Almonds vs cashew nuts: nutrition compared
Full comparison · Protein · Calories · Carbs · Healthier
Per 3.5 oz (100 g), almonds has 584 calories and 21.4 g of protein; cashew nuts has 533 calories and 17.4 g. Fiber: 10.8 g vs 4.1 g.
Where each one is ahead
- Almonds has clearly more fiber (38% DV vs 15%), calcium (20% DV vs 3%).
- Cashew nuts has clearly more iron (33% DV vs 21%).
Side by side, per 3.5 oz (100 g)
| Almonds | Cashew nuts | |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 584 calories | 533 calories |
| Protein | 21.4 g (43% DV) | 17.4 g (35% DV) |
| Fat | 51.1 g (66% DV) | 38.9 g (50% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 3.8 g (19% DV) | — |
| Carbohydrate | 20 g (7% DV) | 36.3 g (13% DV) |
| Fiber | 10.8 g (38% DV) | 4.1 g (15% DV) |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 4.8 mg (0% DV) |
| Potassium | 733 mg (16% DV) | 638 mg (14% DV) |
| Calcium | 254 mg (20% DV) | 42 mg (3% DV) |
| Iron | 3.7 mg (21% DV) | 6 mg (33% DV) |
| Magnesium | 258 mg (61% DV) | 251 mg (60% DV) |
| Vitamin K | 0 mcg | — |
— not reported by USDA for this food.
Per typical serving
Servings differ: 1 oz (28 g) of almonds and 1 oz (28 g) of cashew nuts, the serving sizes we use for each (USDA household measures; 4 oz for meat and fish).
| Almonds | Cashew nuts | |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 165 calories | 151 calories |
| Protein | 6.1 g (12% DV) | 4.9 g (10% DV) |
| Fat | 14.5 g (19% DV) | 11 g (14% DV) |
| Saturated fat | 1.1 g (5% DV) | — |
| Carbohydrate | 5.7 g (2% DV) | 10.3 g (4% DV) |
| Fiber | 3.1 g (11% DV) | 1.2 g (4% DV) |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 1.3 mg (0% DV) |
| Potassium | 208 mg (4% DV) | 181 mg (4% DV) |
— not reported by USDA for this food.
What the numbers don't tell you
Raw, cashews have a few fewer calories, 533 against 584 per 3.5 oz (100 g), and almonds more fiber and protein. The bigger gap is in the evidence. Across 36 publications with 2,485 adults, almonds lowered LDL cholesterol by about 5 mg/dL (0.13 mmol/L), a small drop. For cashews, three pooled trials showed no clear change, and 42 g a day for four weeks moved no main heart risk factor. With so few trials, the cashew answer is unclear more than negative.
Labels overstate both. A 1 oz (28 g) serving of cashews delivered 137 calories in a feeding study, 16 percent below the label, and whole raw almonds release less energy than roasted almonds or almond flour.
In the few studies that confirmed it by food challenge, tree nut allergy affected under 2 percent of people. Most lab studies find the allergy-linked proteins of cashew and almond stable through heat processing, so roasting should not be counted on to remove them. Among children allergic to cashew, an estimated 5 percent react to 7.4 mg of its protein. In one man who already had chronic kidney disease, 3 to 4 oz (85 to 113 g) of cashews a day for a year preceded oxalate kidney damage.
If cholesterol is your reason, almonds have the trials. Otherwise eat the one you enjoy.
Evidence behind this note
- Level A A 2025 meta-analysis of randomized trials with 2,485 adults found almonds lowered LDL cholesterol by 0.13 mmol/L (about 5 mg/dL) versus nut-free control. Nutrients, 2025
- Level A Pooled across three randomized trials of cashew supplementation, LDL cholesterol moved by a standardized mean difference of -0.18 (95% CI -0.75 to 0.39), which includes no effect. Complement Med Res, 2020
- Level B Feeding 1.5 oz (42 g) of cashews a day for 4 weeks under full dietary control changed none of the primary cardiovascular risk factors in 42 weight-stable adults. Am J Clin Nutr, 2019
- Level B A 0.99 oz (28 g) serving of cashews delivers 137 calories on average, which is 16% less than the figure printed on food labels. Nutrients, 2018
- Level C Whole raw almonds give up the fewest calories, and grinding or roasting them hands over more. Adv Nutr, 2023
- Level C A systematic review found challenge-confirmed tree nut allergy affects under 2% of people. Curr Allergy Asthma Rep, 2015
- Level D Roasting does not disarm the cashew allergen: the seed storage proteins that cause cashew reactions stay heat stable across thermal processing methods. Allergy, 2013
- Level C Among children allergic to cashew, 5% react with objective symptoms to as little as 7.4 mg of cashew protein. J Allergy Clin Immunol, 2013
- Level D A year of eating 3 to 4 ounces of cashews daily preceded oxalate nephropathy, confirmed on kidney biopsy, in a 78-year-old man whose creatinine rose from 2.05 to 6.0 mg/dL. Kidney Med, 2026
Written from the studies and agency guidance we hold for both foods, reviewed by the Bioma editorial system. How we verify.
Keep exploring
Read more about these foods
- Almonds: a real effect, about three percent of your cholesterol
- Cashew nuts: the heart claim that was refused, and a calorie count that is too high
What the studies say
- Do almonds lower cholesterol? Yes, by about 5 mg/dL of LDL, a small shift
- Do almonds help with weight loss? About half a kilo, and only against nut-free diets
Rankings and guides
Where the numbers come from
- Almonds: USDA FoodData Central, Nuts, almonds, whole, raw, FDC ID 2346393 · full profile · all forms of almonds
- Cashew nuts: USDA FoodData Central, Nuts, cashew nuts, raw, FDC ID 2515374 · all forms of cashew nuts
Each food is one USDA entry, chosen as it is usually eaten. Other cuts, brands and preparations differ; the links show them. % DV uses FDA Daily Values for adults. How we verify.