BiomaLearnFoodsNutrition factsNutrientsGuidesAnswersEvidence

Corn tortilla vs flour tortilla: nutrition compared

Full comparison · Protein · Calories · Carbs · Healthier

Per 3.5 oz (100 g), corn tortilla has 218 calories and 5.7 g of protein; flour tortilla has 297 calories and 8 g. Fiber: 6.3 g vs 2.4 g.

Where each one is ahead

Side by side, per 3.5 oz (100 g)

Corn tortillaFlour tortilla
Calories218 calories297 calories
Protein5.7 g (11% DV)8 g (16% DV)
Fat2.9 g (4% DV)7.6 g (10% DV)
Saturated fat0.45 g (2% DV)1.2 g (6% DV)
Carbohydrate44.6 g (16% DV)49.3 g (18% DV)
Fiber6.3 g (22% DV)2.4 g (9% DV)
Total sugars0.88 g2.7 g
Sodium45 mg (2% DV)742 mg (32% DV)
Potassium186 mg (4% DV)133 mg (3% DV)
Calcium81 mg (6% DV)163 mg (13% DV)
Iron1.2 mg (7% DV)3.3 mg (18% DV)
Magnesium72 mg (17% DV)21 mg (5% DV)
Vitamin A0 mcg0 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg
Vitamin D0 mcg0 mcg
Vitamin K0 mcg4.2 mcg (4% DV)
Folate5 mcg (1% DV)188 mcg (47% DV)
Vitamin B120 mcg0 mcg
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg

— not reported by USDA for this food.

Per typical serving

Servings differ: 1 oz (28 g) of corn tortilla and 1 tortilla (1.7 oz, 49 g) of flour tortilla, the serving sizes we use for each (USDA household measures; 4 oz for meat and fish).

Corn tortillaFlour tortilla
Calories62 calories146 calories
Protein1.6 g (3% DV)3.9 g (8% DV)
Fat0.81 g (1% DV)3.7 g (5% DV)
Saturated fat0.13 g (1% DV)0.6 g (3% DV)
Carbohydrate12.7 g (5% DV)24.1 g (9% DV)
Fiber1.8 g (6% DV)1.2 g (4% DV)
Total sugars0.25 g1.3 g
Sodium13 mg (1% DV)364 mg (16% DV)
Potassium53 mg (1% DV)65 mg (1% DV)

— not reported by USDA for this food.

What the numbers don't tell you

Per tortilla, the gap is wider than the per-weight table suggests. A medium corn tortilla weighs 1 oz (28 g) in US survey data and has about 61 calories and 12.5 g of carbohydrate. The flour tortilla here, at 1.7 oz (49 g), has about 146 calories, 24 g of carbohydrate and 364 mg of sodium, against about 13 mg in the corn one.

The table leaves out folic acid. US enriched flour and grain products must carry 140 mcg of added folic acid per 3.5 oz (100 g) to reduce the risk of neural tube defects. Whether a flour tortilla used enriched flour is on its label. A 2019 US survey of 43 corn masa and tortilla products found folic acid in 3 masa flours and in no corn tortilla. Its authors advise Hispanic women of reproductive age to take a daily supplement with at least 400 mcg of folic acid.

If you count carbs, two medium corn tortillas, about 25 g of carbohydrate and 122 calories, come close to one flour tortilla, with far less sodium. We have no source on blood sugar response, wheat allergy or celiac disease for either, so this page cannot rank them on those. If corn tortillas are your staple and pregnancy is possible, the supplement advice is the part that applies.

Evidence behind this note

  1. Level E A medium corn tortilla weighs 0.99 oz (28 g) in USDA survey data, about 61 calories, a small one 18 g and a large one 44 g. USDA FNDDS (FoodData Central survey 2024-10-31), Tortilla, corn, food code 52215100, fdc_id 2707823
  2. Level E According to the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, US enriched flours and grain products must contain 140 mcg of added folic acid per 3.5 oz (100 g). NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Folate fact sheet for health professionals
  3. Level C A 2019 US survey of 43 corn masa and tortilla products found no fortified corn tortillas, so the authors advise Hispanic women of reproductive age to take a daily supplement with at least 400 mcg of folic acid. Birth Defects Res, 2019
  4. Level C A 2019 national survey of 43 unique corn masa and tortilla products found folic acid in three masa flours and in none of the corn tortillas. Birth Defects Res, 2019

Written from the studies and agency guidance we hold for both foods, reviewed by the Bioma editorial system. How we verify.

Keep exploring

Read more about these foods

Rankings and guides

Where the numbers come from

Each food is one USDA entry, chosen as it is usually eaten. Other cuts, brands and preparations differ; the links show them. % DV uses FDA Daily Values for adults. How we verify.