Avocado and coconut: one raises LDL, the other was never measured against it
The two fruits share a shelf in the healthy fats aisle and behave nothing alike. Across 16 clinical trials lasting at least two weeks, coconut oil raised LDL cholesterol by 10.47 mg/dL (95% CI 3.01 to 17.94) compared with nontropical vegetable oils, with heterogeneity high at I2 = 84 percent and no avocado arm in the pool. HDL cholesterol rose by 4.00 mg/dL in the same analysis. The weight argument for coconut belongs to medium-chain triglycerides as a class. Diets enriched with them cut body weight by 1.53 percent more than long-chain fat diets (WMD -1.53%, 95% CI -2.44 to -0.63) in adults with overweight or obesity. Coconut oil carries only about 13 percent C8 and C10 between them, and most of what remains is lauric acid, which several of those trials do not count as an MCT at all. We found no study that puts avocado and coconut side by side, so anything you read ranking one above the other is reasoning from separate literatures.
Every statement here is tied to a source. The badge says what kind of evidence stands behind it: A is a meta-analysis or systematic review, E is the position of an expert body without its own analysis. How we verify →
We have no USDA entry for avocado | coconut itself in this cohort. The evidence below stands on published studies rather than on a composition table, and we would rather say that than show you a number for something else.
How much is actually in it
- Raw Hass avocado varies far more between samples than a single composition number suggests, with ash spanning 1.05 to 4.46 g per 3.5 oz (100 g) across 8 USDA samples. — Avocado, Hass, peeled, raw, individual sample analyses in USDA Foundation Foods (n = 8 samples) Evidence E sourceAsh 2.554 g, range 1.05 to 4.46, spread 134%; copper 0.2849 mg, range 0.232 to 0.385, spread 54%; iron 0.6133 mg, range 0.497 to 0.725, spread 37%; calcium 14.46 mg, range 12.6 to 17.8, spread 36%; folate 128.7 ug, range 102.5 to 146.9, spread 34%; magnesium 32.8 mg, range 29.2 to 37.2, spread 24%
- By the UK composition tables coconut oil is 99.9 g fat and 86.5 g saturated fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), against 17.4 g fat and 4.15 g saturated in Hass avocado flesh. — CoFID 2021 records 17-031 Oil, coconut and 14-386 Avocado, Hass, flesh only, per 3.5 oz (100 g) (n = 2 reference records) Evidence E sourceCoconut oil 899 calories, fat 99.9 g, saturated 86.5 g, monounsaturated 6.00 g, protein trace, water none stated; Hass avocado 171 calories, fat 17.4 g, saturated 4.15 g, monounsaturated 9.98 g, protein 1.8 g, water 71.5 g, AOAC fiber 3.1 g
What a real portion looks like
- One avocado fruit is 150 g in the US survey database while one tablespoon of coconut oil is 14 g, so the everyday portions differ about tenfold in weight. — USDA FNDDS household measures for Avocado, raw (food code 63105010) and Coconut oil (food code 82101500) (n = 5 measures for avocado, 3 for coconut oil) Evidence E sourceAvocado 1 slice 15 g, 1 fruit 150 g, 1 cup 150 g, 1 cup mashed 230 g, quantity not specified 30 g; coconut oil 1 tablespoon 14 g, 1 cup 224 g, quantity not specified 14 g
What your body absorbs
- Coating 6 g of medium-chain triglycerides in milk protein did not change the total ketone body AUC in healthy men, 1038 against 937 micromol per liter hour with P = 0.47. — Healthy adult men, 11 analyzed after one withdrawal, two-period crossover with a 6-day washout, single 6 g intake, blood sampled to 6 hours (n = 11) Evidence B sourceDelta AUC of total ketone bodies 1038 +/- 468 versus 937 +/- 385 micromol per liter hour, P = 0.47, no significant difference
What cooking and storage change
- Roasting costs the Nut and Seed group 20 percent of its folate, vitamin C and phosphorus and 15 percent of thiamin, while calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc and copper survive in full. — USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors Release 6, group Nut and Seed Products, method NUTS,ROASTED, retention code 2203, the group coconut belongs to by its own USDA record (n = 16 nutrients in the method row) Evidence E sourcePhosphorus 80% retained, vitamin C 80%, folate 80%, thiamin 85%, sodium riboflavin niacin vitamin B6 95%, calcium iron magnesium potassium zinc copper choline vitamin B12 100%
What it does to your health
- Coconut oil raised LDL-cholesterol by 10.47 mg/dL against nontropical vegetable oils across 16 clinical trials. — Adults in trials of at least 2 weeks comparing coconut oil with other cooking fats (n = 16 trials) Evidence A sourceLDL-C +10.47 mg/dL (95% CI 3.01 to 17.94, I2 = 84%), HDL-C +4.00 mg/dL (95% CI 2.26 to 5.73, I2 = 72%)
- Diets enriched with medium-chain triglycerides, the fat class that dominates coconut oil, reduced body weight by 1.53 percent more than long-chain fat diets in people with overweight or obesity. — Adults with overweight or obesity in trials of MCT-enriched versus LCT-enriched diets Evidence A sourceWeight WMD -1.53% (95% CI -2.44 to -0.63), pure MCTs WMD -1.62% (95% CI -2.78 to -0.46), MLCT subgroup not significant
Safety, limits and interactions
- Observational data link any avocado intake in pregnancy with 43.6 percent lower odds of reported infant food allergy at 12 months. — 2272 pregnant participants of the Kuopio Birth Cohort with food frequency data in trimesters 1 and 3 and a 12-month offspring questionnaire (n = 2272) Evidence C source43.6% lower odds of reported food allergy, adjusted; no significant association for rhinitis, wheezing or atopic eczema
- The FDA-approved warfarin sodium label states that the amount of vitamin K in food may affect therapy and asks patients to keep that amount consistent. — Patients taking warfarin sodium, manufacturer label section on drug interactions, effective 2026-06-25 Evidence E sourceCompetitive antagonism of vitamin K named as a pharmacodynamic interaction mechanism, consistent dietary vitamin K advised
What people believe that the data does not support
- In an online survey of 3160 people in southern Brazil, 82.5 percent of coconut oil consumers considered it healthy while 81.2 percent of them reported no health improvement. — 3160 valid online survey responses in southern Brazil, 59.1 percent of them coconut oil consumers (n = 3160) Evidence C source82.5% believed it healthy, 65.4% used it monthly or more, 81.2% saw no improvement, 73.5% kept their opinion after reading meta-analysis conclusions
- The EU register holds no authorized health claim for avocado, and the joint flexibility claim for avocado-soy extract is listed as non-authorized. — EU Register on nutrition and health claims, snapshot 2026-09-21, 2330 claims of which 262 authorized (n = 1 claim found for avocado, 0 authorized) Evidence E sourceClaim POL-HC-6664 Non-authorized; no register entry at all for coconut oil or for medium-chain triglyceride
Who this works differently for
- Healthy adults aged 65 to 80 took 18 g of medium-chain triglycerides a day as three 6 g jelly sticks before meals for 3 consecutive months. — Healthy adults aged 65 to 80 without dementia, 63 of 68 completed a 3-month randomized placebo-controlled trial (n = 63) Evidence B source6 g per stick of 75% C8:0 and 25% C10:0 against 6 g canola LCT, three sticks a day, 3 months
What is still unknown
- In infants at risk of parenteral nutrition liver disease, enteral lipids against comparators that included medium-chain triglyceride oil gave a mortality risk ratio of 1.19 on very low certainty evidence. — Infants at risk of parenteral nutrition-associated liver disease, 11 randomized trials, 2200 participants pooled for mortality (n = 2200) Evidence A sourceMortality RR 1.19 (95% CI 0.90 to 1.57, I2 = 0%), very low-certainty evidence; no trial examined infants with established disease
The bottom line
On a plate these are not one kind of food. The UK composition tables give coconut oil 99.9 g of fat and 86.5 g of saturated fat per 3.5 oz (100 g), against 17.4 g of fat and 4.15 g of saturated fat in Hass avocado flesh, which is also 71.5 g water and 3.1 g fiber. Portions widen the gap. The US survey database weighs one avocado at 150 g and one tablespoon of coconut oil at 14 g, so the everyday portions differ about tenfold in weight and any per 3.5 oz (100 g) table flatters the oil. Avocado is not a single number either. Across 8 USDA sample analyses of peeled raw Hass, ash ran from 1.05 to 4.46 g per 3.5 oz (100 g) and folate from 102.5 to 146.9 ug, and Foundation Foods records no such spread for coconut, so the two halves of this pair cannot be compared for variability. Belief outruns all of it. Among 3160 online respondents in southern Brazil, a self-selected regional sample, 82.5 percent of coconut oil users called it healthy while 81.2 percent of those same users reported no health improvement, and 73.5 percent held their opinion after reading meta-analysis conclusions. The EU claims register, in a snapshot of 2330 claims taken on 2026-09-21, lists one avocado entry, an avocado-soy extract claim about joint flexibility, as Non-authorized, and holds nothing at all for coconut oil. Non-authorized means the evidence fell short when it was assessed. Purified MCT is a third product, not the oil and not the fruit. The dose tested in 63 healthy adults aged 65 to 80 was 18 g a day, three jelly sticks of 75 percent C8 and 25 percent C10 before meals for three months, which is what a trial used rather than advice. A single 6 g dose coated in milk protein left the total ketone body AUC unchanged in 11 healthy men, 1038 against 937 micromol per liter hour with P = 0.47, a kinetics result and nothing more. In infants at risk of parenteral nutrition liver disease, the pooled Cochrane estimate of 2200 participants put MCT oil in the comparison arm rather than the intervention, and at very low certainty it limits claims about MCT instead of supporting them. Roasting is handled by group, not by name: the USDA factor for Nut and Seed Products, where coconut sits by its own record, keeps 80 percent of folate, vitamin C and phosphorus and 85 percent of thiamin, with calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc and copper intact, while avocado is absent from that table entirely. On caution the set is thin. The FDA-approved warfarin label asks patients to keep the amount of vitamin K in food consistent and names neither fruit, so this is a general reason to talk to whoever manages your anticoagulation rather than a known avocado interaction. Pregnancy shows up elsewhere in the evidence and points the friendly way. In 2272 participants of the Kuopio Birth Cohort, any avocado intake during pregnancy was linked to 43.6 percent lower odds of parent-reported infant food allergy at 12 months after adjustment, with no dose recorded, allergy reported by questionnaire, and no way to separate avocado from the diet around it.
Each food on its own
- Avocado: what it does to the rest of your plate — everything on this food
- Coconut: almost every trial poured the oil — everything on this food
Questions answered from the trials
Sources
- avcoc-daily-r1-09 · reference dataset
Avocado, Hass, peeled, raw | Ash 2.554 G range 1.05-4.46 median 2.07 n=8 spread 134% | Copper, Cu 0.2849 MG range 0.232-0.385 n=8 spread 54% | Iron, Fe 0.6133 MG range 0.497-0.725 n=8 spread 37% | Calcium, Ca 14.46 MG range 12.6-17.8 n=8 spread 36% | Folate, total 128.7 UG range 102.5-146.9 n=8 spread 34% | Magnesium, Mg 32.8 MG range 29.2-37.2 n=8 spread 24%
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-10 · reference dataset
CoFID 17-031 Oil, coconut: Energy 899 kcal, Fat 99.9 g, Satd FA /100g fd 86.50 g, Mono FA /100g food 6.00 g, Poly FA /100g food 1.50 g, Protein Tr, Carbohydrate 0.0 g | CoFID 14-386 Avocado, Hass, flesh only: Energy 171 kcal, Fat 17.4 g, Satd FA /100g fd 4.15 g, Mono FA /100g food 9.98 g, Poly FA /100g food 2.3 g, Protein 1.8 g, AOAC fibre 3.1 g, Water 71.5 g
CoFID 2021, Public Health England, records 17-031 and 14-386 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-11 · reference dataset
Avocado, raw, FNDDS 63105010: 1 slice 15 g | 1 fruit 150 g | 1 cup 150 g | 1 cup, mashed or pureed 230 g | Quantity not specified 30 g || Coconut oil, FNDDS 82101500: 1 cup 224 g | 1 tablespoon 14 g | Quantity not specified 14 g
USDA FNDDS, Avocado raw code 63105010 and Coconut oil code 82101500 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-05 · randomized crossover trial
The ΔAUC of TKB was 1038 ± 468 μmol/L·h for coated MCT and 937 ± 385 μmol/L·h for untreated MCT, showing no significant difference (P = 0.47
PLoS One, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-12 · nutrient retention factor dataset
USDA-RETN-R6:2203 | Nut and Seed Products | NUTS,ROASTED | phosphorus_mg 80% retained | vitamin_c_mg 80% | folate_total_ug 80% | thiamin_mg 85% | sodium_mg 95% | riboflavin_mg 95% | niacin_mg 95% | vitamin_b6_mg 95% | calcium_mg 100% | iron_mg 100% | magnesium_mg 100% | potassium_mg 100% | zinc_mg 100% | copper_mg 100% | choline_mg 100% | vitamin_b12_ug 100%
USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, Release 6, 2007, Retn_Code 2203 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-01 · meta-analysis of clinical trials
Coconut oil consumption significantly increased LDL-cholesterol by 10.47 mg/dL (95% CI: 3.01, 17.94; I2 = 84%, N=16) and HDL-cholesterol by 4.00 mg/dL (95% CI: 2.26, 5.73; I2 = 72%, N=16) as compared with nontropical vegetable oils.
Circulation, 2020 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-02 · meta-analysis
Our findings revealed diets enriched with MCTs are more effective in achieving weight reduction (WMD: -1.53%; 95% CI: -2.44, -0.63; p < 0.01), particularly those containing pure MCTs (WMD: -1.62%; 95% CI: -2.78, -0.46; p < 0.01), compared to long-chain fatty acids (LCTs) enriched diets.
Clin Nutr, 2024 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-07 · prospective cohort study
Compared to avocado non-consumers (during pregnancy), avocado consumers (during pregnancy) had 43.6% lower odds of reporting food allergy among their children at the 12-month follow-up questionnaire while adjusted for relevant covariates.
Pediatr Res, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-13 · FDA drug label section
The amount of vitamin K in food may affect therapy with warfarin sodium. Advise patients taking warfarin sodium to eat a normal, balanced diet maintaining a consistent amount of vitamin K.
Warfarin Sodium, FDA-approved label, drug interactions section, effective 2026-06-25 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-03 · cross-sectional survey with an education intervention
Among participants who consumed coconut oil (59.1%), 82.5% considered it healthy and 65.4% used it at least once a month. 81.2% coconut oil consumers did not observe any health improvements.
Nutr Metab Cardiovasc Dis, 2022 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-04 · EU claims register entry
POL-HC-6664 Avocado-soy extract Natural flexibility for the joints. Accelerates the formation of new cartilage by increasing the formation of cartilage growth factors. Facilitates exercise. Activates the building of joint cartilage. Natural flexibility remains. Accelerates the formation of collagen in joint membrane cells (synoviocytes). Non-authorised
EU Register on nutrition and health claims, claim POL-HC-6664, snapshot 2026-09-21 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-06 · randomized controlled trial
A yogurt-flavored jelly stick was used (total weight, 15 g) containing 6 g of MCTs (75% C8:0 and 25% C10:0 from total fatty acids) or 6 g of LCT (64% C18:1, 19% C18:2, and 9% C18:3 from total fatty acids) ... Participants were instructed to consume 3 sticks per day, one just prior to every meal, for a total of 3 consecutive months.
Nutrients, 2025 · checked 2026-09-25 - avcoc-daily-r1-08 · Cochrane review
Enteral lipids may have little to no effect on mortality up to discharge and the first year of life, but the evidence is very uncertain (RR 1.19, 95% CI 0.90 to 1.57; I² = 0%; 11 studies, 2200 participants; very low-certainty evidence).
Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25
Review. Reviewed on 2026-09-25 for evidence level, dose and population context, and claims a reader could misread. Bioma Learn has no human medical reviewer at this time, and we say so rather than invent one. Methodology. This is information, not medical advice.