverse effects of listeriosis.
    Listeria (Listeriosis), US Food and Drug Administration, At-Risk Groups · checked 2026-10-08
  18. chmk-r6-12 · RCT
    "High in" labels produced fewer purchases of chocolate milk than no label.
    J Acad Nutr Diet, 2022 · checked 2026-09-29
  19. ev-cmmr-04 · meta-analysis of RCTs
    No significant effect was found between the ingestion of isocaloric CHO-PRO and CHO on TTE performance (MD: 1.27, CI: −4.73, 7.26, p = 0.68) (Figure 8).
    Nutrients, 2020 · checked 2026-10-07
  20. chmk-r6-03 · RCT
    The CM group (12.3% increase) had significantly greater improvements in composite strength from pre- to post-test than CHO (2.7% increase).
    J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29
  21. chmk-r6-07 · RCT
    In the 32 boys (age: 11.8 ± 0.3 years), FI was reduced (p < 0.001) after cola (940 ± 46 kcal) and chocolate milk (878 ± 41 kcal) compared with the water control (1048 ± 35 kcal) and after chocolate milk compared to the fruit drink (1005 ± 44 kcal).
    Nutrients, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29
  22. chmk-r6-11 · observational study
    Ordinary least square regressions found that the consumption of energies and nutrients from NSLP lunches varied with sociodemographic characteristics and milk choice; students selecting chocolate milk consumed 58 more energies (P < 0·001) and 10 more grams of total sugar (P < 0·001) than students selecting low-fat white milk from their NSLP lunches.
    Public Health Nutr, 2021 · checked 2026-09-29
  23. ev-cmmr-09 · RCT
    These data suggest that postexercise macronutrient and total energy intake are more important for same-day 20-km cycling time trial performance after glycogen-lowering exercise than protein type or protein-to-carbohydrate ratio.
    Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab, 2016 · checked 2026-10-07
  24. ev-cmmr-11 · RCT
    The CM group (12.3% increase) had significantly greater improvements in composite strength from pre- to post-test than CHO (2.7% increase).
    J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-10-07
  25. ev-cmmr-12 · RCT
    Milk protein ingestion was not beneficial for recovery from EIMD, thus alternative management strategies should be investigated.
    Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2023 · checked 2026-10-07
  26. chmk-r6-05 · RCT
    A 1-way repeated measures analysis of variance revealed no significant difference (p = 0.91) between trials for time to exhaustion at 85% of maximal oxygen uptake (CHOC 13 +/- 10.2 min, CRB 13.5 +/- 8.9 min).
    Appl Physiol Nutr Metab, 2009 · checked 2026-09-29
  27. ev-cmmr-03 · meta-analysis of RCTs
    No significant overall effect was found between the ingestion of CHO-PRO and CHO on TTE performance (MD: 1.55, CI: −3.06, 6.16, p = 0.51) (Figure 5).
    Nutrients, 2020 · checked 2026-10-07
  28. ev-cmmr-05 · systematic review
    Whereas some studies found significant positive effect of cow's milk on exercise performance and recovery of muscle function, others did not find any effect.
    J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-10-07

Review. Reviewed on 2026-10-08 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.