BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Braunschweiger: liver sausage and its vitamin A load

The closest trials to braunschweiger tested other meat pates. In 22 adults at high cardiovascular risk, 4 weeks of normal-fat pates and frankfurters raised LDL cholesterol, and 4 weeks of reduced-fat versions lowered it, in a small study run in sequential periods. We found no study of braunschweiger itself on any outcome. What sets this sausage apart is the liver in it. USDA lists pork braunschweiger at 4,220 ug of vitamin A and 20.09 ug of vitamin B12 per 3.5 oz (100 g), 469% and 837% of the Daily Value, from one legacy record with no measured spread. By US survey portions a 0.99 oz (28 g) slice of liverwurst carries about 1,180 ug of vitamin A and a 56 g sandwich portion about 2,360 ug, figures recomputed from that same record. That sandwich portion is close to the 3,000 ug adult upper limit for preformed vitamin A, a limit set partly because of birth defects, so pregnancy leads the cautions below.

Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →

The numbers, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

USDA entrykcalProteinFatCarbsFiber
Braunschweiger, pork32714.5 g28.5 g3.1 g0 g

These are the USDA entries that are braunschweiger, not foods made from it; they differ in cut, part, pack or preparation. Linked names have a page with the full profile and per-portion figures.

How much is actually in it

What a real portion looks like

What your body absorbs

What it does to your health

Safety, limits and interactions

What is still unknown

The bottom line

These trials tested fat content and fortification, and none used a liver sausage. In 18 men at cardiovascular risk from the same research program, the normal-fat period also raised fibrinogen, insulin and HOMA-IR, with randomization not stated. In 36 adults aged 61 to 66 on a low-calorie diet, adding 100 g a day of a canned pate made from pork heart and aorta for about 4 weeks left total cholesterol significantly different from diet alone, mainly through LDL, in a small open-label trial. The quoted abstract does not state the direction. In 17 iron-deficient women, 2.8 oz (80 g) of an iron-fortified meat pate on bread gave similar serum iron curves over 6 hours whichever fortificant was used, and serum iron is a crude proxy for absorption. The reference tables disagree. UK tables give liver sausage 2,600 ug retinol and 10 ug B12 per 3.5 oz (100 g), about half the USDA figures, and neither source explains the gap. The share of liver varies between recipes. The UK row lists 810 mg sodium per 3.5 oz (100 g), and one US slice of liverwurst carries about 274 mg. Who should be careful. Pregnancy comes first. NIH notes that the upper limits for preformed vitamin A apply to food as well as supplements, and that they rest partly on birth defects and on toxic effects in infants and children. A single sandwich portion of liverwurst carries about 2,360 ug of it. The 3,000 ug figure is the adult limit, and we have no card on the lower limits set for children. CDC lists refrigerated pate or meat spreads among the riskier choices for pregnant women, with sealed shelf-stable versions as the safer ones. We have no card on braunschweiger with medicines.

More from the same food group (sausages and luncheon meats)

Sources

  1. brsw-r5-05 · USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy, dataset
    Braunschweiger (a liver sausage), pork (FDC 171621, SR Legacy, Sausages and Luncheon Meats): vitamin B12 20.09 ug = 837% DV; vitamin A 4220 ug RAE = 469% DV; riboflavin 1.525 mg = 117% DV; Foundation samples 0
    USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC 171621 · checked 2026-09-29
  2. brsw-r5-07 · reference dataset
    FNDDS 25230560 Liverwurst (fdc 2706213): Vitamin A, RAE 4220 ug/100 g, 1 slice 28 g 1181.6 ug; Vitamin B-12 20.09 ug/100 g, 1 slice 5.6 ug; Sodium 977 mg/100 g, 1 slice 273.6 mg; Guideline amount on regular sandwich 56 g
    USDA FNDDS 2021-2023, food code 25230560 · checked 2026-09-29
  3. brsw-r5-01 · RCT
    Seventeen women with low iron stores (ferritin <30 microg/L) took part in a three-way, randomized, crossover, double-blind postprandial intervention. Test meals consisted of 80 g of the three different enriched meat pate products, which were spread on two slices of white bread. ... Serum iron concentration evolution during the postprandial study was similar with the three meals, and maximum concentrations were obtained between hours 2 and 4.
    Nutrition, 2009 · checked 2026-09-29
  4. brsw-r5-02 · RCT
    Compared to baseline, LDL-cholesterol decreased significantly (p = 0.012) during the RF period ... LDL-cholesterol (p = 0.040) and oxidized LDL (p = 0.016) increased significantly after NF product consumption
    Eur J Nutr, 2014 · checked 2026-09-29
  5. brsw-r5-03 · RCT
    Adults (61-66 years old) with a body mass index of 26.4-60.7 kg/m2 (n = 36) were randomly divided into two groups: one group consumed a low-calorie diet (LCD), while the other consumed an LCD with the developed meat product (MP) for 28-30 days. ... The difference in total cholesterol was significantly different (p = 0.018) from that of the control group, mainly due to the difference in low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (p = 0.005).
    Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2021 · checked 2026-09-29
  6. brsw-r5-04 · controlled clinical trial
    LDL-cholesterol, fibrinogen, TXB2, insulin, and Homostatic Model Assessment-insulin resistance (HOMA-IR) increased (at least p < 0.05) and QUICKI (Quantitative Insulin Sensitivity Check Index) decreased (p < 0.05) during the NF period.
    J Am Coll Nutr, 2019 · checked 2026-09-29
  7. brsw-r5-08 · agency fact sheet
    The FNB has established ULs for preformed vitamin A that apply to both food and supplement intakes [5]. The FNB based these ULs on the amounts associated with an increased risk of liver abnormalities in men and women, teratogenic effects, and several toxic effects in infants and children.
    NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Vitamin A Fact Sheet for Health Professionals · checked 2026-09-29
  8. brsw-r5-09 · agency guidance
    Refrigerated pâté or meat spreads
    CDC, Safer Food Choices for Pregnant Women, 2026 · checked 2026-09-29
  9. sf-lis-r5-1 · agency advice
    You may be at higher risk if you are in one of the following groups: Women who are pregnant ... People who are 65 years or older ... People who have a weakened immune system ... Refrigerated pâté or meat spreads ... Pâté or meat spreads in sealed, airtight containers that don't need to be kept refrigerated before opening
    US CDC, Preventing Listeria Infection · checked 2026-10-08
  10. sf-vita-r4-6 · agency advice
    Concentrations of preformed vitamin A are highest in liver, fish, eggs, and dairy products [1]. ... The FNB has established ULs for preformed vitamin A that apply to both food and supplement intakes [5]. The FNB based these ULs on the amounts associated with an increased risk of liver abnormalities in men and women, teratogenic effects, and several toxic effects in infants and children. ... Birth to 12 months 600 mcg 600 mcg 1–3 years 600 mcg 600 mcg 4–8 years 900 mcg 900 mcg 9–13 years 1,700 mcg 1,700 mcg 14–18 years 2,800 mcg 2,800 mcg 2,800 mcg 2,800 mcg 19+ years 3,000 mcg 3,000 mcg 3,000 mcg 3,000 mcg ... Total intakes of preformed vitamin A that exceed the UL as well as some retinoid medications used as topical therapies (such as isotretinoin, used to treat severe acne, and etretinate, a treatment for severe psoriasis) can cause congenital birth defects [1]. These birth defects can include malformations of the eye, skull, lungs, and heart [14]. Experts advise women who are or might be pregnant and those who are lactating not to take high doses (more than 3,000 mcg RAE [10,000 IU] daily) of vitamin A supplements [1].
    NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Vitamin A and Carotenoids Fact Sheet for Health Professionals · checked 2026-10-08
  11. brsw-r5-06 · CoFID 2021 and USDA SR Legacy, dataset
    CoFID 19-106 Liver sausage: Retinol 2600 ug, Vitamin B12 10.0 ug, Iron 6.00 mg, Sodium 810 mg, Fat 16.7 g, Satd FA 5.30 g, Protein 13.4 g, Energy 226 kcal per 100 g
    CoFID 2021 (Public Health England, OGL v3.0), code 19-106; USDA SR Legacy FDC 171621 · checked 2026-09-29

Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-29 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.