Canadian bacon: lean, salty, and still processed meat
In a 12-week randomized trial in 103 healthy adults, a diet heavy in red and processed meat raised blood ferritin and the inflammatory markers IL-6 and TNF-alpha more than a pesco-vegetarian diet did. Those are blood markers, the trial was open-label, and it counted red and processed meat together, so Canadian bacon was never tested on its own. We found no study that names it. The WHO counts meat that has been salted, cured, fermented or smoked as processed meat, the category a cured pork like this falls into. What sets it apart is its composition. USDA records give about 20 g of protein and under 3 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), with 751 mg of sodium raw and 993 mg once pan-fried, higher mainly because water cooks off. One 23 g cooked slice carries roughly 230 mg of sodium and 6.5 g of protein, recalculated from 100 g. Brands differ in cure and salt, and two legacy records cannot show by how much.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| USDA entry | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian bacon, cooked | 146 | 28.3 g | 2.78 g | 1.8 g | 0 g |
| Canadian bacon | 110 | 20.3 g | 2.62 g | 1.34 g | 0 g |
These are the USDA entries that are canadian bacon, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.
As people eat it, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| As eaten | kcal | Protein | Fat | Carbs | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian bacon, cooked | 146 | 28.3 g | 2.78 g | 1.8 g | 0 g |
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS, release 2024-10-31): canadian bacon as it is prepared and served, from the recipes behind the national dietary survey, rather than a single laboratory sample.
How much is actually in it
- Canadian bacon is lean, with about 20 g of protein and under 3 g of fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), but it carries 751 mg of sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g) raw and 993 mg once pan-fried. — USDA SR Legacy records Canadian bacon, unprepared (FDC 167869) and Canadian bacon, cooked, pan-fried (FDC 168383) Evidence E sourcePer 100 g unprepared: protein 20.3 g, fat 2.6 g, sodium 751 mg, selenium 37.1 ug (67% DV), niacin 7.2 mg (45% DV), thiamin 0.51 mg (43% DV); pan-fried: sodium 993 mg, protein 28.3 g
What a real portion looks like
- One slice of cooked Canadian bacon weighs 23 g in US survey measures, which is roughly 230 mg of sodium and 6.5 g of protein per slice. — FNDDS food Canadian bacon, cooked (code 22501010, FDC 2705884), US household measures Evidence E source1 slice 23 g; 1 oz cooked 28 g; 1 cubic inch 18 g; quantity not specified 46 g; per 23 g slice about 228 mg sodium and 6.5 g protein (recalculated from the pan-fried SR Legacy record)
What your body absorbs
- Across 10 intervention studies in 397 adults, eating more red meat for at least 4 weeks raised hemoglobin by 2.36 g/L but did not significantly change ferritin overall. — adults aged 18 to 70 with normal or suboptimal iron status, 10 intervention studies, at least 4 weeks of increased red meat (n = 397) Evidence B sourceHemoglobin +2.36 g/L (95% CI 0.71 to 4.02); serum ferritin +1.87 ug/L (95% CI -0.73 to 4.48, not significant); ferritin effect significant when interventions lasted 8 weeks or more
What cooking and storage change
- Broiling cured pork costs about 30% of its thiamin and 35% of its vitamin B6 by the USDA table, while simply reheating it loses about 5%. — USDA retention factors for the group Pork Products, the group Canadian bacon belongs to by its own USDA record Evidence E sourceCured pork broiled: thiamin 70% retained, vitamin B6 65%, niacin 80%, sodium 90%, vitamin B12 90%, zinc 100%; cured pork reheated: thiamin, B6, B12 and folate 95%, minerals 100%
What it does to your health
- In a 12-week randomized trial in 103 adults, a diet heavy in red and processed meat raised blood ferritin and inflammatory markers more than a pesco-vegetarian diet. — 113 healthy adults aged 18 to 50 randomized, 103 completed, free-living diets for 12 weeks (n = 103) Evidence B sourceLarger increases in ferritin, IL-6 and TNF-alpha after the meat-based diet than after the pesco-vegetarian diet
- Cohort data link each daily serving of processed meat with about 0.57 lb (0.26 kg) more weight gain a year, with low certainty. — 3 cohort studies of adults, 381,291 participants, measured body weight (n = 381291) Evidence C source+0.26 kg/year per daily serving of processed meat (95% CI 0.03 to 0.48); GRADE certainty low
- Observational studies link processed meat with 65% higher risk of colorectal polyps, but not with colorectal adenomas. — 31 observational studies of meat intake and precancerous colorectal lesions Evidence C sourceColorectal polyps RR 1.65 (95% CI 1.05 to 2.61); colorectal adenoma RR 1.14 (95% CI 0.93 to 1.41, not significant)
- Pooled observational data link pork consumption with 17% higher colorectal cancer risk. — 27 studies published 1993 to 2024, over 1 million participants Evidence C sourcePork and colorectal cancer RR 1.17 (95% CI 1.09 to 1.25)
Safety, limits and interactions
- The WHO counts meat that has been salted, cured, fermented or smoked as processed meat, the category a cured pork like Canadian bacon falls into. — WHO questions and answers on the IARC evaluation of red and processed meat Evidence E sourceDefinition only
What people believe that the data does not support
- The nitrate in cured meat does not behave like vegetable nitrate: in 3338 UK adults, more nitrate from processed meat went with higher systolic pressure, not lower. — 3338 adults aged 19 to 64 in the UK National Diet and Nutrition Survey years 1 to 8 (n = 3338) Evidence C sourceNo difference in CVD risk biomarkers across quartiles of processed-meat nitrate, with higher systolic BP in Q4 (1.8 to 3 mg/d) than Q1 (P = 0.010)
What is still unknown
- For pancreatic cancer, a meta-analysis of 19 cohorts with 4.3 million people found no link with processed red meat. — 19 prospective cohort studies, 4,291,065 participants, 13,820 pancreatic cancer cases (n = 4291065) Evidence C sourceProcessed red meat HR 1.02 (95% CI 0.86 to 1.21); total red meat HR 1.12 (95% CI 1.01 to 1.24)
The bottom line
The disease data are about processed meat or pork in general, and all of them are observational. Pooled studies linked processed meat with 65% higher risk of colorectal polyps (RR 1.65, 95% CI 1.05 to 2.61) and found no significant link with colorectal adenomas (RR 1.14, 95% CI 0.93 to 1.41), with processed meat defined differently from study to study. A meta-analysis of 27 studies linked pork with 17% higher colorectal cancer risk (95% CI 1.09 to 1.25). It counted fresh and cured pork together, and case-control studies showed stronger links than cohorts. For pancreatic cancer, 19 cohorts with 4.3 million people found no link with processed red meat (HR 1.02, 95% CI 0.86 to 1.21). Three cohorts of 381,291 adults tied each daily serving of processed meat to 0.57 lb (0.26 kg) more weight gain a year (95% CI 0.03 to 0.48), which the authors rate as low certainty. Red meat does move iron markers. Across 10 intervention studies in 397 adults, eating more of it for at least 4 weeks raised hemoglobin by 2.36 g/L (95% CI 0.71 to 4.02). Ferritin showed no significant change overall and rose only in interventions of 8 weeks or longer. Most of that meat was beef and lamb, so for a lean cured pork the figure is an upper bound. Cured meat nitrate is sometimes spoken of as if it were vegetable nitrate. In 3338 UK adults, nitrate from processed meat showed no difference in cardiovascular risk markers across intake groups, and systolic pressure was higher in the top quarter than in the bottom one. That is a single cross-sectional snapshot, and processed-meat nitrate mostly marks how much processed meat a person eats. Broiling cured pork keeps 70% of its thiamin and 65% of its vitamin B6 by USDA group factors from 1975 that do not name Canadian bacon, while reheating keeps about 95%. We have no card on Canadian bacon for pregnancy, children or medicines. The cautions we can support are the ones above: it is processed meat by the WHO definition, and a single slice carries about 230 mg of sodium.
Canadian bacon compared
More from the same food group (pork products)
- Hormel: the label is clear, the processed meat research is not
- Pork: processed or not, and how hot the pan was
- Pork bacon: a salty slice and a risk signal of low certainty
- Pork tenderloin: lean meat that lifts the iron you absorb from the rest of the meal
- Pork loin: a lean cut studied mostly for its protein
- Pork chop: lean protein that gets denser on the grill
Sources
- cbac-r2-01 · USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy, dataset
Canadian bacon, unprepared (FDC 167869, SR Legacy, Pork Products): protein 20.31 g, fat 2.62 g, sodium 751 mg, selenium 37.1 ug = 67% DV, niacin 7.227 mg = 45% DV, thiamin 0.511 mg = 43% DV per 100 g; Canadian bacon, cooked, pan-fried (FDC 168383): sodium 993 mg, protein 28.31 g per 100 g; Foundation samples 0, CoFID match none
USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 167869 and 168383 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-02 · USDA FNDDS portion weights, dataset
Canadian bacon, cooked (FNDDS 22501010, FDC 2705884): 1 slice 23 g; 1 oz, raw (yield after cooking) 23 g; 1 oz, cooked 28 g; 1 cubic inch, cooked 18 g; Quantity not specified 46 g
USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 22501010 (FDC 2705884) · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-06 · systematic review and meta-analysis of intervention studies
Interventions involving increasing red meat intake had no significant effect on serum ferritin concentrations (raw mean change difference [RMCD] = 1.87 μg L-1; 95% CI, -0.73 to 4.48; t = 1.619; P = .139) but did have a positive effect on Hb concentrations (RMCD = 2.36 g L-1; 95% CI, 0.71 to 4.02; t = 3.297; P = .011).
Nutr Rev, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-03 · USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:1451 PORK,CURED,BROILED, group Pork Products: vitamin_b6_mg 65% retained, thiamin_mg 70%, niacin_mg 80%, sodium_mg 90%, vitamin_b12_ug 90%, zinc_mg 100%; USDA-RETN-R6:1606 PORK,CURED,REHEATED: thiamin_mg 95%, vitamin_b6_mg 95%, vitamin_b12_ug 95%, folate_total_ug 95%, sodium_mg 100%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Codes 1451 and 1606 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-05 · randomized controlled trial in humans
Differences in change between diets were also significant for circulating ferritin and inflammatory markers, which increased more after MBD compared with PVD (ferritin, IL-6, TNF-α), whereas MBD-T reduced TNF-α and PVD decreased IL-8, TNF-α, and ICAM.
Sci Rep, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-07 · systematic review and meta-analysis of cohort studies
Three studies (n = 381 291) were included in the random-effects model of measured body weight, resulting in a summary increase of 0.26 kg/y per 1 daily serving of processed meat (95% confidence interval [CI], 0.03-0.48; τ2: 0.03; I2: 92.95%).
Nutr Rev, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-08 · systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies
Processed meat consumption was correlated with increased colorectal polyp risk (1.65; 1.05, 2.61) but not colorectal adenoma risk (1.14; 0.93, 1.41).
Nutr Rev, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-09 · systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies
Pork consumption was associated with a 17% increased CRC risk (95% CI: 1.09-1.25), with similar, nonsignificant trends for CC and RC.
J Gastrointest Cancer, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-04 · WHO position
Processed meat refers to meat that has been transformed through salting, curing, fermentation, smoking or other processes to enhance flavour or improve preservation.
WHO, Cancer: Carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat (Q&A) · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-11 · cross-sectional study in humans
In contrast, there was no difference in CVD risk biomarkers across quartiles of nitrate intake from processed meats, with higher SBP in Q4 (1.8‒3 mg/d nitrate) than Q1 (0.1‒0.8 mg/d) (P = 0.010).
J Nutr, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29 - cbac-r2-10 · systematic review and meta-analysis of prospective cohorts
Such association was not significant for unprocessed (Pooled HR: 1.05, 95%CIs: 0.88, 1.24; I2: 66.6 %, PQ-test: 0.002) and processed (Pooled HR: 1.02, 95%CIs: 0.86, 1.21; I2: 66.0 %, PQ-test: 0.001) red meat intake.
Clin Nutr ESPEN, 2025 · checked 2026-09-29
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.