Chicken and sesame chicken: what the sauce does to the numbers
In a randomized crossover trial, 15 healthy adults ate chicken, beef and fish for one week each, and the urine saturation index for calcium oxalate, a marker of stone-forming conditions, was 1.67 on chicken against 2.48 on beef. That index stands in for stone risk, measured over a week in people without stones. Uric acid in blood and urine rose on every animal protein, and the authors advise people who form kidney stones to limit all animal proteins. Chicken was one of the three they tested. Over the long run, observational data from 24 cohort studies link the highest poultry intake with a trivially lower death rate, a risk ratio of 0.96 (95% CI 0.93 to 0.98), with the certainty of that evidence rated low or very low. Those cohorts did not separate fried chicken from other chicken. No trial or cohort we found has studied sesame chicken as a dish. What changes is on the composition table. The US dietary survey puts sesame chicken with sauce at 293 calories, 14.33 g protein and 482 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g), one recipe value with no range. Raw skinless breast holds 22.5 g protein per 3.5 oz (100 g), a rough comparison between raw meat and a finished dish.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for chicken | sesame chicken itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Sesame chicken as coded in the US dietary survey carries 293 calories, 14.33 g protein, 14.25 g fat and 482 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g). — US dietary survey food coding entry for sesame chicken with sauce, per 3.5 oz (100 g) (n = 1 food code) Evidence E source293 calories, protein 14.33 g, fat 14.25 g, sodium 482 mg per 3.5 oz (100 g)
- Raw skinless chicken breast holds 22.5 g protein per 3.5 oz (100 g) in USDA analyzed samples, ranging from 21.6 to 23.4 g. — USDA Foundation Foods analyzed samples of raw boneless skinless chicken breast (n = sample count not stated in the layer) Evidence E sourceProtein 22.525 g/100 g, range 21.5625-23.375, spread 8%
What a real portion looks like
- A 1-cup serving of sesame chicken weighs 8.9 oz (252 g) and gives about 738 calories and 1215 mg sodium, and half a chicken breast with sauce (134 g) gives about 393 calories and 646 mg sodium. — US household measures, FNDDS (n = 1 food code, 7 measures) Evidence E source1 cup 252 g: 738.4 calories, 1214.6 mg sodium; 1/2 breast with sauce 134 g: 392.6 calories, 645.9 mg sodium
What your body absorbs
- No study measures how well nutrients from sesame chicken, or from chicken compared with it, are absorbed in people, and no trial or cohort compares the two dishes at all. — PubMed corpus snapshot pubmed:469185, searched under chicken, sesame chicken and the pair name (n = 0 records for the pair name) Evidence E sourceNo human absorption data and no direct comparison
What cooking and storage change
- USDA retention factors give fried coated chicken and roasted chicken identical vitamin losses: about 30% of thiamin, 35% of vitamin B12 and 40% of folate are lost, while zinc is fully retained. — USDA retention table, poultry products group, methods fried with coating (804) and roasted (805) (n = 2 cooking methods) Evidence E sourceRetained: thiamin 70%, vitamin B12 65%, folate 60%, niacin 80%, iron 90%, zinc 100% for both methods
- There is no second composition value for sesame chicken and no cooking retention factor for the dish: the UK table has no entry and the USDA retention table covers plain chicken only. — UK CoFID 2021 (2886 foods), USDA Foundation Foods, USDA retention table Release 6 (n = 0 records) Evidence E sourceNo second independent value, no sampling range, no dish-level retention factor
What it does to your health
- In a randomized crossover trial on 15 obese adults, 4 weeks of herring instead of chicken and lean pork at five meals a week shifted blood metabolites of energy and amino acid metabolism. — 15 healthy obese men and women aged 24-70, randomized crossover, 4 weeks per arm, five meals per week (n = 15) Evidence B sourceHerring lowered plasma citrate, fumarate, oxalate and other metabolites versus chicken and pork; no clinical outcomes
- Observational data from 24 cohort studies link the highest poultry intake with a trivially lower all-cause mortality (RR 0.96) and no change in heart disease or stroke risk, with evidence certainty rated low or very low. — 24 prospective cohort studies of adults, highest vs lowest poultry intake (n = 24 cohorts) Evidence C sourceAll-cause mortality RR 0.96 (95% CI 0.93-0.98); CVD, CHD, stroke no association; no association per 100 g/d; replacing red or processed meat with poultry inversely associated with all outcomes
Safety, limits and interactions
- A systematic review of 30 studies found mercury in poultry meat or eggs above regulatory limits in 12 of 17 countries, with the highest levels in chicken eggs. — 30 studies of mercury and methylmercury in poultry meat and eggs from 17 countries (n = 30 studies) Evidence C sourceLevels above USDA, China NHC or Thailand limits (0.05, 0.05, 0.02 mg/kg) in 12 of 17 countries
- Across 39 African studies, antibiotic residues were found in 42.6% of chicken products (95% CI 34.1 to 51.1), and 37.8% of detected residues exceeded maximum residue limits. — 39 studies from African countries, 2000-2025, chicken meat, eggs, liver, kidneys and gizzards (n = 39 studies, 52 datasets) Evidence C sourcePooled prevalence 42.60% (95% CI 34.11-51.08); 37.79% above MRL; meat 48.49%
- Sesame is the part of sesame chicken that plain chicken lacks as an allergen: a systematic review of population studies found challenge-confirmed sesame allergy below 1%. — 36 population-based studies, over 250,000 children and adults (n = over 250,000) Evidence C sourceFood-challenge prevalence below 1% each for wheat, soy and sesame
- A review of seed hypersensitivity estimates sesame allergy at 0.1 to 0.2% of people, with reactions often severe and management limited to avoidance and rescue medication. — English literature 1930-2016 on hypersensitivity to six edible seeds (n = not stated) Evidence C sourceEstimated sesame allergy prevalence 0.1-0.2%
- Under the US FASTER Act sesame is the ninth major food allergen, and since January 1, 2023 packaged foods that contain it must declare sesame on the label. — US consumers of packaged foods and dietary supplements Evidence E sourceSesame declaration mandatory on packaged foods from 2023-01-01
What people believe that the data does not support
- Neither the US nor the EU has authorized any health claim under the names chicken or sesame chicken. — 21 CFR 101 health claims and the EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot 2026-09-21 (n = 0 claims) Evidence E sourceNo authorized or rejected claim under either name
Who this works differently for
- In a randomized crossover trial on 15 healthy adults eating each diet for 1 week, the calcium oxalate stone-forming saturation index was 1.67 on chicken against 2.48 on beef. — 15 healthy subjects, 3-phase randomized crossover metabolic study, 1 week per phase (n = 15) Evidence B sourceCalcium oxalate saturation index 1.67 (chicken) vs 2.48 (beef), p = 0.02; serum uric acid 7.0 mg/dl on chicken vs 6.5 on beef
- The authors of that 15-person crossover trial advise people who form kidney stones to limit the intake of all animal proteins, including fish, since animal protein raised serum and urine uric acid. — 15 healthy subjects, 3-phase randomized crossover metabolic study, 1 week per phase (n = 15) Evidence B sourceSerum and urinary uric acid increased in each animal protein phase
- In a cluster randomized trial with 137 mother-infant pairs per group in Indonesia, crackers made with chicken liver and eggshell did not change maternal hemoglobin (12.0 against 12.3 g/dL) or infant growth. — pregnant women aged 19-35 enrolled at 7-13 weeks gestation in 28 village clusters, followed to 5 months postpartum (n = 274 mother-infant dyads (137 per group)) Evidence B sourceMaternal Hb 12.0 ± 1.1 vs 12.3 ± 1.2 g/dL; anemia 11.9% vs 11.3%; no effect on growth
The bottom line
A cup of sesame chicken weighs 8.9 oz (252 g) in the US survey and gives about 738 calories and 1215 mg sodium, recalculated from the 100 g value. Half a breast with sauce, 134 g, gives about 393 calories and 646 mg sodium. The survey layer holds no sugar figure for this food code, so we cannot tell you how much of the sauce is sugar. The UK table has no entry for the dish, and the whole composition picture rests on that single US recipe value. Cooking method barely moves the vitamins in the USDA retention table. Fried coated chicken and roasted chicken are given identical factors: thiamin keeps 70%, vitamin B12 65% and folate 60%, while zinc keeps all of it. These are group factors from 1975, and they say nothing about the sauce or the sesame. The cohort review behind the death-rate figure found no association between poultry and heart disease or stroke. The other trials with chicken in them are only loosely about eating it. In 15 obese adults over 4 weeks, chicken and lean pork served as the comparison diet for herring, and the trial measured blood metabolites with no clinical outcome. Neither the US nor the EU has authorized any health claim under the name chicken or sesame chicken, and those registers are indexed by substance, so the gap says nothing about an effect. Sesame is the allergen that plain chicken does not carry. A review of population studies found sesame allergy confirmed by food challenge in under 1% of people, and only 6 of its studies used a challenge at all. A review built mostly on case reports estimates sesame allergy at 0.1 to 0.2%. If you are allergic to sesame, the dish is the problem. In the United States sesame has been the ninth major food allergen since January 1, 2023, and packaged foods that contain it must say so on the label. That rule covers packaged food only. A restaurant or takeaway portion carries no such label, and stock made before 2023 may lack it, so ask. For pregnancy the one trial here gave 137 Indonesian women crackers made with chicken liver and eggshell, and their hemoglobin came out at 12.0 against 12.3 g/dL on standard crackers. That was liver in a specially made cracker, with low adherence. We have no card on sesame chicken for children or medicines. Contamination surveys add two numbers that describe residues, with no measured harm to people. A review of 30 studies found mercury above regulatory limits in poultry meat or eggs in 12 of 17 countries, highest in chicken eggs from Colombia, and most samples were eggs and liver rather than meat. Across 39 African studies, antibiotic residues turned up in 42.6% of chicken products (95% CI 34.1 to 51.1), a figure that holds for African markets only.
Each food on its own
- Chicken: the iron it blocks, and the washing you skip — everything on this food
- Sesame chicken: a salt and sugar dish with seeds on top — everything on this food
Sources
- chsc-r3-01 · food composition dataset
Sesame chicken [fdc_id 2706444]: Energy 293 KCAL, Protein 14.33 G, Total lipid (fat) 14.25 G, Sodium, Na 482 MG per 100 g
USDA FNDDS, FDC 2706444 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-02 · reference dataset
Chicken, breast, boneless, skinless, raw: Protein 22.525 G, range 21.5625-23.375 (median 22.46875), spread 8%
USDA FoodData Central Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-04 · reference dataset
Sesame chicken [fdc_id 2706444]: 1 cup 252 g 738.4 KCAL, 1214.6 MG sodium; 1/2 chicken breast with sauce 134 g 392.6 KCAL, 645.9 MG sodium
USDA FNDDS, FDC 2706444 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-14 · literature search
corpus_search "chicken | sesame chicken": 0 records in every layer; axis 2 query: 62 records, all broiler feed digestibility or chicken as an animal model
PubMed corpus snapshot pubmed:469185, searched 2026-09-29 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-03 · USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:804 CHICKEN,FRIED,W/COATING and USDA-RETN-R6:805 CHICKEN,ROASTED, group Poultry Products: folate_total_ug 60% retained, vitamin_b12_ug 65%, thiamin_mg 70%, niacin_mg 80%, iron_mg 90%, zinc_mg 100%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Codes 804 and 805 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-15 · dataset search
cofid_search sesame chicken: nothing; variability_search sesame chicken: nothing found (Foundation is 395 foods); retention_search sesame chicken: no method
UK CoFID 2021, USDA Foundation Foods and USDA Retention Factors R6, searched 2026-09-29 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-07 · randomized crossover trial
A randomised crossover trial with 15 healthy obese men and women (age 24-70 years). Subjects were randomly assigned to four weeks of herring diet or a reference diet of chicken and lean pork, five meals per week
Mol Nutr Food Res, 2017 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-17 · meta-analysis of cohort studies
Twenty-four cohort studies were included, and the results showed a trivial inverse association for the highest vs. lowest intake category between poultry and ACM (risk ratio [RR] = 0.96; 95% CI: 0.93, 0.98; I2 = 5%). ... The certainty of evidence was rated as very low or low.
Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr 2023;63(15):2366-2387 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-09 · systematic review
Levels above those permitted by regulatory organizations such as the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) ... were observed in 12 of the 17 countries, with the highest concentrations detected in chicken eggs from Colombia.
Biol Trace Elem Res, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-10 · meta-analysis of prevalence studies
The estimated pooled antibiotic residue prevalence was 42.60% (95% CI: [34.11; 51.08]). The prevalence was 48.49% in meat
J Food Prot, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-11 · systematic review
Only 6 studies included food challenge tests with prevalences ranging from 0.1% to 4.3% each for fruits and tree nuts, 0.1% to 1.4% for vegetables, and < 1% each for wheat, soy, and sesame.
J Allergy Clin Immunol, 2008 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-12 · review
Allergy to sesame was more reported than to other seeds, with an estimated prevalence of 0.1-0.2%.
Allergy, 2016 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-16 · agency position
As of January 1, 2023, sesame must be labeled as an allergen on packaged foods and dietary supplements.
FDA, FASTER Act: Sesame Is the Ninth Major Food Allergen · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-13 · registry search
claims_search chicken, sesame chicken in 21 CFR 101: nothing; euclaims_search chicken, sesame chicken in the EU register (2330 claims, 262 authorised, 2067 non-authorised, 1 revoked): nothing
21 CFR 101 and EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-05 · randomized crossover trial
Mean saturation index for calcium oxalate was highest for beef (2.48), although the difference attained significance only compared to chicken (1.67, p = 0.02) but not to fish (1.79, p = 0.08).
J Urol, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-06 · randomized crossover trial
Consuming animal protein is associated with increased serum and urine uric acid in healthy individuals. ... Stone formers should be advised to limit the intake of all animal proteins, including fish.
J Urol, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29 - chsc-r3-08 · cluster randomized controlled trial
There were no differences between MEC and SWC groups in maternal Hb (mean ± SD) (12.0 ± 1.1 vs. 12.3 ± 1.2 g/dL) and anemia (11.9 vs 11.3%) at 35-36 weeks GA or morbidity.
BMC Pregnancy Childbirth, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.