Chocolate and chocolate chip cookies: the cocoa evidence stops at the cookie
A meta-analysis of 31 randomized trials in 1986 adults found that at least four weeks of cocoa extract or dark chocolate with 70 percent cocoa or more lowered LDL cholesterol by 9.47 mg/dL (95% CI -13.75 to -5.20) and systolic pressure by 2.52 mmHg. Body weight did not change. Those trials used high-cocoa products. Milk chocolate and cookies were not tested, and we found no study of health outcomes for chocolate chip cookies at all. On paper the cookie is a different food. The UK composition table gives a standard chocolate chip cookie 471 calories and 30.0 g of sugars per 3.5 oz (100 g), against 510 calories and 62.6 g of sugars for plain chocolate. A medium cookie is coded at 30 g in US dietary surveys. The long-term population data on chocolate and heart disease lean favorable and stay weak: a dose-response meta-analysis of 27 prospective studies rated that evidence low or very low in credibility.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for chocolate | chocolate chip cookies itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- A standard chocolate chip cookie in the UK composition table carries 471 calories, 24.9 g fat, 12.15 g saturated fat and 30.0 g total sugars per 3.5 oz (100 g). — CoFID 2021 record 11-815, Biscuits, cookies, chocolate chip, standard Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: energy 471 calories, fat 24.9 g, saturated fat 12.15 g, sugars 30.0 g, starch 30.0 g, protein 5.4 g, AOAC fiber 3.0 g
- Plain chocolate in the UK composition table carries 510 calories, 28.0 g fat, 16.8 g saturated fat and 62.6 g total sugars per 3.5 oz (100 g), roughly twice the sugar of a chocolate chip cookie. — CoFID 2021 record 17-491, Chocolate, plain Evidence E sourcePer 100 g: energy 510 calories, fat 28.0 g, saturated fat 16.8 g, sugars 62.6 g (sucrose 62.4 g), starch 0.9 g, protein 5.0 g
What a real portion looks like
- In US dietary recall coding a medium chocolate chip cookie weighs 1.1 oz (30 g) and a large one 45 g, while an unspecified portion is coded as 60 g. — FNDDS food code 53206000, Cookie, chocolate chip (fdc_id 2707909) Evidence E sourceMini 5 g, small 20 g, medium 30 g, large 45 g, single serving package 46 g, quantity not specified 60 g
What your body absorbs
- In a randomized crossover trial in 15 volunteers, total cocoa flavanol absorption was lower from chocolate sweetened with maltitol than from the matched sucrose chocolate. — fifteen volunteers (n = 15) Evidence B sourceTotal flavanol absorption lower with maltitol vs sucrose chocolate, P = 0.002; Tmax unchanged
- In a randomized crossover trial in 20 healthy men, 70 g dark chocolate raised flow-mediated dilation by 0.96% at 2 hours, and epicatechin bioavailability did not differ from pure epicatechin capsules. — twenty healthy men (40-80 years) (n = 20) Evidence B sourceFMD +0.96% (p = 0.04) after dark chocolate; bioavailability of epicatechin not different (p = 0.14)
What cooking and storage change
- A meta-analysis of processing contaminants found acrylamide mostly studied in bread, cookies and pasta, at a pooled highest concentration of 136.29 micrograms per kg. — 28 studies of wheat-based foods Evidence C sourceAcrylamide 136.29 ug/kg, HMF 70.59 ug/kg (four cookie studies), PAHs 0.11 ug/kg
What it does to your health
- A meta-analysis of 31 RCTs in 1986 adults found that at least 4 weeks of cocoa extract or dark chocolate with at least 70% cocoa lowered LDL by 9.47 mg/dL and systolic pressure by 2.52 mmHg, with no effect on body weight. — adults with and without comorbidities, cocoa extract or >=70% cocoa dark chocolate for >=4 weeks (n = 1986) Evidence A sourceLDL -9.47 mg/dL (95% CI -13.75 to -5.20); SBP -2.52 mmHg (95% CI -4.17 to -0.88); fasting glucose -4.91 mg/dL; no change in weight, BMI, HbA1c
- A meta-analysis of 17 RCTs in 615 participants found that regular dark chocolate raised flow-mediated dilation by 0.69 points. — Seventeen studies involving 615 participants (n = 615) Evidence A sourceChronic dark chocolate FMD +0.69 (95% CI 0.22-1.16); I2 = 64.2% for pooled analysis
- Pooled prospective studies of 405304 people link each extra 20 g of chocolate per week with a 1.8% lower cardiovascular risk, with the lowest risk near 45 g per week. — 23 studies including 405 304 participants and 35 093 cases of CVD (n = 405304) Evidence C sourceRR 0.982 (95% CI 0.972 to 0.992) per 20 g/week; RR 0.890 (0.849 to 0.932) at 45 g/week
Safety, limits and interactions
- A systematic review counted 12 Salmonella outbreaks traced to chocolate with 3266 patients, mostly children. — 12 outbreaks involving a total of 3266 patients (n = 3266) Evidence C source12 outbreaks, 3266 patients, children mainly affected
- Reactions blamed on cocoa are usually due to milk, peanuts or tree nuts in chocolate, and true IgE-mediated cocoa allergy has few confirmed cases. — a 2-year-old female, with literature review (n = 1) Evidence D sourceRare; confirmed by oral food challenge with anaphylaxis
- In a systematic review on breastfeeding, maternal chocolate and coffee intake was associated with more infant colic, though caffeine as the cause was doubtful. — breastfed infants; two cohort, two crossover studies and one N-of-1 trial Evidence C sourceAssociation only, no size given
What people believe that the data does not support
- A systematic review of 53 studies lists chocolate among acne-promoting foods but calls the role of cocoa versus dark or milk chocolate unresolved. — Fifty-three reviewed articles Evidence C sourceDirection only; no pooled size
- The EU refused a claim that a chocolate bar helps children grow. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims Evidence E sourceNon-authorized
- The EU refused a claim that cocoa flavanols maintain normal blood pressure. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims Evidence E sourceNon-authorized
- The EU refused an antioxidant claim for chocolate based on cocoa polyphenols. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims Evidence E sourceNon-authorized
Who this works differently for
- Among 27111 Finnish male smokers followed for about 30 years, the highest chocolate intake was linked with 13% lower cardiovascular mortality than the lowest. — 27,111 men (n = 27111) Evidence C sourceCVD mortality -13%, heart disease -16%, cancer -12% highest vs lowest category; HRs 0.88-0.91 for overall mortality
- In a randomized crossover trial in 30 adults with type 1 diabetes, a chocolate spread with 1.6 g instead of 11 g sucrose cut the pre-meal to peak glucose rise by 25.8 mg/dL. — Thirty adults (50% males), aged 18-28 years, type 1 diabetes (n = 30) Evidence B sourcePeak glucose rise 25.8 ± 34.9 mg/dL lower (P < 0.001); time in range 100% vs 64.6%
What is still unknown
- A dose-response meta-analysis of 27 prospective investigations rated the evidence linking chocolate to heart and chronic disease as low or very low credibility. — 27 prospective investigations Evidence C sourcePer 10 g/day: CHD RR 0.96 (0.93, 0.99), stroke RR 0.90 (0.82, 0.98), T2D RR 0.94 (0.88, 1.01); credibility low to very low
The bottom line
In a crossover trial in 20 healthy men aged 40 to 80, a single 2.5 oz (70 g) serving of dark chocolate raised flow-mediated dilation, a measure of how well an artery widens, by 0.96 percent two hours later. That is an acute effect only. Across 17 trials in 615 people, regular dark chocolate raised it by 0.69 points (95% CI 0.22 to 1.16), with substantial disagreement between trials. The sweetener changes what you absorb. In 15 volunteers given a single dose, cocoa flavanols were absorbed less from chocolate made with maltitol than from the matched sucrose version. Pooled cohorts of 405304 people link each extra 20 g of chocolate a week with a 1.8 percent lower cardiovascular risk (RR 0.982, 95% CI 0.972 to 0.992), lowest near 45 g a week, and the authors warn that higher intakes may cancel the benefit. These are associations open to residual confounding. In 27111 male smokers followed for about 30 years, the highest intake was linked with 13 percent lower cardiovascular mortality, at a median intake of only 2.7 g a day. The EU refused a claim that a chocolate bar helps children grow. It also refused claims that cocoa flavanols maintain normal blood pressure and that cocoa polyphenols protect as antioxidants, which means the evidence fell short at assessment. On acne, a review of 53 studies lists chocolate among foods linked with breakouts, gives no size, and calls the role of cocoa against dark or milk chocolate unresolved. Baking forms acrylamide. A meta-analysis of 28 studies of wheat foods, mostly bread, cookies and pasta, found it at 136.29 micrograms per kg, the highest of the contaminants measured. That is a concentration with no health outcome attached, and no figure specific to cookies was given. Twelve Salmonella outbreaks traced to chocolate made 3266 people ill, mostly children, in reports from high-income countries. Reactions blamed on cocoa usually come from milk, peanuts or tree nuts in the product, and a case report with literature review finds true IgE-mediated cocoa allergy confirmed in only a few cases. If you are breastfeeding, a review of small studies linked maternal chocolate and coffee intake with more infant colic, and doubted that caffeine was the cause. In 30 young adults with type 1 diabetes, a chocolate spread with 1.6 g instead of 11 g sucrose cut the rise to peak glucose by 25.8 mg/dL after a single 20 g test meal.
Each food on its own
- Chocolate and cocoa: the big trials tested a supplement — everything on this food
- Chocolate chip cookies: the portion you are served shapes how much you eat — everything on this food
Questions answered from the trials
Sources
- ccck-daily-r6-01 · CoFID dataset
CoFID 11-815 Biscuits, cookies, chocolate chip, standard: Energy (kcal) 471; Fat (g) 24.9; Satd FA /100g fd (g) 12.15; Total sugars (g) 30.0; Starch (g) 30.0; Protein (g) 5.4; AOAC fibre (g) 3.0
CoFID 2021 (Public Health England), code 11-815 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-02 · CoFID dataset
CoFID 17-491 Chocolate, plain: Energy (kcal) 510; Fat (g) 28.0; Satd FA /100g fd (g) 16.80; Total sugars (g) 62.6; Sucrose (g) 62.4; Starch (g) 0.9; Protein (g) 5.0
CoFID 2021 (Public Health England), code 17-491 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-03 · FNDDS dataset
FNDDS 53206000 Cookie, chocolate chip: 1 mini or bite size cookie 5 g; 1 small cookie 20 g; 1 medium cookie 30 g; 1 large cookie 45 g; 1 single serving package 46 g; Quantity not specified 60 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 53206000 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-04 · RCT
Total flavanol absorption was lower after consumption of the maltitol-containing test chocolate compared with following consumption of its sucrose-containing equivalent (P = 0·002).
Br J Nutr, 2012 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-05 · RCT
Dark chocolate significantly improved FMD (+0.96%; p = 0.04) and AIx (-4.6%; p = 0.02). ... The bioavailability of epicatechin did not differ between pure epicatechin and dark chocolate (p = 0.14).
Mol Nutr Food Res, 2016 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-11 · systematic review and meta-analysis
Most studies (69.7%) evaluated acrylamide in bread, cookies, and pasta, while PAHs (26.2%) were determined mainly in wheat grains and pasta. HMF was the least determined contaminant (4.1%), with only four studies on cookies included in the meta-analysis. The highest concentration was for acrylamide (136.29 µg·kg-1) followed by HMF (70.59 µg·kg-1) and PAHs (0.11 µg·kg-1).
Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr, 2023 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-06 · meta-analysis of RCTs
Thirty-one studies were included, totaling 1986 participants. Cocoa consumption showed no effects on body weight, BMI, waist circumference, triglycerides, HDL-c and HbA1c. Yet, there was a reduction in total cholesterol (-8.35 mg/dL, 95% CI -14.01; -2.69 mg/dL), LDL-c (-9.47 mg/dL, 95% CI -13.75; -5.20 mg/dL), fasting blood glucose (-4.91 mg/dL, 95% CI -8.29; -1.52 mg/dL), SBP (-2.52 mmHg, 95% CI -4.17; -0.88 mmHg), and DBP (-1.58 mmHg, 95% CI -2.54; -0.62 mmHg).
Nutrients, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-07 · meta-analysis of RCTs
Seventeen studies involving 615 participants assessed the effect of dark chocolate and six included studies involving 179 participants investigated the effect of flavonoids on FMD. Chronic consumption of dark chocolate and flavan-3-ols both increased FMD (0.69, 95% CI 0.22-1.16, p < 0.001, 1.16, 95% CI 0.52-1.80 p = 0.001, respectively).
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2020 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-08 · meta-analysis of cohorts
The summary of relative risk (RR) per 20 g/week increase in chocolate consumption was 0.982 (95% CI 0.972 to 0.992, I2=50.4%, n=18) for CVD ... A non-linear dose-response (pnon-linearity=0.001) indicated that the most appropriate dose of chocolate consumption for reducing risk of CVD was 45 g/week (RR 0.890;95%CI 0.849 to 0.932).
Heart, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-12 · systematic review
Twenty-three articles were included, which described 12 outbreaks involving a total of 3266 patients. ... Children were mainly affected.
Pediatr Infect Dis J, 2024 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-13 · case report with literature review
Suspected allergic reactions to cocoa are frequently reported by patients, yet most of these cases are caused by sensitization to other more common allergens contained in chocolate products, such as milk, peanuts or tree nuts. True immunoglobulin E (IgE)-mediated cocoa allergy is rare, with only a few confirmed cases published to date.
Front Pediatr, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-15 · systematic review
Maternal chocolate and coffee consumption was associated with increased infant colic, and severe to moderate exacerbation of infant atopic dermatitis. However, whether caffeine was the causal ingredient is questionable.
Swiss Med Wkly, 2018 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-14 · systematic review
Acne-promoting factors include high GI/GL food, dairy products, fat food, and chocolate, whereas acne-protective factors include fatty acids, fruit, and vegetable intake. The role played by specific dietary components pertaining to different foods, as done for milk (full-fat/whole, reduced-fat, low-fat/skim milk), dairy products (milk cream, ice cream, yogurt, cheese, etc.), or chocolate (cocoa, dark/milk chocolate), remains an unsolved issue and objective of future research.
Int J Dermatol, 2021 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-17 · EU claims register
POL-HC-6312 Kinder Chocolate®, chocolate bar Kinder Chocolate, the chocolate that helps to grow -/- Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6312, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-18 · EU claims register
POL-HC-6949 Cocoa flavanols Maintenance and promotion of a normal blood pressure Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6949, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-19 · EU claims register
POL-HC-7641 Name of Food product: chocolate Description of food in terms of food legislation categories: food not covered by specific food legislation Was food on Irish market before 1st July 2007: Yes Exact wording of claim as it appears on product: Cocoa beans naturally contain polyphenols. Cocoa polyphenols are known for their antioxidant properties. Examples of any alternative wording that may be used in relation to claim: Cocoa flavonols show antioxidative effects and help protect the cells against oxidative stress,help protect you from radicals which cause cell damage, help strengthen our body's natural defences againist oxidative stress. Description of picture: A cocoa bean. Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-7641, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-10 · cohort
We observed significantly lower mortality from cardiovascular disease (CVD), heart disease and cancer, representing 13%, 16% and 12% risk reductions for the highest compared to lowest chocolate category, respectively (all Ptrend ≤ 0.002; all P for nonlinearity < 0.0001).
Eur J Epidemiol, 2022 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-16 · RCT
Postprandial glucose (PPG) excursions were significantly lower following consumption of the study spread compared to the control spread: pre-meal to peak glucose difference (mean 25.8 ± 34.9 mg/dL lower, P < 0.001), postprandial CGM iAUC (mean 2271 ± 3789 min×mg/dL, P = 0.003).
Nutr Diabetes, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - ccck-daily-r6-09 · meta-analysis of cohorts
The credibility of evidence was rated either very low (all-cause mortality, HF, T2D, CRC or hypertension) or low (CHD, stroke).
Eur J Nutr, 2020 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.